We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of the Caldera”
Review of Residence Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Suites
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We originally booked the Best Western Hotel in Oia. They overbooked us and we ended up in this Residence Suits. We got a jacuzzi facing the caldera. The honeymoon suite. Everything was great

The only complaint I have is that the wireless internet was good only for my iPad. I could not connect my apple laptop. Also, wireless was only available in the public area, not in the bedroom itself.

We stayed there 3 nights in May 2012.

The view was unbelievable, from inside the jacuzzi.

: - )

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 361 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Where to start to speak about this place? The location is astonishing. Right down on the cliffs, cave rooms, whiter than white, the view on the blue greek sea, the sound is the sea breeze only (meltemi wind isnt strong in this side of the village) and you are surrounded by the quiet caldera, the panoramic view of Firà and Imerovigli on the top of the cliffs in the distance and tens of small beautiful cats. Outside, few steps and you are on the kastro of Oia (the Venetian Fort) where you'll see one of the most beautiful sunset of your life. Our accommodation was a 5people room with a small kitchen (great plus in a place where a dinner could cost you more than you could ever imagine) and a living room, right in front of a small terrace/solarium facing the sea from above. The beds are soft and comfortable, the kitchen, small but well equipped. The bathroom is small and the shower hasn't a proper basement so perhaps plan to have a little tsunami in your bathroom, it depends on how carefully you wash yourself..that could be one of the very few stains but whatever, if you are looking for 5stars luxury perfection, the island has plenty of 1000€ per night accommodations.. Hotel rooms arent all on the same building.. they are just old and new cave houses up and down the "main" area, all linked by small stone stairs. The common area has two lovely pools (both jacuzzi), a solarium and a terrace where to have a very hearty breakfast (ham and cheese, feta cheese, tomato and onion salad, omelettes, bacon, fried eggs, cereals, yogourt, honey, fruit salad, olives, orange juice, fruits and bread/butter/jam.. and maybe more) served from early in the morning to almost 1pm!!! the staff is amazing, elvis and elena are there to please and satisfy every need always with lot of kindness and quickness. At the beginning of your holiday, you need to be informed that the hotel checkout is at 12 am thats why if your flight lands on the island early in the morning, unpleasantly you have to wait till that time to get into your room. During the wait, your bags will be stored in the village tourist office (where you'll have to check in too) and watched by the ladies who work there. Also the staff there is capable and kind and besides, they will give you all the info about excursions, car and quad rental and bus timetables. Now i stop writing, try it yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed in residence suites for 5 days - and had an amazing stay there. Elena is making a huge difference by being extremely service-minded and helpful even before we even arrived. She booked the arrival transfer from the airport which was great. Cave rooms are stylish and clean, and the breakfast was very tasty. We had a really nice time at residence suites , I recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was our first introduction to Greece on a two-week multi-island adventure. The hotel staff greeted us with enthusiasm and friendliness - always available to answer questions / requests. The folks here are some of the friendliess I've encountered while travelling. There was a bottle of white wine waiting for us in the room upon arrival, which was a really nice touch. The facilities themselves are quite nice - clean and well maintained, but you do have to be prepared to use the wet-room style european bathrooms. The pool (small dunk pool for cooling off when it's hot) wasn't in operation while we were there in April, but it was too cold for it anyway (only about 17-20 degrees). The hotel is also located conveniently if you want to watch the sunsets at the far tip of Oia. We didn't want to leave this place, or Oia in general. If you're trying to decide whether to stay in Fira or Oia on the northern section of the island, stay at the Residence Suites in Oia - you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triple_Eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The views, the tranquility, the very tasty breakfasts, the infinit courtesy of our host and the genuine hospitality of the staff working there made our 5 days stay unforgettable at Residence Suites.
As the name says, they are residences not hotel rooms. Do not expect the classic square hotel room that you can find allover the world! We had been shown 2 rooms to pick from. The one we decided to take was further down the steps (more privacy and better views - we didn't mind atall the hike down as the steps helped us burn all the goodies we couldn't stop orderíng and eating for diner....ohhhh... greek cuisine!!!!).
We had a smaller bathroom than the other room had but we found it cute and once you understand that these are caves you actually start to appreciate every square centimetre and wonder how they have manged to use the space to create the necessary comfort. Every cave house is unique, tastefully decorated, with balconies/terasses and sun lounges. The hotel was full in july and we had the pleasure to meet other guests in the evenings, by the reception's terasse, enjoying the breeze of the evening with a glass of Greek white wine and candle light. Great atmosphere! Memorable stay!
Everyone was talking about about how great the treatments and the massages at the Spa belonging to the group were.
We will be back this is year and we will make sure we will not miss that experience!
See you soon :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom get more privacy and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights in April. The best bits-
The staff were very friendly and very kindly took care of everything we needed. They also provided us with a very good daily breakfast of delicious Greek yoghurt and honey, fruit, salads, breads, cheeses, hams, cereals and even cooked me fried/boiled eggs upon request.
The hotel was very close to all the restaurants and shops so we did not need to walk more than a stones throw to get around which made everything very relaxed and convenient.
The room was very, very clean with gorgeous, soft bedding/sheets. It was quiet and calm and comfortable (as long as you use the huge blankets in the cupboards because it can get icy cold in the night).

The bad bits- There was a completely out of use, empty pool (if you could call it that- its more of a dunk pool) but it was out of action which really frustrated me as one of the main reasons I chose the hotel was for the pool overlooking the amazing view which it showed in the website photos.
The water in the showers was not always warm- you have to heat it up and this would take ages.
The shower is the loo. It is basically a shower head over a loo in a little dark area.

Otherwise it was extremely pretty and relaxing. The views are spectacular from the terrace. Nice place if you want to go and stay in a quiet, clean cave with amazing views and a nice group of staff to look after you if you need. ALSO beware of the low door frames which whacked my parter into oblivion and sprayed us all with blood. (Although- the staff were very helpful looking after him)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The breakfast was great and so was the handyman. However, our room smelled like raw sewage for the duration of our stay. Hot tub was luke warm. When I asked the concierge to book my friend and I on a hot springs/volcano tour she said that there wasn't any but upon further personal investigation I found one. Also the wi-fi was so poor we had to hover over the hot tub to get any bars. There are a lot of hotels to stay in and I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bal266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceResorts, Director of Sales at Residence Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay with us, and we appreciate your comment for our breakfast and our personnel.
Concerning the smell, we have looked the details of your reservation during your short stay with us and you never mentioned your dissatisfaction, if you had we would have been happy to help and take immediate action. We do everything possible to ensure the customers are happy with their room, if this means changing rooms, we are more than willing to oblige, as repairs and works were done by the Oia Community in certain areas and there might be a smell from the drains from the main draining system of Oia. We are extremely sorry to find that you did not appreciate some of our facilities like the outdoor jacuzzi, however it was functioning properly, although the weather was pretty cold and the temperature low and as the Jacuzzi is exterior, water temperature was definitely effected. The Wi-Fi connection is available at the Reception Area, the Main Terrace Area and the Breakfast Area. Rarely it happens to have a weak signal due to the bad weather conditions or the electricity irregularities. Free Cable Internet is available in all our rooms. The Volcano Excursion was not active during the winter season, and it just started from a specific boat company in fira town. Unfortunately, we weren’t informed for the re-opening of the Season Activities in time since the new updated information came by fax the next day to our Department.
We truly hope that you will visit this amazing part of the world again, and looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest at Residence Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#46 of 56 in Oia
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
3.8 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Suites

Address: Oia Main Street | Santorini, Greece, Europe, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $74 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the cliff, in the heart of Oia village surrounded by charming blue domed churches, in an exclusive residential neighborhood of private homes. An exclusive collection of individually decorated apartments designed with luxury and comfort using art and a blend of traditional and modern architecture. Modern Greek decor bringing you maximum peace and tranquility with it's clean lines and original contemporary art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Oia
Residence Suites Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing