We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Delfini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delfini
Ranked #12 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I loved Delfini. Fruit and wine awaiting us was a very nice touch. The view of the caldera and the rooftops below was magical. We usually don't hang out in hot tubs much, but it was irresistible to sit in the hot tub on the balcony and watch the ships in the shimmering water. Our room was fairly small but really lovely, clean, and well appointed.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms have a balcony overlooking the harbor and caldera - you might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent a week here in June for our son's wedding and it was very enjoyable. Magnificent view in daytime and very pretty at night with the lights on the cliffside. Brakfast was excellent with great Greek yoghurt with fruit and pastries. Basic kitchen facilities, good shower room and very acceptable lounge and bedroom. There were a lot of steps down to our cavehouse which was OK for us but could be a problem for some. There was a small pool, pleasant and OK for a cooling dip but not big enough for real swimming

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheepdogGreenValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were lucky, as we got a cave house in block B (nice bathroom kitchen, nice bedroom with a nice bed and a living area), just next to a small but nice and absolutely spotless swimming pool where there are never more than 2 people :)
And the view is... well, you have to see it.
Having your breakfast served outside your own balcony while watching the caldera and santorini's colors is amazing.
Sima, the lady who manages block B is as nice as efficient.
I strongly recommend this beautiful hotel in one of the most beautiful spots of the Island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is really in the best location in Santorini. The hotel is on a cliff overlooking the caldera, so the view out of our balcony was breathtaking! The hotel is right on the main walking road in Oia, so it was easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants. We had originally booked a cave house, but when we arrived, they told us they had upgraded us to a room with a private balcony with a jacuzzi. I never saw the cave houses, so I'm not sure what the difference was. The room was comfortable and clean, although the decor was a little outdated. We did find a few little sugar ants running around. The two best parts of this hotel were the lady that runs the hotel and the balcony in our room. The lady that ran the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful during our stay! She had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. You can tell she takes pride in providing great service. The private balcony in our room really had the best view possible of the caldera. The balcony had a little jacuzzi for two, which was wonderful to relax in. Also, breakfast was served every day on our balcony, so it was wonderful to have a little private breakfast with the amazing view. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Oia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, in a prime location and all around excellent service!! Every morning you are served a gorgeous breakfast (figs, oj, coffee, tea, eggs, pastry) right on your balcony and it's included in the hotel price!! The pool is excellent and is always quiet which is nice. The other and important part of the hotel is the staff, everyone is so friendly and the owner is a doll; they give you some amazing suggestions on thing to do and will provide you with a map. All in all a fabulous place to stay, we will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Delfini Villas and chose it based on the good reviews on trip advisor. However it did not live up to our expectations.
We stayed in a cave house with outdoor jacuzzi (which we never used as we were not sure how often it was cleaned). The room was good size and came with a complete small kitchen where you could cook your own meals. Wifi was only good right by the entrance or on the veranda. The room was also just a few stairs above the swimming pool and had a decent size veranda with beautiful caldera views. The decor inside the rooms was somewhat old fashioned (recommend to check the pics on the hotel website prior to booking). Being in a cave room meant it was nicely cool in the summer, however it was also a bit dark, especially in the bedroom and bathroom. The bed had some unnecessary curtains atop of it and the wool blanket was horrible, so we never used it. The bathroom was also cave style but ventilation was poor. The shower leaked water so the floor got wet every time we took a shower. The towels seemed a bit old and not particularly clean. They provide beach towels at the swimming pool which were also not particularly clean and some even had yellow stains.
The swimming pool was quite small and had a jacuzzi function. Sometimes it would get a bit crowded around the pool so we stayed at the veranda of our room after swimming. Also my husband got a rash on his skin after swimming there, which has never happened before.
Location of Delfini Villas was very good and central, the views were stunning and beautiful from the room veranda and the swimming pool. It has a supermarket and bus stop opposite of it and it is only a c.5-10min walk to the city center and the sunset viewing spot. Opposite of Delfini you can book boat tours and rent cars. Its noteworthy that the reception was not in the same complex where we stayed but a bit further down the road, so for check in and check out you need to go there. Breakfast was basic with some bread, fresh orange juice, boiled eggs and yoghurt with fruits. Overall would rate Delfini only average, the location was very convenient, but staying there made us felt a bit crowded and it was not a particular clean place. Would not recommend this place. There are other hotels with much better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunice_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this amazing find last year 2012...for about 5 days. LOVED it!! Amazing caldera views are a given from this vangage point but the hospitality is amazing, Sema was amazing, best breakfast...great hospitality....when someone was hammering out a patio nearby she offered us sailing...I woud be back in a flash and stay here again and again...great way to wind up a adventure holiday. Please dont tell too many people....;)

Room Tip: Pick the place near the pool....ask Sema for resturant reccomendations....have a blast...and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erdocsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.5 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.1 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini

Address: Lower main traffic street | opposite Piraeus Bank, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range: $185 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delfini 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfini Hotel Oia
Delfini Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing