We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lauda Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lauda Hotel
Ranked #60 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value in Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled to Santorini during shoulder season in May, when prices are reasonable and the weather warm enough. Because the only contact information we could find was a phone number, we phoned the hotel international long-distance and conveyed in broken Greek/English the dates we wanted. She didn't request a deposit, we didn't no-show, and our beautiful room was waiting for us after we got off the ferry. The "phone us, no deposit" situation seemed almost archaic, but it set a wonderful tone for a relaxed, slow-paced (in the best way) trip! The view from the room is stunning, the view from the pool is stunning, all of Oia is stunning. For the price of making it all the way to Greece, we didn't want to stay in a hostel in Thira, and this was an amazing value (by which I mean Lauda's immediate neighbors - also hotel/resorts - were 2-5 times its price)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank wandereverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

After all the glowing reviews and photos on the website we decided to book a room here. Getting through to make a reservation was not easy but we eventually got through. We book the most afforable room for about €100. When we finally arrived at the hotel after a long day of traveling, a young man showed us to our room down a million stairs (that was not a deal breaker though, we are young and fit). He show us our small cave room. They were not kidding, it is surely a cave! It was dark, dank and downright unpleasant. It looked nothing like the photos they advertised. The shower stall and toilet are not separated at all and looked disgusting! The bed looked like a blanket on a slab of concrete. We immediately knew we could not stay here. We asked to see a better room. Of course the only room left was the best and most expensive room. We payed an extra €100 for the upgrade. This room, near the top of the stairs, featured its own balcony that was lovely. It had one of the best views you will ever see. But that is the only thing we enjoyed. The bed was the same as the first room. The room was much better and brighter but was still a bit dank and unpleasant. The decor was just shabby and old. The bathroom was an upgrade from the first room but still horrible! It had a tiny old toilet, old floor and the shower was so narrow that when you stand in it your face touched the shower curtain! We barely got any sleep because the winds were so strong and the old wooden windows rattled the loudest noise all night long, it sounded like we were in a rickety old ship! The next day we just had enough. We felt scammed by the owner, misleading photos that make you want to upgrade. And for the price now over €200 we could be staying at a much better hotel. The pool was also very small and not appealing at all. Others hotels we saw had much better pools. We shopped around the next day and found on the other side of the island there was a hotel called zorzis. Zorzis was only €50 per night and included a full breakfast. The owner and staff are amazing, the rooms are all so beautiful and clean! I can not recommend Lauda to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank socalfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lauda hotel has a perfect location overlooking the whole island. The swimming pool is medium sized but still useful as the Santorini's sea is not very attractive due to its black volcanic colour.It is true that the rooms are very different to each other in size and shape but I found all 3 rooms that I stayed in, as I've visited this hotel 3 times, charming. Also, the owners are very nice, polite an helpful.Overall a beautiful hotel at a very reasonable price for Santorini's price standards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lena006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My parents and I visited Oia last July and had such an amazing experience, thanks in large part to our great stay at Lauda Hotel. The location is ridiculous (as in ridiculous good). Situated right in the middle of Oia's main drag, what it lacks in sunset views it makes up for with stunning views of the caldera, a nice pool (a must during the summer months) and affordable rooms. The family who oversee Lauda Hotel were also very helpful with everything from restaurants to day trips to reading (they have a small library of books in their main office). I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone who wants an amazing experience at an affordable price.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Travela03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parikia, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

lauda is BY FAR the best & my favourite place that i have ever stayed anywhere!!!

(this review is looong overdue but SO called for!)

i visited santorini twice during the spring of 2010 (while studying on a neighbouring island) and staying at lauda, which I did twice, was literally one of the highlights of my time in greece.

on my first visit i was with three friends and while we wanted to get away to santorini for the weekend (we particularly wanted to see oia) we were a little intimidated by the first-glance prices. i found lauda while browsing online and it was love at first sight!!!
when i called to inquire nektaria was incredibly sweet & so accomodating
we arrived in oia & set out to find lauda, we had the joy of a collective gasp of glee & disbelief from all 4 of us when we stumbled upon the entrance! :)
we were only able to stay for one night (we spent the first night in fira) but i am SO GLAD we went out of our way to make it happen!
the amenities are super basic (which we loooooved)
++ the rooms have wonderful little kitchens + there is a great little grocery store next door so it's perfect to pick up goodies for breakfast!
++ comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, airy rooms & lauda is close to e v e r y w h e r e you could want to be
++ the pool is simple & lovely
++ nektaria (& her precious family!) is SO sweet & so kind, so helpful, SO accomodating, so wonderful!!!
we were there in early april & it was warm during the day (we were able to lay out at the pool & tan but there were some light showers our first night) but we went back a month later it was VERY warm.

& i just love this place so much i wish i could visit all the time!!!

the second time i visited i was with two friends and it was just as pleasant as the first time :)

i would MOST highly recommend this place for EVERYONE & people looking for a true cycladic island experience (cliff dwellings are a staple in santorini)... the only people i would NOT recommend this hotel to are people looking for top-natch amenities & pampering :) although i was not able to visit, the armeni villas (right next to lauda) looked perfect for those looking for something a little more luxurious! :)

... the bottom line is, if you are looking for the MOST incredible & affordable place on santorini, LAUDA is it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amywantsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

This place is amazing and such good value! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicken_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

What you need to know up front: You have to call to make a reservation and Nectarina doesn't even need a credit card to hold your room:) Just call again a week ahead to confirm. And, you must pay cash upon leaving.

Why it's worth it: The view is second to none, you are in the middle of all of the little shops and restaurants, and you know it's a good sign when everyone stops at your hotel to take pictures of the caldera! The pool area is inviting, the water refreshing. There's a fridge and small cooktop in each room. Nectarina, the woman who keeps the place, has the most infectious laugh! She's a doll.

There's also a yummy little restaurant with delicious breakfast right next door since breakfast is not provided by the hotel. You're very much "on your own" here, so if you require a wait staff 24/7 or sheet and towel change every day, this isn't the place for you. But, if you're on a budget and want a clean, simple room with a view second to none, I'd recommend it!

Drawbacks: You pay for what you get. The bed is rock hard (although your room window looks straight into the cladera!), the towels are so scratchy you better hope you don't have to use one while sunburned(!), and the bathroom is super tiny and the itty-bitty shower makes it hard to contain the water, meaning much of the bathroom gets wet. However, that's not uncommon for much of Europe.

Room Tip: We loved our room under the reception. It's at the top of the small complex and enjoys the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newsformaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#38 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#32 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Stelios Rooms
Stelios Rooms
#26 of 37 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauda Hotel

Property: Lauda Hotel
Address: Oia, Greece (Formerly Lauda Traditional Rooms and Apartment)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Lauda Hotel Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing