We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kastro Suites Santorini
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I visited the Kastro apartments at the end of May just before the tourist season really gets going. We booked directly through their website and I have to say that we got a fantastic deal. The room was spacious, clean and quiet and the view was out of this world! We we stayed in the Ioni (room 102) suite at the lowest of the three levels of the property and we had the little pool all to ourselves during our stay.

Anna and Natassa brought us our breakfast every morning and served us on our own private patio overlooking the caldera. The breakfast was tasty and filling and they were quite willing to bring more eggs and less toast when we asked. The yogurt was great too!

The location of the hotel is very central in Fira and so it only takes a few minutes to get anywhere, including to the Fira bus station which the central hub for the whole island bus system (we never felt the need to rent a car). The hotel overlooks the donkey trail/ footpath down to the old harbor, so you do hear donkey bells from time to time, but we thought that this was quaint, rather than any kind of annoyance - we even bought a donkey bell to take home.

The only negative was the sound of a disco/bar which carried on for a couple of hours after we went to bed on two nights of our stay. It seems like sound travels really well around the caldera and so it was hard to tell where the sound was coming from. It was certainly not coming from anywhere right next to our hotel, so I am sure that we were not the only property impacted.

All in all my wife and I loved this place and would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

i got this hotel very last minute but i was so lucky we got the perfect room with the perfect view at volcano and galdera!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KONSTANTINOS_CRETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed there a week and had an amazing time.
First, the people at the hotel, the owner (Voula) is a truly nice person and always ready to do anything to please you and make you feel at ease.

Second, she upgraded us to one room, (can't remember the name) on top of the hotel. The view was GORGEOUS and the room was like a little home. We felt like at home. We were welcomed with a complimentary plate of fresh fruit and water. The view is perfect overlooking the whole island and the ocean with cruise ships coming in.
The decoration of the room and the hotel was beautiful, warm and tasteful.
The breakfast was nice and tasty!
The whole atmosphere was super nice and relaxing. Nothing was difficult, everything was easy. No show offs. Just cool.
We loved the staff.Thank you for such a beautiful time!!
It's like being in Santorini and in Mykonos. It's stunning. We will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_b71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We arrived on a day when there was herds of tourists waiting to take the cable car that happens to be next doors to the hotel .. a distance that usually takes 5 minutes to walk took us over 30 minutes with heavy luggage dragged behind us ...

We finally made it to the hotel whose reception is located few flights of stairs below the main street level. I wasn't impressed to know that there was no one to help us with the luggage at the time ...

Our room was still a couple of flights of stairs below the reception. The room was very pleasant .. decorated in neutral Santorini furniture ... lots of space ... and the room came with a kitchen and a private terrace facing the Caldera ... which was beautiful ... There's another catch, however, in addition to the stairs of course, it's the donkeys!! Although they're adorable ( I think) .. they made a lot of noise going up and down the hill few times, in the morning .. some people may find that annoying!

Breakfast was good ... although we got the same thing everyday .. but it was good and it was served to us at the comfort of our room ... the fresh orange juice was great!

All on all it was a very good experience .. I have to mention that the daughter of the owner of the hotel who lives upstairs (sadly I forgot her name), was very sweet and very helpful. She managed to get us taxi's at a good rate when needed and even one morning she managed to make us breakfast when breakfast time was over.

I would definitely stay there again but next time I will travel lighter :))

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeauMecEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We went here with our family in June...a beautiful place...great condition and wonderful views...delicious breakfast and terrific service...a close walk to downtown Fira...thank you for a wonderful place to make memories!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SuePalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We spent a week in Santorini. Kastro Apartments was an excellent choice - awesome view to caldera, friendly and very helpful staff, clean room, located right in the middle of everything in Fira. I would not hesitate to recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teodoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed there in September 2005 and I believe the place opened the same year. We intended to stay for one night only but ended up staying for two nights. Everything was perfect, from the location, layout, decor, amenities to the personal and professional service of the manager and staff. We were welcomed with a complimentary plate of fresh fruit and water. The view is perfect overlooking the whole island and the ocean with cruise ships coming in. If we ever go back to Santorini, we would definitely stay at Kastro again!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTLNY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Adamis Majesty Suites
0.4 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Nomikos Villas
Nomikos Villas
#39 of 80 in Fira
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#36 of 80 in Fira
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#11 of 80 in Fira
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Suites Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Suites Santorini

Property: Kastro Suites Santorini
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Suites Santorini 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kastro Suites Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Suites Santorini Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing