We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SPHINX Restaurant - CLOSED

SPHINX Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was feeling a tad ill for the first day or so of our holiday. My appertite came straight back when we went here... utterly delicious. The pasta is all fresh and light, but my recommendation is any of the steaks. We had to go back the next night for more... superb cooking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragontattoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    186
    90
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

There are better places out there. Nice view, but nothing special. The fish is fresh, but again, overpriced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunningGatorDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The view over the Caldera was beautiful. However, the food was expensive and quite common (6 € for a drink of orange juice when 50% of the volume was actually ice, 24 € for a common pork plate). The service was also disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Afternoon Wedding Luncheon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at the Sphinx along with our Wedding Coordinator completed our day with a fabulous lunch at the Sphinx. The scenery was amazing, the staff was top knotch and the food was simply exquisite. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cndngal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

It is one of the places we like going again and again with my clients. Delicious dishes, stunning views, excellent service! From the starters up to the main course it is always all excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrtdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPHINX Restaurant also viewed

Fira, Santorini
Agios Georgios, Perivolos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing