We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat”
Review of Maria's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Place
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely hideaway about 5 minutes' walk from the caldera. It has it's own sea view and is so peaceful, without being isolated. There is a lovely pool though the water is very cold at this time of the year
Anna give wonderful advice and is so friendly and helpful. The wine shop is three minutes away and two supermarkets just a little further.
The room was spotless and had everything we needed for the odd occasion when we wanted to self cater, including a toasted sandwich machine! Breakfast is available at extra cost and there are many restaurants close by. There were no mosquitoes or insects , so the nights were ver comfortable. The. Units all have a balcony with a sea view.
This is a wonderful retreat away from the noise and crowds of the centre and at a really modest price. It was excellent value and we would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have a mezzanine floor where there are two single beds, which would be ideal...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Maria's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you don't mind walking for 5 mins on the level - you can get the idyllic sunset views that Oia is famed for. The apartments are fully equipped and the owners cannot do enough for you. From pickup at Ferry, welcoming at hotel and information available on hand our experience could not be better.

Room Tip: very peaceful and handy for Oia
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed an entire week on Santorini. Anna was always happy to help, made reservations for us and recommendations on restaurants and activities. It is a short walk into the busy area of Oia and great to be out of the crazy tourist area. Very quiet for sleeping with a sea breeze coming through the window each night, we never needed the air conditioning. The pool is nice and clean and there are plenty of chairs to lounge on. We had cleaning service daily, fresh towels and sheets and pool towels provided when we inquired about them. Also, they will transport back and forth to the airport which is very nice and a big cost savings. Anna was always concerned about our comfort and was a great hostess.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartments get a nice breeze and also have patio areas
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brtwamley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First, we were picked up at the airport and driven back to the hotel. Anna the owner went out of her way to make us comfortable, suggested tours and made arrangements for us. The rooms are a few minutes walk from the main area in Oia, we loved the walk back and forth to Oia. We were able to cook our own breakfast using the microwave and panini grill for toasts. The grocery store is just a few steps away. The bus stop is around the corner. We would definitely return to Maria's place. The WiFi connection was weak and intermittent. The bed was a bit hard, but OK. The place is spotless and the pool side great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September, and really enjoyed our stay. The proprietor was immensely helpful, and made excellent recommendations for activities and places to eat. The room was very spacious, and included a safe box for locking up valuables. The room comes with a kitchenette, including pots and pans and dishes, and a microwave and fridge. The ground floor rooms have their own balconies overlooking the pool. It is within walking distance of Oia. We really liked this place a lot.
Downsides: The pool is freezing. If someone loud is staying above you, you can hear everything. The wifi is slow. The beds are not comfortable. The couch was more comfortable than the bed. (I think uncomfortable mattresses are normal in Greece though. Every place we stayed had terrible mattresses.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it! The pool has very good position to watch the sunset !the room has everything u need from AC to kitchenette and safe box! Really big size rooms and very comfy bed! The price is also great as u r minutes away from the point of the best sunset of the world ! If u coming to santorini u have to stay here unless if u want to spend a fortune to expensive hotels! For sure ill stay again here and I strongly recommend it!
The owner offers a free pick up and drop off from/to the airport/port which saves you lots of money!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The owners bent over backwards to make our stay incredible.

Vue wasn't great, however, if you want a place you can stay by the nice pool or your poolside apartment in the day and then are a beautiful 2 min walk from the main pedestrian part of the beautiful village, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainpantss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Place

Address: Oia Finikia Road, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $77 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maria's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Place Hotel Oia
Maria's Place Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing