We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Church of Panagia
from $92.60
More Info
from $92.60
More Info
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
62
52
8
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
52
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light a candle holy place greek orthodox bell tower beautiful greek greek easter lit candles current location the main pedestrian street beautiful building worth a stop visited oia well worth the visit the cliff cable car icons dome
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we walked around Oia we came across this church. It was busy with tourists but well worth a look. It is very beautiful inside and very ornate. It didn't take much time to go inside and then continue on with our siteseeing.

Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is a Very nice church, beautiful architecture as all in santorini. It is placed in Oia. It is very turistic so you Will find los of persons on your way to the church.

Thank alejoecheverri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Given all the external views around Oia you may be hard pressed to have much time over for actually visiting any interiors of building beyond a restaurant given that your visit is most likely as part of a cruise or day excursion from one of the nearby island such as Crete or Mykonos.

But, if only have time for one then this has to be a strong candidate. One of the most beautiful and an almost effortlessly engaging structures on the island. The building is joy both inside and out. Dramatic and eye catching it’s hard to not to find this as a treat for the soul as much as they eye. That said a little respect is seriously in order whether it’s your faith or not this is a holy place and appropriate dress and the absence of flash when taking those all important photos is encouraged and avoids offending other visit. After all it should be enjoyed by all.

Highly Recommended

Thank TheRestlessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Quite colourful inside and out. The decoration inside is particularly ornate and golden as you find with Orthodox churches.

Thank Archaeobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

I went into the Panagia Platsani Church with the blue dome that is on postcards. Simple,

Elegant church, without excessive ornamentation. A woman volunteer was YELLING at tourists not to take pictures, inside or outside of church. WHAT IS UNSAID IS UNDERSTOOD. I told her in Greek that her behavior did not exhibit the finest in Greek hospitality. She was speechless, because I spoke Greek. I decided to find a place where tourists are welcome.

1  Thank ctsounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

This church was jaw-droppingly spectacular. It is filled with the beautiful "icons" that are plentiful throughout Greece- picturing saints and other Catholic religious figures in paintings that are often outlined with precious metals and sometimes set with precious stones. Some of the icons in this church were huge - about 3 feet tall and were strikingly ornate. We were told that we were not allowed to take photos, which was very disappointing. If not for that request, we'd have taken dozens of photos in this beautiful church. Highly recommended.

Thank Joe_Syracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This is a church that features very beautiful detailed work throughout it. I lit candles here in memory of my mother and father.

Thank bikerbabe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

In the center of Santorini, you find this church and is very beautiful and characteristic. Yes, it is always full of people and you don't get to take pictures there but it is worth the visit.

Thank Deboracris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

The complete name of the church is : Holly Church of the Akathist Hymn of the Virgin Mary (Panaghia Platsani). The church was located in the Castle of Oia, but after the earthquake in 1956, it was rebuilt in the Main Square of Oia.
The church is built in Byzanthin style, and it's full of beautiful paintings, and ancient icons. The photos are forbidden, and post cards are not available.

Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Stunningly beautiful church both outside and inside, situated in the main square of Oia, this really is a must see on any trip to Oia.

Thank Scotty102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews