We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Kima Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kima Villa
Ranked #13 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I travelled here in early September 2013 with my fiance and his parents. The view was completely gorgeous and breathtaking, and the owner was super friendly with finding places to eat and things to do nearby.

The hotel is located towards the beginning of Oia's main pedestrian area so if you were making your own way from the airport, it would be easy to find. It's few minutes walk down some steep stairs (as is anywhere decent in Oia), but the staff were helpful in arranging airport transfers and then taking our luggage down to the room and then back up when we left. There is also a convenience store at the top of the stairs which was handy too.

We had 2 rooms, each with a double bed and there were kitchen facilities in both. The shower facilities weren't great - water went everywhere because the shower head wasn't terribly nice. The bed wasn't completely comfortable either which was a shame. But both our rooms looked out directly onto the pool area and it really was a fantastic view. The hotel has a great boutique-hotel feel - and the wifi is steady and quite reliable.

We wanted to book a third room at the hotel as well as we had a family member join us on our trip almost at the last minute, and although the hotel was helpful in suggesting somewhere nearby as they were full, during our stay they were quite strict with not having any non-hotel guests (i.e. our aunt) spend time in the pool area, even just for a few pictures. It's just worth keeping in mind if your travelling companions will be staying elsewhere and you want to spend time together around your accommodation.

In terms of the price we did find it was expensive compared to elsewhere in Europe - but really everywhere in Santorini is expensive!

As couple though, my fiance and I found the hotel to be very comfortable, relaxing and quite romantic. Overall we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens up onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough. Our room for 4 people was spacious and had a small kitchenette. The pool is small, but perfect for relaxing. The breakfasts were quite generous and delicious. Tasos the owner was friendly without being overbearing. The price was towards the cheaper end of similar properties, but I didn't feel I really lacked for anything.

The hotel was hard to find with Google Maps not very helpful. There is a small sign to the hotel by a staircase near the beginning of the pedestrian street. There is a small market at the top of the staircase.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The view from Kyma was MAGNIFICENT! The hotel was quaint, and only had a few rooms (maybe 8?), so it felt like a boutique hotel. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning, which was a lovely way to start the day. The pool was perfect -- We saw reviews that people felt it was too small, but we found it to be great! Tasos and the other staff were extremely nice and accommodating.

Our only complaint was that the bed was very hard, but after letting Tasos know the following morning, he immediately found a solution and added a pad to the mattress, which made it much more comfortable. In spite of the bed not being the most comfortable ever, we slept well the rest of our stay and were extremely impressed with the expediency with which he resolved our concern. Thank you, Tasos!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Oia is one of the most beautiful places on earth and the location of Kima villa is excellent, giving you the opportunity to admire the view while swimming in its -small- pool. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel manager helpful and with a sense of humour.
The hotel is near the central pedestrian walk, but you have to climb some stairs to get there, so it might not be a good idea for older people; on the other hand, you do get help with your luggage. Breakfast is standard for all and you don't get to choose, but the view and tranquility make up for that.
Overall, it was a pleasant and relaxing trip and Oia is highly recommended for couples and young families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgius_Magnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Even during the blackout Santorini experienced in mid-August 2013, the experience at Kyma Villas was very positive. The staff, and especially the Manager, Tasos Anthopolous, were very pleasant, very helpful, and always willing to lend a hand or answer a question any time of day. Even during the blackout, he went out of his way to provide us with as many candles or other accessories we may need. The views from the hotel were nothing short of spectacular, and the location is right in the middle of the action in Oia, but secluded enough so you do not hear the incessant foot traffic of tourists in the and restaurants markets above. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in Kima Villa. The views are stunning and will take your breath away. It's an excellent location in Oia. Nice and quiet but only a short walk to the centre of Oia. There's 60ish steps up and it's nothing at all. Your bags are carried up and down for you. We had a 3 and a half year old with us and we didn't once use our stroller whilst in Oia. Tasos the manager is excellent. He arranged a taxi pick up for us and we were brought to the edge of the village and from there a 5 min walk down the steps to Kima Villas. Tasos set up breakfast every morning upon request right on our own personal balcony with stunning views of the caldera. We were in room 4 so it wasn't very private as its right beside the pool so our neighbours right next door didn't make breakfast a very private affair but that was ok as all the visitors there were not intrusive. The pool was lovely and every day we got sun loungers. It's a nice quiet location. Perhaps not the best safety wise for small children that said we had no issues with our little one by the pool but a younger toddler would need to be watched. The rooms are clean and we got a little bed for our daughter which was perfect.Saba the cleaner was so sweet and helpful. She even washed some of my daughters clothes. The only cristisims I have are firstly with the bed. It's was the squeakiest bed I've ever sleep in. Secondly the pool infiltration system is right outside room 4 so in the mornings when Tasos would lift the iron lid it was a noise that woke our daughter every morning which meant we were up earlier then we would have liked. That's it really, that's the only fault I can find. We would definitely return just book a different room.

Room Tip: Don't book room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham38170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very pleasant stay! The position of the hotel is amazing, you can enjoy the views and silence! its perfect, it has a very nice pool, not too many occupants on the pool and you can always get a bed to lay and relax. The manager of the hotel Tasos is of great help in arraning everything you need, both in the hotel and out of it for taxis, sailing trips, visitng trips, etc. He will arrange a nice fellow to come and take your luggage to and from the rooms so no need to worry about the steps. Rooms are very clean and the best you can get for the price. Its located just at he center of pedestrian street in Oia, with buses, taxis and stores within a short walking distance. Its a great place to have a nice and quiet vacation!

Room Tip: Room above the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.0 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kima Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kima Villa

Property: Kima Villa
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kima Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful area of Santorini, called Oia we have created KIMA VILLA.Apartments built in the heart of Caldera with a unique panoramic view over the sea, the caldera and the volcano. Our spacey rooms are fully equipped with Kitchen, private bathroom, air conditioning, television, dial up phone, exclusive veranda, daily service and breakfast. The pool completes the ideal scenery offering ultimate relaxation facing the breathtaking view over the high steep slope...Enjoy a refreshment from our bar.Spend with us an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kima Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kima Villa Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing