We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people, old world feel”
Review of Aethrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aethrio Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

* Very helpful managers
* It gives u an old world feel so it definitely lacks the modern facilities
* Very peaceful and central location if u want to stay in Oia (which u must)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puneetxgulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a comfortable, quiet hotel in a central location but the photos provide a more sensational impression than in real life. The hotel is quiet and clean and the staff are friendly although rather laid back and not well-suited for organising/dealing with groups of people. And there's no staff between 9pm and 8.30am so beware if you arrive on an early or late flight.

The two-room bedrooms are nice, but there is no real privacy so more suited to close friends or families. The single room is up a steep flight of stairs and provides no real room for storage once you get up there ie clothes etc will be downstairs. The bathrooms are fine, very clean with separate shower but no bath. Toiletries are basic (disappointing) so I recommend taking your own soaps, moisturisers, shampoo etc.

The pool area is lovely and very clean. Perfect for relaxing. It's a shame there's no room service as a drink by the pool would be great additional service.

The breakfast is filling and traditional with pastries, breads, an egg dish, cereal, some beautiful fresh fruit plus tinned (why tinned for goodness' sake???) and delicious yoghurt. Something weird happens however when they clean the breakfast room as afterwards as it smells like toilet freshener for the rest of the day. Odd.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browniecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We just loved this beautiful hotel. Located in magnificent Oia town. Everything was just great!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLittleNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Right in the centre of Oia but very quiet and peaceful. No steps. We stayed 4 nights in a superior room very spacious with two outdoor sitting areas serviced daily and spotlessly clean. Breakfast included as part of room rate, eggs, toast, fruit, yoghurt ,cold meats, cheese as much as you want. Staff very friendly and helpful including arranging transfers to and from airport and port and suggesting tours. The hotel is set out like a little greek village which is so pretty. Highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thommo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Situated right in the middle of Oia with views all the way around & a couple of balconies to view the sunset. The outside areas are lovely - great pool, breakfast area, all really well kept. However, we had a 'traditional apartment' & were a bit disappointed...mold on the walls (I wiped it off so no excuse), dated 70's kitchenette, mismatched crockery, the bathroom had been recently renovated but water drained into the kitchen from it! The furniture was basic (a wardrobe made from 5 bits of wood with collapsing drawers & a curtain!?) & arranged like a spacious waiting room, no plug sockets near mirrors or kitchen.....plus a terrace shared with the staff accommodation next door. For 105euros a night in Oia, I know you don't get much but considering it's not caldera side, I did hope for more....
Overall, great location, great outside areas, decent breakfast - just be sure to select your room - either a superior or a studio I reckon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiver169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We found Aethrio through friends from Greece that have been to Santorini many times. We couldn’t be happier with our choice. As promised, you can't beat the location and wonderful hotel staff at this price point. We found it charming and comfortable. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all of the bells and whistles then this is not the hotel for you. But if you want an authentic, small town feel in a beautiful setting in the town of Oia, stay at the Aethrio. The pool area is large and clean and the rooms and bathrooms are very nice and well maintained. The hotel owner was friendly and helpful and the hotel was exactly as pictured. We are keeping in touch with the owner and hope to come back with family and friends for another visit soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeisWhereHeartIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I stayed here 4 nights in early October. You can't find a more central location. The room had character and the service is excellent if you're dealing with the owners who are very helpful. For the price, this was an excellent value, especially when you compare it to the high prices on Santorini. Also, they have an upper deck area from which you can view the sunset. We had it to ourselves every time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.5 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Oia Mare Villas
Oia Mare Villas
#2 of 34 in Oia
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aethrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aethrio Hotel

Address: Hotel Aethrio, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $132 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aethrio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aethrio hotel, an exclusive hotel in the heart of Oia village, overlooking the sunset and situated at the main square of the village’s central church. Dedicated to guest’s pleasure and full satisfaction, our hotel is located in Santorini Island, in Oia and at the most central spot in the village. It is only few steps away from all restaurants, shops, caldera and main activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aethrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aethrio Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing