We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cave Suite in Ideal Location!”
Review of Delfini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delfini
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Cave Suite in Ideal Location!”
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Highlights

-Excellent hospitality; carried bags to room

-Location is ideal. The way to great restaurants is through marble streets. It feels so VIP!

-The jacuzzi cave suite was what I had always imagined for a honeymoon. It felt very private. At night, we could look at the bright stars from our jacuzzi.

-The view from the balcony and even the bedroom was magnificent.

-The excursion that was booked for us was great.

-There was wine and fruit in the room upon our arrival.

  • Liked — Romantic
  • Disliked — Jacuzzi was broken the first two nights, but we were able to have a discount.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    82
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
61
353
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed @ Delfini for 3 nights. We had a room with a balcony and a beautiful view. Nice place, nice people, reasonable prices, recommend

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prostovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The Delfini has to be my favorite hotel that we stayed at in Greece. Which is pretty high praise because we stayed at so many great places! The hotel is a great value, the view from the balcony is incredible, and the hotel is fairly inexpensive compared to similar properties. We stayed for two nights in a caldera view room. The room is a little small, and the bathroom is even smaller (it is Europe though!), but it had nice touches, fresh flowers, water in the minfridge, a lantern on the balcony. We spent most of our time in the room out on the balcony anyway! The hotel is in a great location, we loved Oia (we want to come back and spend a whole tirp in Oia next time!) You can walk to the far end of Oia for shopping and the sunset in a few minuites. Rena was very helpful and always around! If we ever needed anything, she was always right there! On a side note, theres an excellent bakery/cafe (I cant remember the name) not far from the Delfini. It was so good that I got Baklava and my wife got a chocolate tort everyday!

I would reccomend this hotel if you want a great view, clean and comfortable room thats not super-expensive

  • Liked — The caldera view, and Rena's helpfulness
  • Disliked — The shower was really tiny with no curtain
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncjibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Delfini Villas in May 2008 for our honeymoon. First of all, if you are trying to decide whether to stay in Oia or Fira - definitely stay in Oia, trust me you won't be disappointed!!
We were greeted by Rena when we arrived and a guy takes your bags to your room. Rena said she upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite at no extra charge and we were thrilled! The Honeymoon suite comes with a kitchenette, indoor sauna and outdoor hottub which they fill fresh for you on arrival and heat to 40 degrees. Our room was huge and we were welcomed with a fresh fruit plate and a bottle of wine. The view is just incredible - you can't even describe it.
The hotel is right across the street from the rent a car place and the bus stop, a supermarket and a bakery.
The only downside to the hotel was their breakfast. It's 10 euros per person and it consists of a croissant, a bun and a coffee (ripoff)!! LOL
Overall we loved this hotel and are planning on going back for our 25th anniversary.

  • Liked — The view from our terrace
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We had an excellent stay at Delfini Villas. I research Oia quite a bit as the prices are so high, but Delfini was indeed a good value. The views were amazing and the location was very convenient. We stayed in the studio and our only minor frustration over the 4 nights was the the shower nozzle did not have a stand so you had to hold it while you washed your hair, (but at least you could open the window and look out at the ocean while doing so!) The bathroom could use a renovation, but its rustic charm fit in so well with the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank perrynowpluchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My wife and I recently visited Oia in Santorini for 5 days and wanted to stay longer. Upon arrival (Rena) had arranged a transfer from the port and when we arrived at the hotel she was there to greet us. Our bags were quickly taken to the hotel room and she provided a brief explanation of where things are and how to get around. Our room (the traditional cave house) was everything we expected (clean, roomy, comfortable). The location of the hotel is perfect having quick access to public transportation, close proximity to a small market and also a bakery not to mention the town itself.

Rena and Sima were wonderful hosts. They addressed every need that we had and took care of us with the warmth of friendship during our visit.

The sunsets in Santorini are among the best we have seen during our quest to see the world. During our next visit to Santorini we will be staying in Oia and no where else but the Delfini hotel.

  • Liked — The room was the best value for the price paid
  • Disliked — Not close enough to the beach
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rgb0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

What can I say, it met all our expectations. We spent a lot of time researching hotels in Santorini and Delfini turned out to be the best choice. Rena the hostess is an absolute star. Right from the very first enquiry email to the time we had our bags carried to the bus stop she made sure all of our needs were taken care of and she is so cheerful. We stayed in a Cave Suite which had its own jacuzzi. The Cave Suits seem to keep quite cool somehow even when its very hot outside. Very happy with the facilities, staff and the view was amazing. There is a bakery & supermarket very close by and the bus stop is only a short walk. Coming from NZ and the exchange rate being pretty poor for us this would have been the most we have ever paid for a hotel but it was definately worth the money. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I hope to get a chance to go back some time. We stayed at the end of May and I think this is perfect weather for Santorini. Its still a little too cold to swim but just getting around is still pleasant. It was about 27-30 degrees celsius.

Kiwi's from Auckland.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini

Property: Delfini
Address: Lower main traffic street | opposite Piraeus Bank, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delfini 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfini Hotel Oia
Delfini Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing