We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, great view but strange taxi arrangements”
Review of Rimida Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rimida Villas
Ranked #10 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in Rimida as a more reasonable option within the available places in Oia. the place was charming, great view and rustic rooms.

Hospitality was good and the pool was very nice.

However, something strange happened when we asked for a taxi to the airport. The hotel staff ordered not a taxi (despite we asked for one) but a minibus shared with other travelers. they did not tell us, and a gentleman took our luggage to the road and waited there with us until a minibus came, I explained I ordered a taxi but the man excused himself saying this was it. We accepted the option as we were pressed to catch a flight. We would have been ok with it despite our reservations about not getting what we asked for, but upon arrival to the Airport we got a surprise, the minibus driver manouvered to charge us before the other customers and did not want us to know what he was charging the others, he asked other people to wait until we left, so we stayed. He had to take the money from the other passengers and obviously there were different rates applied and we (who funny enough were closer to the airport) had to pay more than the rest of the people in the minibus, who were paying a lower amount each. We were significantly upset and asked the driver, who was said he was sorry but excused himself referring to the "hotel mafia", meaning there were different arrangements depending on the Hotel. Obviously Rimida owner and his friend the minibus driver ripped us off.

Rimida Villas lost our trust, set a tourist trap for us and we want to share this information with you. A dissapointing end to an otherwise fair stay.

If you chose to stay there do not let them trick you with the transfers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oiatis, Manager at Rimida Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a joy to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Oia at Rimida Villas and we thank you for your kind words of appreciation.
We are truly sorry to hear about your feelings originated by the whole experience of your airport transfer and would like to spend a few words concerning this matter.
First of all, be informed that a very limited number of official taxi licenses is released on the island of Santorini. Hard to believe, but there are only 40 of them. Natural consequence of this fact is that it is indeed very difficult to find available taxis (in particular in the busy part of the season) and this is the reason for which we and the majority of the hotels resort to transportation companies which do provide the same kind of service, with mini-buses, in a reliable and efficient way.
Please note that we do not have any kind of direct relationship with said companies: we do not invoice you for these services and we have no kind of commercial gain. We just help our guests with the relevant arrangements.
Having said this.... we can not sincerely imagine what kind of responsibility or fault you are ascribing to us. We understand that you feel there has been a disparity in treatment between you and other travelers, and we are sorry for that. It is unclear to us what is the role we are supposed to have played in this. We do trust the transportation company we rely on for these kind of services, but we can not know their commercial strategies relevant to other hotels or travellers and any possible particular arrangement they apply.
Our suggestion, in case you need this situation clarified, is to directly get in touch with the transportation company, the detail of which I will be glad to send you upon request. You can reach us at rimida@otenet.gr.
Please also be informed that we did the same and requested their comments on that rather unpleasant (and unprofessional) sentence issued by their driver.

Sincerely,
Gioula Halari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our third stay at Rimida Villas. The previous two times, in '08 and'10, we were with our son and stayed in June in the two-bedroom cave house. This time, from Oct 10-14, it was my wife and myself for our 28th wedding anniversary, and our son is now in college. We still stayed in the 2BR unit. Not only does it have a little patio area outside the front door, but if you walk up some stairs to the right as you walk out, you will arrive in your own large patio area, with an incredible 180 degree view of the Perivolas cave houses on the left, the beautiful caldera straight ahead, and Oia with the St. George church in the distance to the right. Dimitri will bring your breakfast up there every morning...what a way to start the day!
Rimida Villas is not a luxury hotel. There are only 9 or ten units, there is not restaurant or bar, the furnishings are rather plain but in a traditional Greek way. Thankfully, they have replaced the mattress in the main bedroom in the two BR unit and there is a new refrigerator as well. As mentioned Dimitri will bring your breakfast to your patio. There is a very nice swimming pool as short ways away down the path towards Oia that is shared Strogili Traditional Houses.. There are great views sitting on the lounge chairs at the front of the pool of the caldera. There are also his and her bathrooms at the pool. which is a nice feature.
Rimida Villas is in the very scenic Perivolas area, just outside Oia. It is about a 15 minute walk to the heart of Oia town. One thing: for a short way you have to walk on the road (with traffic) until you reach Oia and the pedestrian path. Make sure you walk facing traffic, and be aware when a bus is coming through, or vehicles are coming in both directions. Just past the pool is a small grocery store that has just about anything you need, including postcards. And I agree with the previous reviewer, Anemomilos restaurant, across the street, is fabulous. It is not on the caldera, but it has a large pleasant courtyard. It is a family operation, with great food at reasonable prices and an excellent house white wine. Spiro, the owner will take good care of you.
I am not sure what the problem was with the October 7 reviewer. As stated before, we've stayed at Rimida three times now and Dimitri has always been kind and helpful to us. To avoid any booking misunderstandings, I recommend e-mailing the manager, Giuola directly at Rimida@Otenet.Gr--she will take care of you. It is best to have her order you a taxi from either the port or the airport. We arrived at the port from Mykonos, and shared a small bus with other travelers--the cost was 25 euros, as was the taxi to the airport. Each ride is 25-35 minutes, so plan accordingly.
Oia and Perivolas are much quieter and low key than the main town of Thira. We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Santorini than the Oia area, and we've throughly enjoyed our stays at Rimida Villas. You will too. Try and come in May or in Sept or October when the crowds are less and so are the prices.

Room Tip: The views from private patio above the two bedroom unit are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiorgosM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've just got back from a week's stay at Rimida villas and will definitely be going back - maybe even next year. We stayed in room 7, which is a studio flat but much bigger than we expected, and the view was beautiful. The location is perfect because it's a few minutes' walk from Oia, and far enough from the main road and tour groups that it was really peaceful. We had a little terrace of our own, which is a much nicer place to watch the sunset than the town. The pool was lovely too, really clean with a great view, and only a minute or two from the accommodation. The owner was friendly and helpful, and provides a fantastic service.
Our only complaint was that we didn't find the bed or pillows all that comfortable and so our sleep was disturbed a bit. But that won't stop us from going back, because we loved everything else about this place.
A tip: the nearest restaurant is on the main road near the villas - it's called Anemomilos - we went here on our first night as we got in late and just wanted something quick, but we ended up going back three times for lunch and dinner. Great food, friendly service and really good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneB378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have booked 2 rooms thru booking.com. 1 was apartment and 2nd was studio. And the room no's were 3 & 5. The location from here is not the best ones. And apartment was nicer than studio. So we requested The only one man Staff Dimitris to change the studio to apartment obviously at the higher price. And then the horrible hospitality starts. He started his conversation that if I wanted to cancel my booking, which was non refundable and after i talked to booking.com people, he got convienced to give the other room. For which earlier he was saying there is no room available. Which almost wasted our 1 hour and ruined our beautiful santorini trip. From the hotel side there were no effort and intention to make guest happy and comfortable. Throughout the day he was very frustrated and was moving around our villas. So to calm him down I (guest) went to talk to him but it was waste as throughout the stay so arrogant and mean. Next bad things is breakfast. We were vegetarian and we told him in advance about that but we got 1 glass orange juice, few breads and butter. And asking for one more glass of juice to 2 year small kid He said no and said at the price you booked the rooms thru booing.com consider the breakfast as free.. He was the only one doing everything in the hotel...So very poor service and internet works only in front of reception (in open). Never the less view was awesome and apartment no 2 was excellent. Can stay at this hotel provided there is no "Dimitris The terrible" service

Room Tip: So avoid room 3,4, & 5. Room 6 & 7 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is extremely well located. Just 10 minutes walking from Oia Town, you go walking by a pedestrian road with a great view of the Caldera. You have 10 minutes until you arrive to the restaurant area but the way is super nice.
You also have a bus stop in the main road (1 block from the hotel) and the bus goes every 20 minutes to Fira and from there you connect with different buses to the different places (Akrotiri, Kamari, Port, Airport)

The hotel is nice, it is not a 5 star property but we knew that so we were not surprised. The room was very clean, with a lot of details considered. We went to room #1, which is a cavern room. The room itself has not any kind of view but in the front door you have a dinning area with an open view of the Caldera and Sunset. We were 5 days and we enjoyed the sunset from there every day... Just magic!
The only negative point was the room temperature, the room is hot it has a A/C but it was not sufficient.

The Hotel welcome us with a Bottle of wine so we enjoyed our first sunset with a glass of wine :)

The hotel has a pool which is in other property (1 block away). It was clean, it is big enough and with an open view of the Caldera.

Based on our experience, we would definitely came back to Santorini and to Rimida. It was a great experience. The stadd (Dimitri) was very kind, he invited us every afternoon with something to drink. He also recommended where to go and how to move in the Island.

Everybody recommended us to rent a car or a moto, but we didn't want to drive (streets are very narrow, and there are big buses everywhere), we just decided to move with public transportation and it was perfect!

Thank you Rimida for everything! We will be back...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very thing was perfect, except Internet can only access in front of the reception room, not so convenient sometimes.

Room Tip: Internet can only access in front of the reception room, not so convenient sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QYZhang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oiatis, Manager at Rimida Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your feedback sent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Well, first of all, Santorini ranks right up there with Poisitano and Colouire as a great beach town. Rimida Villas is the perfect place to stay. You are on the one side of town so it is easy to walk from the Villa all the way through Oia. Use the shuttle service even though it seems pricey at €25. It saves a lot of hassle especially for late arrivals like us. We seemed to be dropped off in a nondescript neighborhood when the Rimida owner appeared out of nowhere, grabbed our two (carry on size) bags and took off. A short walk on the path and our breath was taken away by the magical white buildings dropping off into the darkness. The room #7 was a traditional cave room and great for two people. It is even better than it looks on the web site. There was a bottle of white wine waiting for us. The owner was friendly, helpful and gracious and the room comfortable. Great pool on the property if you are feeling just too lazy to drag yourself to the beach. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oiatis, Manager at Rimida Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Guest,We feel so happy for your lovely words and we thank you from the deepest of our heart.Hope to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.1 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elysian Santorini
Elysian Santorini
#9 of 73 in Oia
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marizan Caves & Villas
0.9 mi away
Esperas
Esperas
#1 of 34 in Oia
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimida Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimida Villas

Address: Perivolas, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $241 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimida Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rimida Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimida Villas Hotel Oia
Rimida Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing