We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aethrio Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My wide and I loved staying here. A big plus was that after you get dropped off at Oia, you at least don't have to carry your luggage down a ton of steps. It's right next to the main church in town. The views are excellent. The pool was great. Staff was awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onewithnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was overall a mixed experience, but good in general. Pros: the hotel is a series of traditional houses in a superb location in Oia, right next to the square with the main church. If you get the double superior room, ask for rooms 19 or 20, as those have the highest private terraces from which to observe the delightlful and famous Oia Sunset (you will then not need to cramp yourself amongst dozens of others in the small Kastro). If you go for a cheaper room, you can still go to the hotel private observation deck along with other guests. Cons: whilst most of the staff was friendly, the main hotel manager (he was presumably the owner, but I'm not sure) was rather harsh and dry. For instance, when asking for the WiFi passcode, he limit himself to showing a plastic stand on the counter with the code on it - no attempt to write it down or find something for us to write it down. However, the rest of the staff was always very helpful and cordial.Another con: our room came with 2 double beds put side by side, and the mattress was rather stiff. If you value location above everything else, this might be a good place for you in Santorini.

Room Tip: Rooms 19 or 20 - double superior with sea view - amazing sunset view from terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Aethrio turned out to be the ideal place for our short stay. Set right in the heart of the town and only a minute's walk to all the shops and tavernas yet in a little oasis of calm. It has a beautiful swimming pool with terrace where you can take your breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and a roof terrace to watch the sunset. The walk from the parking lot takes you along the narrow winding streets and through the blue wrought iron gates into a lovely approach to the hotel. A beautful hotel in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Room10 next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

GEM discovered on Trip Advisor. Good value, excellent part of Santorini. Oia and the Aethrio stole our hearts. Excellent base for exploring the entire island. We rented a little 4x4 and went everywhere over the course of 4-5 days. One of the best memories of our lives, helped in no small part by this gorgeous boutique (and unpretentious) hotel. Pooltime was also fun, and the rooms were gorgeous. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in Oia, which is the place to be in Santorini. The rooms are ok for a beach hotel, not bad nor good...They are just OK. It also has an Ok swimming pool. The staff is very good. But the worst part of the hotel is the owner. And that is why I am given a worse than average review. The owner is always trying to get some advantage from the guests. For example: normally the transfer from the port to the hotel should be around 5 euros, but he charged 10 euros from us. So because of the owner I can't recommend this hotel. Try to find another option in Oia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucasmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanmari, General Manager at Aethrio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Rate a hotel just because you do not like the receptionist is not quite logical (and contrary to all notices that enjoyed the availability and acceptance of Marko). The principle of Aethrio is to guide our clients to take full advantage of the wealth of Santorini. Everyone is free thereafter to do what he pleases. The transfer prices are listed on our website, so there is no bad plan regarding this point. You can also see the prices of taxis on the internet (search + price + taxi Santorini) and you'll see a transfer to the port or airport costs 25 € minimum, as well as making appointments and baggage. Transfer by local bus will cost you around 5€ per person, but you will have to change in Fira and depart a long time before your final departure, there are no buses every 10 minutes unfortunately..
Dear Lucas, you did not understand that Marko tried to help you by offering you our services, the reception is a mini travel agency always trying to help our client, saving time and avoiding the pitfalls of touristic places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service was exceptional from the very first day, we got there. Marco the manager was very helpful,accommodating and always went beyond to make our stay comfortable, secure and a wonderful experience, not forgetting Georgia with her friendly humor and spoiling us by the pool on our last day,with excellence service and teaching us the local luigo. The porter and also the cleaning ladies. I have already recommended the Hotel to many of my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beethoven2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

4/9/2013
We would like to express our deep thanks for the great hospitality at Aethrio Hotel. Aethrio Hotel is really a place to relax as it offers beautiful, comfortable and very clean apartments, as well as wonderful verandas to enjoy the unique view of Sandorini. We enjoyed our stay every minute and we would highly recommend it to all our friends for their holidays.
Lambis & Effie

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
1.1 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $118 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing