We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Oia”
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aethrio Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Oia”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Aethrio with a large group of people this past September. The location of the hotel is great, right in the center of everything. Good restaurants, shops and cafes are within walking distance.

The hotel itself has an eclectic collection of rooms. They are all vastly different from each other. Our room was huge with a loft for the beds. However, it was oddly arranged. There wasn't a close or bureau for clothes. There was just a small wooden wardrobe in the center of the living room, which made it hard to unpack and get dressed conveniently. Our shower overflowed pretty much every day and ran into the small little kitchenette. On a plus side, we had a small little courtyard with chairs to ourselves. Some of the others in our group had rooms with balconies (and closets) that were much more comfortable. I would recommend going for one of those rooms.

The beds aren't the most comfortable. We had too small single beds in our room. The rooms are a great option if traveling with groups or families- not great for couples.

The hotel is charming with really interesting architecture. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean in the rooms and in the public areas. The pool area is very pretty and relaxing; the water was still warm in September.

There were two large terraces with fantastic views of Santorini and the water. You can take your coffee or drinks up there and watch the sunrise or sunset. That was the highlight of this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dinake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    93
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
147
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well if you want the full experience of the most stunning island in the world, you need to stay here!

This hotel was in a great spot, was so clean and the pool and view from the pool is awesome, breakfast was lovely, and the girl at the desk (Georgia) was so helpful and very sweet. Catch a taxi to get here, the bus is also convenient if you don't have too much luggage to carry.

All guests have a private balcony to view the sunset away from the crowd, though watching at least once amongst the crowd is a must. Oia is where you want to be, if you're into the party scene then maybe stay in Fira or you'll need to catch the bus to and fro.

Would recommend this place to anyone, easily a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Not sure you can go wrong here, this place is like a little town. Each room looks to be as good as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nondas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's hard to explain but the rooms were very oddly designed. I felt like I was staying in a creepy cave. Two doors into the room - one door could only be un/locked from the inside and had a crazy steep/long stairway directly into the bedroom. The other door could be un/locked from inside and out but had a crazy steep/long stairway to the ground/courtyard. The doors and key/lock systems are old school so it was hard to tell if they were locked.

Bed was very hard and the breakfast was below average with flies everywhere (on the cold cuts and in the powered juices).

Caught the front desk manager oggling/checking out my wife in a creepy kind of way...didn't feel too comfortable staying there.

By the way, Santorini is a much better value, has more restaurant, cafes, bars, and clubs, is an easy 30-40min bus ride to Oia for sunsets, and is the central bus hub to all the beaches. The bus system is extremely easy to use so I highly recommend staying in Santorini and taking the bus out to the beaches or to Oia to catch the sunset and back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a 5 day vacation in Greece. Luckily we decided to spend 3 days in santorini specifically at hotel aethrio! This place is gorgeous and everything you expect from a Greek hotel in santorini. Beautiful and unique apartment rooms complete with blue doors and shutters! We booked a studio but little did we know this really meant a foyer with a kitchen family room and an upstairs with the bedroom bathroom and an awesome porch complete with table and chairs and an awesome view of the pool. The staff were awesome! So helpful friendly and just overall great! The location is amazing. I would definitely recommend travelers stay in oia vs other parts of the island. All the beach towns are cool to see and travel to but oia is truly special. The included breakfast isn't fantastic but it's free coffee and toast! The pool is phenom and the hotel is just very authentic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We hosted a yoga retreat here. The staff went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect for our stay. The rooms are traditional and basic. The pool is great and the location is perfect. Tucked away from everything but very close by. I would come again for sure.

Room Tip: Apartment bedrooms are not completely private from main sitting areas so just keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmithyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi/London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Budget hotel but good location. My wife and I weren't very happy with the hotel. The breakfast was very average and it isn't in the best part of Oia. Good sunset though and extremely friendly staff. What really ticked us off was the transport the hotel had arranged. The cab came good 30 minutes late to pick us up from the port and we almost missed our flight on the way back. Tip - Definitely do not book the cab through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krgava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

There are some good and retro rooms with small yard, but it is a little hard for us to find. And we can walk to shore of Oia easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maus0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Property: Aethrio Hotel
Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing