We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava Oia, a romantic dream”
Review of Lava Oia's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lava Oia's
Ranked #25 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hard to imagine a more romantic place, with a view of the caldera and the Aegean sea from our terrace, in fact, right from our bed. Our hostess, Pipitsa, was warm and welcoming with many ideas of how to explore her beloved island. We wandered through the nearby shops and ate at Skala with her recommendations. Coffee on the terrace with a continental breakfast, clean and fresh accommodations, comfortable bed, we won't want to leave!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prairiegirl031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sounds ridiculous, but we stayed with Pipitsa in 1997 and have been dreaming of returning ever since. Just finding this listing and seeing photos that are virtual copies of my own have made us homesick. The rooms were clean and spacious with a view that cannot be captured in photos. Morning on the balcony is my "happy place." GO GO GO

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

expensive sure,but when you sit in the balcony and u have the best view of he world in front of u, why the heck no....
breathtaking, just amazing!! the room is fantastic too,in he mountain,so thats cool too!!!
u only gonna visit santorini one time, so why not enjoy it the king style....
go and enjoy it!!! oh yes!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank mendpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a week's stay in Oia, Santorini, staying at Lava Oia's. Pepitsa is a wonderful proprietress, making us feel very "at home" -- talk about a room with a view! Wow! The beautiful Aegean sea at our doorstep, we had requested breakfast every morning on our verandah, delicious. We felt very spoiled by this wonderful lady. The cave house is roomy and decorated with taste, a perfect setting for Santorini. It was toward the end of the season, so all was very quiet for us, just what we ordered. I would highly recommend Lava Oia's to one and all for a special visit to a magical island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flame505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had the standrad studio which is the cheapest room in this hotel. (the photo on the top of page)

GOOD:
1. Big studio(at least 25m2) , very comfort and cozy, warm/simply decoration. Very clean.

2. Small hidding covered veranda(which safe you out from all the torists's photos and you can enjoy the big blue view like at home!) Only in this type of studio.

3.WIFI works as well even in the down stairs appartement(where we were). As Santorin was our first step of our trip in greece islands, to get connection of internet was quite important for us to preparer the next steps(boat, hotels etc.) we've choice this hotel also because of the internet service and it was very good.

4. The kind owner very nice lady. Always disponible.

But...
1. There seems a new luxe hotel recently open(maybe date in this year) just down stair of our door, so the staffs run infront of us. They are quite descreet, but run just infront of us all the time. Hotel(160 THEA)'s reception next door of our studio, sometimes the customer speaks loudly. It was O.K. but we're not as alone as the others reviews had mentioned.

2. Shower room no shower cautain.

3. I'd like to sleep in a "real cave house" but the one we takes was not really. If you want a cave house take "honeymoon studio" or the"yellow house" or the 4per apprtement.
However for the nice veranda I don't regret my choice. Maybe next time I'll take another room for the cliff houses view(from our veranda we only see the big blue ,the volcan and the staffs of 160thea)

Finally:
We booked for 2 nights finaly stayed for 4 nights.

Thanks the nice lady who takecare of us. I'd like to have more time to talk with her about the architecture, about Santorin, France and the wine...But time for holiday is always not enough...

The white wine she send us was the best wine we had in Greece.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barque_verte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Villa Oia in August, 2012. Ms. Petridou is a fantastic host. She will happily assist you in everything to make your experience in Oia unforgettable from car rental to giving directions to places of interest. She even bought a fresh fish for us in Fira, provided us with spices , olive oil and fresh vegetables for cooking. It was very pleasant to sit with her at the terrace and talk about traveling, architecture and... cats! She adores them. The location, the houses, the terrace with a caldera view are amazing. We were made to feel so very welcome and would definitely recommend this place to our friends.
Alena&Sergey,
Russia

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoyaDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Lava in July and loved every minute. Panagotia is the owner/ manager and goes out of her way to make your stay at Lava and more broadly on the island as memorable as possible. She printed off bus timetables, arranged a 4 wheeler for us, taxis to/ from airport and suggested places for us to see and eat at. Our experience wouldn't have been the same if it wasn't for her!

The view from the room was truly amazing and the cave rooms were really comfortable and clean.

Do yourself a favour and stay here! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScorpioMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Delfini
Delfini
#10 of 74 in Oia
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dream
The Dream
#46 of 74 in Oia
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santorini Paradise
Santorini Paradise
#32 of 74 in Oia
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maryloujohn Villas
Maryloujohn Villas
#59 of 74 in Oia
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Cave Houses
Angel Cave Houses
#28 of 74 in Oia
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambelia Traditional Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Oia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Oia's

Address: Ai-Giorgis, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $199 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lava Oia's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Oia`s Hotel Oia
Lava Oia's Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing