We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had to be done!”
Review of SPHINX Restaurant - CLOSED

SPHINX Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Hamphire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It had to be done!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having visited Santorini briefly on a Cruise Ship last year, we admired this iconic restaurant & it's amazing views & vowed that if we ever returned we HAD to eat here!
Upon our return to the Island this summer we pre-booked
our table, which was just as well as there was a large wedding party that had taken over the lower level of the restaurant, so space was limited.
We were given a lovely table in a prime spot over looking the volcano & sunset, & were served very quickly.
Menu is varied, but very expensive, the cheapest bottle of wine was a local Rose @ €21, (just about everyone had one!), & some things were a total rip off, - ie the bread & dips were shown @ €2.50,however, when we received our bill we were charged 2x, as there were 2 of us!! (Not something we encountered at any other Restaurant).
Food was lovely, portions could be a little bigger, but everything was well presented & the waiting time was perfect.
Our final bill was €156, which was decidedly more than we would normally want to pay, but you are definitely paying for location here.
Would we go back? Probably not, but I would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Fira, Treat yourselves to some 'posh nosh' in an outstanding location, & to hell with the cost, after all, you are on Holiday!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    186
    90
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good but lacking something ”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here and the service was polite and efficient, but to me it lacked the extra something. The restaurant lacked atmosphere despite us being there at the peak time of the evening (sunset). The food was lovely, he had Tuna and I had pork loin. They swapped out his side for fried potatoes with no fuss. I would describe it as a pleasant evening.

Helpful?
Thank Morriorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average -top end prices for very average food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great view, as with all the places on that side of the island. The food was very average - with the exception of the salads. We had a Santorini salad and it was great (at €12 / £10 it should be!) the other food was nice but nothing special. Nice enough but there are better places (katharos lounge, anogi etc). Top end prices for middle of the road food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lamb shanks!!!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing Leg of Lamb with a view to match. Great selection of wine by the glass or the bottle. During peak season you'll need to book to have an optimal spot to see the sunset (8:15ish).

Helpful?
Thank Lincoln B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No wow factor”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Having sampled the food from the Greek dishes, I was left quite underwhelmed after my experience of sphinx. Given the price, I was expecting more rewarding flavours. The staff were friendly and I am sure if you go during the day, you would appreciate the setting more than in the evening - but for me, the food was average.

I also didn't enjoy having to walk through a wedding reception to use the toilet!!

On the upside, they had a good wine list!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPHINX Restaurant also viewed

 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Exo Gonia, Fira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing