We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value and perfect location in Fira town.”
Review of Hotel Lignos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lignos
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great value and perfect location in Fira town.”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

this hotel was really nice, they offer free transfer from and to the port. the bus station is only a five minute walk, where the buses run to other parts of santorini.
the room was very big and so clean, and really cozy with great colors and big bathrooms. the staff was very friendly and helped us with all our questions.
the breakfast was simple, for for someone who is not a big eater in the mornings, it was perfect - juice, bread, ham, cheese and coffee. the breakfast can be enjoyed out on the terrace.
next door is a great laundry and 500 meters down the road is the blue sky hotel where you can use the pool and store your luggage on the day you leave.
i would recomend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    15
    23
    20
See reviews for
8
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Lignos only cost 30 euros for the one night I stayed there. The staff was accommodating and friendly and the main square of Fira was a 2-minute walk away. The cliffs of Fira overlooking the caldera was maybe a 3-4 minute walk. Lignos was definitely not luxury but it was a average sized room with a queen size bed in it. The air conditioning was used often since it was very hot out. There is a mini fridge and a small TV attached to the wall near the ceiling with about 5 TV channels. The hotel also arranged for me to be transferred to and from the hotel (from another hotel and to the airport.) This was good since it saved me about 20 euros in taxi fare.

There is no caldera view. When I was searching trip advisor to find a hotel, I wanted to read about whether or not there was a caldera view and not many reviews mention the view.

I stayed at Irini's Villas because I needed a place to stay the night before my stay at Lignos. I hadn't booked anything because my friends and I were parting ways (They continued on to Turkey) The "boss" at Lignos also runs Irini's villas in Imerovigli which is a 5 minute-5 euro taxi ride away. Lignos had no room on the night that I wanted to stay but hadn't booked so she offered me a room at 50-euros a night (for a room that usually costs 120-euros a night). They were friendly, nice, and accommodating. They also preferred cash at Lignos.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiangirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Good location but bad service , breakfast was very basic .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fira hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
santa clara, california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

we stayed for 2 days we only paid around 30 euros per day and it was worth every penny so close to the best views, restaurants and shopping..they picked us from airport and dropped us off as well at 5.45 in the mornign for a 7am flight..the hotel was extremely neat and tidy would definately go back.. they even booked us a all day tour for 28 euros and had tickets ready at the reception...breakast was very simple cereal bread and coffee..

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wowwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Just spent 2 days at Lignos Hotel. Great value - and it included a modest breakfast. Location was great - very quiet yet only 100 metres from the centre of Fira. Close to bus and taxi station. Expected to pay much more. Staff, Maria, was very friendly and efficient. The hotel was spotless - all the time. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We booked Hotel Lignos online which was seemed very budgeted. i emailed them a few times prior to the trip to ask if there was airport transfer to the hotel and after the 3rd email, they replied "ok". However, on arrival at Santorini airport, no one showed up and when I called the hotel, no one picked up either. After an hour of waiting around, eventually took the public bus (KTEA) into town (EUR 1.40pp). On arrival, we got told the hotel is full and transferred us to Hotel BlueSky which is 200m further away from Lignos (but still quite close). The receptionist was rude. when I got to Blue Sky hotel, to my surprise the room was actually quite clean, with TV, aircon and a good shower. The breakfast was horrible though (just bread and jam and some ham which has gone bad). On my leave, I asked if there was hotel transfer to the airport and they said "NO", "only transfer to the port". I guess overall, you need to have certain expectations of their service (low) and be prepared for no transfers to the airport (some other hotels do it for free, which could save you a lot, considering a taxi to the airport is EUR 12 per way). The pool also looked unclean.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#58 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thirasia
Hotel Thirasia
#68 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#70 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#43 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#59 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Star
Hotel Golden Star
#56 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lignos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lignos

Property: Hotel Lignos
Address: Parodos Agiou Mina, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lignos 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lignos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lignos Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing