We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked and Disappointed”
Review of Nikolas - CLOSED

Nikolas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: After 25 years, we have sadly closed our taverna. Thank you for your years of patronage. Any future restaurants on the premises are in no way affiliated with the tradition, management or ownership of the Nikolas Taverna. Thank you.
2 reviews
“Shocked and Disappointed”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We we were recommended to this hotel, but end up upset without eating there. When I reach the door, the reception staff saw me with a ice cream on hand and said to me to finish outside before coming in!? Ok, if it is your operation code of the restaurant, I respect. Then my parents with my baby arrived at the door, the staff ask me again, pointing my daughter: is this yours? I said Yes. And he say, ok now, we are closed, please come back in one and half hour at 6:30pm! I was like ???!!! ...... There was 3 or 4 tables with customers in side, I was asking: how about the people inside there if you are closed... He said, they( the customers) will stay here. I didin't say anything and left.

I am so shocked and upset, this is the First Time In My Life to be treated like THIS in a restaurant!! Is this a anti-kids restaurant, or anti-ice cream restaurant??

So many good comment and recommendation online and offline, are you getting arrogant?

Anyhow, may I am bad luck and the staff has a bad mood, but I am not happy with this one at all!!

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    296
    99
    52
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food highly recommended”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a traditional no frills place. However, the food is tasty,authentic and really well priced.
Service is quick (sometimes a little too quick between starters and mains) but its a small place with no outside seating and always a queue we didnt want to eat anywhere else in Fira this is the best, staff helpful and even tell you if they think you are ordering too much. Local wine reasonable. No coffee served but you can linger at one of the many coffee places with a Caldera view. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeniferLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quaint Traditional Greek Taverna”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I like to try small family run restaurants when away and this seemed to fit the bill. It's not posh so don't / we didn't expect too much. We were greeted and seated quickly. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food came very quickly. The starters (eggroe salad and spicy cheese) were simple but tasty. The mains came fairly soon after, my Veal Stifado was simple but perfectly cooked and tasty. I had baklava for desert which was probably the best I've had! The only thing that let the dinner down was the local house wine, which may be a personal taste but wasn't as good as previous local wines. Although not the best, a very good place to try for a great value, nice traditional meal at under 50 Euros.

Helpful?
Thank NickB1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classic Greek taverna”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We'd been recommended to go to nikolas's by some friends and we actually stumbled across it whilst in fira. Ive been to Greece over 20 times and this is a classic Greek taverna, nothing fancy, just good Greek food. Very well priced, we paid half what we'd paid anywhere else on the island. Nice friendly staff too. Wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Locals send you here that says it all”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly effective services, no flare but after you go to other restaurants you want to come back. It does not have outdoor sitting, if it had there would be lines and lines to come in, anyway, there is always a line. The staff is correct, friendly, they have been there for ages, they really care about their concept. For lunch is great, I loved their tzatziki, it was the best I have ever tried. We didn't want to go for dinner because there it goes kind of fast and we wanted to have dinner relaxed. But after trying endless restaurants with outdoor space and being disappointed, one night we decided to try it for dinner and it was great. We waited until the last shift and they were not so busy (still full but no more people waiting outside). It was fabulous, great food, nice wines and they paid us a lot of attention. I did not care about the view, anyway when you go for dinner it is dark and you don't see the caldera or anything. It is nicer to be in cosy Nikolas. It is totally a must in Fira.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Europalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolas also viewed

 
Exo Gonia, Fira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing