We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”
Review of Nikolas - CLOSED

Nikolas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: After 25 years, we have sadly closed our taverna. Thank you for your years of patronage. Any future restaurants on the premises are in no way affiliated with the tradition, management or ownership of the Nikolas Taverna. Thank you.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good experience!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This tavern is located inside of a cave! It's a very traditional greek restaurant. The food was amazing! Good price!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank asestipaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    296
    99
    52
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic family restaurant”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were recommended to try the Nikolas Tavern by our hotel manager and it is billed as one of, if not the, oldest taverns in Fira. Extremely popular - eager diners were queueing up to get a table when we left about 9pm. I had the moussaka and my wife the souvlaki and whilst enjoyable I have enjoyed moussaka better at home in England where we add more meat and have a less thick layer of bechamel sauce. However for our first night of seven in Santorini (with seven different restaurants visited), it was an experience I can recommend if you want to try authentic Greek cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“REAL Greek food to be appreciated”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our first visit to Fira, Santorini, we were recommended to try the Taverna Nikolas in the heart of the busy city center, accessible only by foot. Unlike many who tend to eat after 9pm, we were immediately seated around 7 pm....and must applaud the service and food. Our waiter explained the different dishes and when asking about the tomato balls (tomato keftedes), he detailed its ingredients....a dish you MUST have but only available during the tomato-growing season...these are not normal tomatoes as they are grown in volcanic soil. We were so pleased that on our 2nd visit, we gladly waited a half-hour (as we arrived later), and again were completely pleased with our selections - in particular, the lamb lemonato and stuffed cabbage. Visitors should keep in mind: it is a small place, gets very busy, and should be prepared to leave as soon as possible, respecting those who are waiting outside. Also, their bread is mass-produced but everything else is home made. If you want non-commercial Greek food, this is the place to visit, and you will understand why it´s the only place in town with a waiting line! (No credit cards)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food was very good as was the service. Mostly traditional Greek food so menu limited. We had to wait as the place is packed during the tourist season. Prices are pretty good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badger7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice food but too serious staff”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was very nice and authentic, we ordered musakaa and shrimp with rice and we really enjoyed them. The only thing that I didn't like that the owner of the Resturant is very serious and he doesn't make recommendations, I asked if one of the dishes is nice to have and he said " I it's not good you won't find it on our menu" I think he has to be more friendly with customers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolas also viewed

 
Exo Gonia, Fira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing