We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to Heaven”
Review of Nostos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nostos Apartments
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stairway to Heaven”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife & I spent a week in this apartment complex a few weeks ago. The apartments are well spaced out, each with their own balcony with stunning sea views. They are spacious & nicely fitted out with all the facilities one might expect. The complex has a small pool, again with delightful views over the caldera - a great spot to cool down & unwind after a busy day touristing. The staff are friendly & very helpful indeed. And this would be a definite 5-star review were it not for the huge number of steps down from the street to the complex - no less than 119 of them! This is not the place to forget your car keys (as I did!) because in the heat of the day a return trip to the apartment is a serious physical challenge unless you are an Olympic athlete. But if you are organised and don't need to come & go too often, this place is definitely heavenly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    48
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
25
266
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you want to sleep in a posh whitewashed cave and wake up to one of he best views on the planet from your private patio before a wonderful breakfast overlooking the sea and a volcano then this the place for you. Ok there are some steps to get to the place but you don't have to carry your own bags! The proprietors are extremely helpful and friendly and it is lovely to be able to jump in the pool every now and then to cool down. The place is kept immaculately clean with fresh towels every day. The only thing I would recommend is a bigger kettle and cups but I like a big mug of tea. At the top of the steps is a small food shop and there are 3 or 4 others in Oia. Buying a few bottles of wine to drink on your own patio is much cheaper than having a drink out on someone else's!
If you can't be romantic here then there's something wrong with you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bottom near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

A truly magical stay for me and my husband. Location was perfect, quiet and less overlooked than many properties further into Oia - there really is a feeling of calm and serenity. Yes there are steps, but they are not unmanageable and the position and views are so worth it. Our apartment room was just beautiful and unique, a true cave (many in Oia aren't). We had the pleasure of staying in two rooms (as we left to visit a smaller island in between) and both were just as stunning as each other, but each had it's own features and character. For privacy, the second room we had (which was at the lowest level of nostos) and had a large private terrace was our favourite!

Staff were amazing, pool and views were truly breathtaking and breakfast was delicious!

Great value for money too, as Oia can be so expensive!

Only slight concern is the leaky aircon, which leaks onto the balcony (although this was merely an inconvenience rather than a real complaint!)

Would I recommend it to a friend? Of course! And when we come back to Santorini, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzimalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved our trip to Oia, and had an outstanding time at Nostos. Everyone was so nice, Mirela made us fresh squeezed orange juice every morning and was so sweet. It was one of my favorite parts of our trip to GREECE. The pool overlooking the water was so fabulous. It is a lot of flights down to get to NOSTOS, but it was worth it and it was really cool to be the last set of properties on the hill. It overlooked a little bay-Called There is a cute little grocery store right at the top where we were able to get everything we needed. It was wonderful to be right in OIA, footsteps away from the spectacular sunset! Below was a little bay(not Amoudi, but Amari-I think) Very cute. I have to eat gluten free so it was wonderful to have the kitchen! Please make it a point to visit this lovely place!

Room Tip: We had the lowest room-it felt so private and wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlougirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Santorini is probably on every bucket list in existence. And for good reason. But that makes for a very busy island with little chance to withstand the negatives which go with the arrival of crowds. Oia is the quietest of the towns and the Nostos Apartments Oia which tumble 100 steps down the cliff face are a paradise on this busy little island.
The rooms are cool, simple and elegant. The pool is a haven and the privacy is perfect. Service is exceptional. A great stay. Thank you.
Maggie and Trevor Joyce

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Let's be honest, what you pay here (and you don't pay little) is the exceptional view you get, especially from the swimming pool. The location is also very good, the hotel being on the main road in Oia. Takis, the manager, is a professional with a human touch. Instead, my room was really below the standard you would expect from such an expensive hotel: very basic furniture, old and noisy fridge, old air-conditioning, small bathroom with a very small WC. Like in many other hotels in the Cyclades breakfast is far too 'international', with hardly any greek touch. A serious effort to improve all this should really be done.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aleh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful and quiet; yes it is over 100 steps down from the shopping area but this is worth the walk. Fantastic uninterrupted views of the Caldera. Rooms simply but comfortably decorated and a host who ensures your comfort. Worth every euro, especially when you have had a week sailing a yacht beforehand and heaven is a decent shower and a non- heaving bed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#29 of 56 in Oia
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Apartments

Property: Nostos Apartments
Address: Oia village, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Family Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nostos Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small settlement located in OIA on the Santorini Island,consist of 8 units for 2 till 5 persons, reception, bar and pool facilities. Settlement is situated on the edge of the Volcano crater, overlooking the see and islets around. Each unit is fully equipped and can work as an independent bungalow (fully equipped kitchen, terrace etc.) Cave-like looking apartments, just 3-5 minutes walking distance from the center of the village and shopping center, but on the really calm area... relaxing and romantic atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nostos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nostos Apartments Oia
Nostos Apartments Hotel Oia
Nostos Apartments Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing