We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great value”
Review of Maria's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Place
Ranked #3 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location great value”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Anna greeted us on arrival, helped with luggage and gave us local info re shops buses etc. the room had sea view and well equipped kitchen. Room and laundry faultless. Pool and great lounging area immaculately maintained. Easy stroll into Oia. And buses even closer...we had a great 5 nights

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Santony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    47
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
163
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent almost a week at Maria's Place Oia in September. What we could say is the location is terrific. Not too far from the Oia town center and the famous sunset viewpoint, around 10 minutes by foot I would say.The bus stop to Fira and other towns is just 2 mins walk from the hotel. The apartment itself is equipped with everything you could ask for even our home could not be compared to !! One negative point could be the bed which is a little hard on the surface.

Thumbs up to Anna and Kostas for their unique friendliness and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapoupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a wonderful location just a 5 minute walk from Oia center. It is a great mix of self service and hotel. Anna the manage is a wonderful host who ensures that her guests are happy and well taken care. She is full of knowledge, suggestions and places to go and visit. The room is clean with a relaxing view. This location is great for a mature couple or adults, it is private and quiet with a swimming pool.
Not enough can be said about Anna's hospitality and welcome that makes for this to be a great and enjoyable vacation. We visited during the peak in mid August and enjoyed our time tremendously.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed and comfortable. Anna was extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. She advised us on restaurants, prices, how to get around etc etc. She has a knack of making every guest feel special. The apartment was very clean with towels and bedding changed every 2-3 days. The location is great, away from the evening crowds in the very centre of Oia, but only 5 minutes walk to the pedestrianised part of the town. It is in a very quiet narrow street but only 2 minutes to the nearest supermarket and good wine merchant. Oia is expensive to eat out so we chose to prepare food in the apartment for 2 nights of our stay which was manageable with one hot plate but would have been easier with a double hot plate and more worktop space. There was a safe in our room which was an added bonus. We have visted about 15 greek islands and this is our favourite, so we will be back and will have no hesitation staying at Maria's Place again.

Room Tip: The apartments for 2 people seem to be on the ground floor. The rooms which get the most sun on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restaurant-fatigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagneux
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A bit away from Oia city center but only 5/10 minutes by walk. But very nice place. Never take your car to go to Oia as it is a bit dangerous and crowded by 6.00 to 8.00PM (sunset). Big rooms, very clean, all with sea view but not cliffs's view (opposite side to Oia). Owner very helpful and kind owner.
Nice swiming pool but not enough sun chairs for all the guests.
Almost everything to cook, taking into account there is a small shop 3 minutes away by walk.
Important : the place was very hard to find => when arriving from Fira, before entering in Oia, you have to turn right on a very small street in front of the "Atlantida Villas" (very easy to see). If you see a small shop with small parking, you are too far, but actually ... very close (hotel locared in the street behind the shop).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthoncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Maria's Place is run by a wonderful, thoughtful and very helpful Lady named Anna. On arrival she was welcoming, and caring. She new everything about the area and was able to answer all our questions accurately in regards to tourism and events. She helped us plan our vacation on Santorini and never failed to show excitement or consideration in the planning. She arranged for us to take an amazing catamaran sunset tour that was very romantic. We had local wines on our beautiful balcony which had an amazing view. Since our the hotel is not in the center of Oia our stay was much romantic, quiet and relaxing. Location wise was great as it is only a 5 minute walk to Oia and a 10min bus ride to Fira and the bus runs every 20min during the day so there's never a long wait. Breakfast was warm and delicious every day, fresh bread and cake with ham and cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. We would definitely stay here again as the rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The pool is refreshing and the views are fantastic!! Thanks you making our honeymoon romantic and something very special Anna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jassy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The swimming pool and the relaxing area are the key poin of this hotel.
the hotel is not on the caldera side, but on the open sea side, and this gives to the guests the chance of having a look on the sunset very night. Something that you won't see if you chose some other hotel on the caldera side.
The swimming is also in common with Galini Pension.

Anna is always helpful and she is really interested in how the vacation is going. She keeps giving suggestion on the island and tips to enanche the visits, both in Oia or in the others cities.

They should give for the same price also a breakfast serrvice, otherwise other structures of the nearby area are more convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Place

Property: Maria's Place
Address: Oia Finikia Road, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maria's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Place Hotel Oia
Maria's Place Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing