We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not everyone's cup of tea”
Review of Ecoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecoxenia
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not everyone's cup of tea”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Christopher is a great host and sits down to explain everything about the island before your exploring begins! He also organised quads for us and did our laundry but turned everything pink. The hotel is pretty far away from any action such as the pubs and restaurants of fira and the beautiful beaches of Kamari and Perissa! It is located about 20 minutes from Oia where there are some nice restaurants. The worst part of the stay was the bed in our room. It was like a bunk bed with a ladder up to it, was not romantic at all trying to climb into bed and crawl out to get down!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
73
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at Ecoxenia was perfect. The apartment style room had a kitchenette, two beds, breakfast nook, patio - with bistro set and lounge chairs. Everything was very clean and readily available. Christopher was the most gracious host. He showed us all the points of interest on a map and wrote down everything we would need to know for us. He helped with every request we had! The grounds are very well maintained and they soon will have an outdoor bar on-site to go along with the outdoor seating/lounging areas and hot tub. I would recommend Exocenia to anyone wanting to stay in Oia, Santorini. I couldn't have enjoyed my time there more!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top two floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When I chose to go visit Oia I expected accommodation to be expensive.... And it was at the touristy town hotels. Here's the surprise - Ecoxenia is not located in the town. It's a 3 minute drive away (15 minute walk) but offers a much better view of the famed Santorini sunset than those other pricey options overlooking the caldera.With all the amenities of a service apartment, its more private, quiet and exclusively intimate at a fraction of the cost. In fact I proposed to my girl on the balcony of our apartment amidst the gorgeous sunset. New visitors to the island will also appreciate the hospitality of owner Christopher who greets you with a drink of your choice before patiently running though all the things to do in Santorini and booking whatever you need, from car rentals to boat tours. His recommendations for food were spot on and we didn't have a single meal we didn't like! Three thumbs up

Room Tip: When it comes to a good views, the higher the floor the better. We had a perfectly good view from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoyed an outstanding week staying at Ecoxenia. Christopher was an extremely friendly, helpful and informative host. The accommodation was first rate, with a lovely view over the garden to the sea. We enjoyed an invigorating walk up to Oia each day, and from there could use the frequent (often crowded even in May) buses or walk to explore the island. But it was good to stay a little distance outside the town where the only disturbance was the sound of bells on grazing donkeys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

this trip was awesome and staying at Ecoxenia was a great decision. Christopher (owner) is so helpful and knowledgeable about the area. the apartment I stayed in was so cute and and kept very clean. the gardens onsite are so peaceful and a nice touch to the property. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiolinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had always wanted to go to Santorini and see Oia's sunset and I must admit that staying in Ecoxenia made my perfect stay even better!!! From the very first letter I sent inquiring about reservation till the very last moment all was excellent! I loved the place, the people, the location as well as the beautiful scenery! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and hope that everyone feels as happy as I was there once!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onherway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We cannot begin to say how wonderful our stay was at EcoXenia! Christopher was an amazing host who made sure that we had everything to enjoy our time. The apartment was beautiful and clean with everything we needed and the view of the sea from our balcony was lovely. The grounds were manicured and the hot tub was perfect during the evenings. Although we rented a vehicle to get around (as we stayed during the off-season) there was a bus stop located about 30 m from the house which would be extremely convenient for travel. Despite having a car we regularly walked to Oia which was only 15 min away (about 1 Km). We both are looking forward to visiting again and will absolutely stay at EcoXenia!!! I cannot imagine a better place to stay. Thank you, Christopher!

Room Tip: (I checked off swimming pool but it was actually a hot tub and I couldn't "Uncheck" fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.4 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#20 of 56 in Oia
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 56 in Oia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoxenia

Property: Ecoxenia
Address: Main street Oia - Baxedes, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#18 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The settlement: 8 traditional island dewellings that can accommodate 1-4 persons, built in a 2.000 m2 garden in tranquil natural surroundings with care for special quests who love nature, sea, privacy, tranquillity and romantic view for honey-mooners. View: From your private balcony you can enjoy the ocean view, Oia's famous sunset and the beauty of Ios, Sikinos and Folegardros islands in its fading line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ecoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoxenia Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing