We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecoxenia
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoyed an outstanding week staying at Ecoxenia. Christopher was an extremely friendly, helpful and informative host. The accommodation was first rate, with a lovely view over the garden to the sea. We enjoyed an invigorating walk up to Oia each day, and from there could use the frequent (often crowded even in May) buses or walk to explore the island. But it was good to stay a little distance outside the town where the only disturbance was the sound of bells on grazing donkeys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
71
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

this trip was awesome and staying at Ecoxenia was a great decision. Christopher (owner) is so helpful and knowledgeable about the area. the apartment I stayed in was so cute and and kept very clean. the gardens onsite are so peaceful and a nice touch to the property. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiolinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had always wanted to go to Santorini and see Oia's sunset and I must admit that staying in Ecoxenia made my perfect stay even better!!! From the very first letter I sent inquiring about reservation till the very last moment all was excellent! I loved the place, the people, the location as well as the beautiful scenery! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and hope that everyone feels as happy as I was there once!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onherway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We cannot begin to say how wonderful our stay was at EcoXenia! Christopher was an amazing host who made sure that we had everything to enjoy our time. The apartment was beautiful and clean with everything we needed and the view of the sea from our balcony was lovely. The grounds were manicured and the hot tub was perfect during the evenings. Although we rented a vehicle to get around (as we stayed during the off-season) there was a bus stop located about 30 m from the house which would be extremely convenient for travel. Despite having a car we regularly walked to Oia which was only 15 min away (about 1 Km). We both are looking forward to visiting again and will absolutely stay at EcoXenia!!! I cannot imagine a better place to stay. Thank you, Christopher!

Room Tip: (I checked off swimming pool but it was actually a hot tub and I couldn't "Uncheck" fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were unsure of visiting Santorini due to the high tourism rate, but a friend who had stayed at Ecoxenia convinced me to book a room there, and I am so glad we did! Ecoxenia is a wonderfully relaxing peaceful oasis and Christopher and his family deserve all the rave reviews they are receiving. It is hard to explain how delightful our experience was--we felt so at home there and the courtesy and generosity extended by Christopher and his family was amazing. The location is perfect--close to all the tourist sites you might want to view, but actually I would recommend Ecoxenia as a relaxing getaway all on it's own. We certainly hope to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

At first, we just wanted to stay in Oia for 6 days, but we stayed 2 days more because we had very good time in Ecoxenia!!! Christopher came to pick us up in Oia bus station when we arrived. (also when we leaved!!!!). He offered us a welcome drink while we check in. At the same time, he also explained everything for the room and what we can do in Oia.
The location of Ecoxenia is not far from the center of Oia (10 mins walk), but you could have a quiet and private place. The room is clean and balcony is big (you can enjoy the most beautiful sunset from your balcony!!!). If you rent a car or motorbike, there is a free parking space for you!!
We were very relaxed in Ecoxenia. Highly recommend to stay here!!
Thank you. Christopher

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ylojarvi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel has amazing view from all room, to the garden and sea. Its very close to Oia, but not close enough for the noise bothering, so its peaceful. The beautiful garden with hammocks is just the spot to relax.
Owner Christopher is really really nice. He helped us with rentals, excursion tickets, laundry and showed us the best places to visit in santorini (including some private beaches you cant find on your own). We felt so wellcomed and didnt have to worry about a thing while staying there. Ï truly recomend this hotel to anyone who visits santorini.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view, so it doesnt matter which you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trintilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.6 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#35 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#38 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Villas
Amoudi Villas
#47 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoxenia

Property: Ecoxenia
Address: Main street Oia - Baxedes, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#18 Family Hotel in Oia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoxenia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The settlement: 8 traditional island dewellings that can accommodate 1-4 persons, built in a 2.000 m2 garden in tranquil natural surroundings with care for special quests who love nature, sea, privacy, tranquillity and romantic view for honey-mooners. View: From your private balcony you can enjoy the ocean view, Oia's famous sunset and the beauty of Ios, Sikinos and Folegardros islands in its fading line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ecoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoxenia Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing