We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
43
40
12
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
40
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus station central square simple hotel short uphill walk small kitchen self catering great location free wifi quiet area living room double bed good size caldera view luggage shower port desalinated
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 97 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Cental location to Fira, Santorini Islandis the ideal spot. Bus, taxi, stores,grocery, are close by, and all sights easily gotten to from here. Fira is the spot to be! The management at Markakis Studios was wonderful. They were accomodating and very pleasant. The hotel itself was quaint and well kept. The pool was small, but big enough to cool off. The studio we stayed in had a kitchen (hot plate), and refrigerator. The living room was good size, with a small couch,tv, and our patio sat four, comfortably. One bedroom had a double bed and the other three twin beds. The bathroom had a small tub and hand held shower attachment. I would recommend this studio with no resevation, and encourage anyone to stay there. Get ready for an experience of a lifetime, and do rent the ATV's. We did not get asked for international licenses, but did have to leave driver licenses to rent.

Room Tip: We were at basement level, but had friends upstairs, and we all seemed happy. The upstairs rooms had a wonderful breeze, our studio needed the fans and air going to keep it comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We turned up in Santorini without a reservation. After checking out Oia (soooo overpriced!), we came back to Thira with the public bus. I went to explore the surroundings in search of a hotel, and this one was the best I found. It's very close to the bus station and yet it's in a quiet street. They gave us a discount (30 euros instead of 40) and the room was very nice and big. Wrought iron bed, balcony with shade, separate kitchen-living room area where there was also an extra bed.
It was clean and cute and the tiny pool is enough to feel refreshed from the heat, but it's really tiny. The bougainvilleas were blooming when we were there, beautiful!
Free wifi too, though the connection is not always good through all the walls. We did not take breakfast and ended up staying 2 nights.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pernilleskokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked our rooms before the big summer break so the price was much lower than peak season. Just what 3 friends needed, 3 clean single beds, clean bathroom and kitchenette with our own balcony. There is no view when you are on the balcony, in fact it looks into the neighbouring hotel. The bathroom is cramped and water from the shower got everywhere and remember not to flush anything toilet paper down the toilet bowl. It is also not obvious from the main road so you might need to ask for specific directions when making the booking. For those with wheelie bags, the lane leading up to the hotel is not paved, so you might need help dragging your bags along. Also there are a few steps going to the reception area and up to the room but the owner helped us with our luggage so there wasn't really an issue.

Onto the good parts. Location is amazing. Walking distance to everything. Food, laundry services, the spectacular views. The owner is very friendly with plenty of suggestions. We didn't choose to have breakfast at the hotel but easy 50m walk to find food. Felt very safe to walk around at night. There is also free WiFi.

Overall I would consider this place again since it was a really good value for the location, but if there was a good value hotel with a better bathroom I would spend a little bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

If you are looking for hotels with caldera views, move on, because this hotel doesn't have any. But if you are looking for a quiet hotel in Fira, slightly (less than 10 minutes by foot) away from the trinket shops, tourist traps, and boutiques of the town (not to mention the view), this is your spot. Add to it that that the bus station is less than 5 minutes away, you are in a great location to explore the island. I stayed here for 3 nights - the room is nicely equipped with fridge, hotplate, dishes, balcony area, small bathroom, and clean room. In July we paid 60 euros on Venere. There's a small pool. There's wifi in the lobby. It's very quiet. We made meals from the delicious food to be had at the grocer on the street corner.
Make sure you go this grocer and ask him about local products; he lets you taste everything and provides great advice - if you ask - about visiting the island. He has amazing olives, wine, capers, herbs, tomatoes, and these delicious white aubergines, along with different varieties of ouzo and raki. In a destination that can seem very impersonal because of the huge amounts of tourists and consumerist garbage, this guy is a beacon of authenticity, friendliness and generosity. Check it out - he made our trip to Fira very special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tareus1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed one night on our way back from the islands. Clean, spotless and fresh! A very nice room was provided for us.Three comfortable beds, kitchen, big bathroom and a very cozy veranda! A very small but fresh pool, and boganvillas growing all around us!! The room was nearly 1/5 price of what you must pay at the "right" side of Thira, but it is only few steps away from the city,shops,busstop and view. Very good location! Nice and trustable owner!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Columbusandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews