We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgo the view and eat some yummy food!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikolas - CLOSED

Nikolas
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: After 25 years, we have sadly closed our taverna. Thank you for your years of patronage. Any future restaurants on the premises are in no way affiliated with the tradition, management or ownership of the Nikolas Taverna. Thank you.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Forgo the view and eat some yummy food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

In Santorini, we are often so swept away with seeking a perfect view that we forget about the wonderful smaller taverns - where the focus is on the food, with reasonable prices. This place has no views, and I'd imagine could get very warm in the summer months, but October was perfect - attentive service, and high quality meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99CityGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    293
    98
    51
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No caldera views! Focus is on the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a feast! Fava, tomato balls, greek salad, saganaki, stuffed calamari, 2 meat dishes with wine and beer - all at a very reasonable price too! And so-o-o tasty!
Dine early or be prepared to wait in a queue!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theyearlytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Traditionnal tavern, low prices, good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Very little menu, very good food !
I had a very good 'imam' and 'stuffed vegetables'.
Service was very good (talked 3 or more langages) and took time to explain dishes.
Prices are ridiculous in comparison to other places... In center of santorini.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oinotonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's got a buzz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very friendly, busy and vibrant. Staff are very attentive and the food is traditional greek fare. Expect lamb in lemon sauce, stuffed round zuchini and greek background music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank saltyseasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After seeing ques of people all week waiting for a seat we decided time give it a try on this our last night. We were not disappointed, didn't have to wait, straight to our table.
Menu is traditional, food arrived and was very good full of flavour, rustic traditional food just what we were after.
Good value for money, starter, main with wine and water 46€.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing