We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delfini villas - Exclusive room - amazing vacation”
Review of Delfini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delfini
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delfini villas - Exclusive room - amazing vacation”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Delfini for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Exclusive room in complex A. We visited in early May 2012 (the start of their season), and can't say enough about the place. The room was perfect (so cute!) and the views from the balcony were incredible. We had breakfast delivered to our room each morning and enjoyed it on our balcony. The view really is breathtaking. the hot tub was perfect (not too hot) since it's so warm there - perfect for just two people. We really loved the staff (Rema, Sima, and John) - they were always around and poked their head out each time we came and went. We came home one night while Rema was "turning down" the bed and she stayed to chat for a little bit... taught us some greek! Sima is adorable... so sweet. She showed us to the pool one afternoon (just my husband and I were there -- they had just opened it) and Sima took the time to show us the other complex with a peek at the cave houses (for our next stay hopefully someday). John was great to help us with our bags and gave us a run down of the island when we arrived. John also took care of renting a car for us one day. The were maps in the room and ideas for "excursions" and a laptop to use. I cant say enough about Delfini and the staff. Rema, Sima, and John all walked us down to our shuttle bus when we were leaving too and waited with us to say good bye -- i felt more like i was leaving family when we left. Would HIGHLY recommend. The location is perfect!!! walking distance to restaurants and sunset.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shania55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    81
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
61
349
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a 3 day, 2 night stay at Delfini. We were originally booked in the Junior Suite, but upgraded to what i term the honeymoon suite. Spectacular. Rema, Sima, John were all so helpful and the place was awesome. Bear in mind that I travel a tonne for work, so I do not give praises lightly!! The bed was massive, the lounge area very stylish, with two tellys, which we did not use :-), and of course the balcony and hot tub. Sadly, the weather did not cooperate all that much, so the hot tub was not used all that much. But the views from every corner were just priceless. We tried the Greek and Continental breakfast on alternate days, and i think my partner preferred the Greek to the Continental, which did not come with all the extra add-ons, but once we asked for them, they were added.

Also, our flight left late last night, and so we requested a late check-out which was granted without so much as a blink of an eye!.

There was a CD playing when we arrived, and it was pretty much on rotation, during our stay...and now one of the songs is constantly stuck in my head!

Oia, to me is the place to be in Santorini. Not too crowded, and great people and views. The >215 steps to Amoudi were not that bad, and the fish we had at one of the restuarants (on the left of the stairs) was of good quality, though expensive.

All in all, this was a perfect trip, and we did not want to leave. For sure, i know we will be back, and i will be staying at the Delfini. Right now, i am planning on booking it for my parents and sister!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooseNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I had a 2 night stay at Delfini. We traveled all day from the US and checked in, early afternoon. We were warmly welcomed by Sima and John as if we were showing up at their home.
The room was perfect, very clean and spacious, and the view is really indescribable of the Caldera. Oia is a perfect spot if you are looking for great food, and cafe's and shopping without all the crowds. It's very low key and watching the sunset is an event in Oia every day. We had just such a wonderful time, we really didn't want to leave. I would recommend the Delfini to anyone, Sima was extremely helpful and accomodating.
Breakfast was very nice, and we couldn't have been happier. When we did have to leave it was like saying bye to our family. We will find a way at some point to get back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasongur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I cannot give Delfini high enough reviews. The rooms or cave houses are clean have beautiful views over the Caldera. My wife and I first went in 2009 for our honeymoon and when we returned last Summer Rena remembered us. She is incredibly helpful, meeting us at the taxi drop off and excourting us to our rooms. If you go to Santorini, you need to stay in Oia (pronounced Ia). If you go to Oia, you need to stay here. I can't wait until we can go back.

En mon avis, c'est le meilleur logement sur l'île. J'ai visité Delfini pour le premier fois en 2009 et quand j'ai retourné in 2011, Rena (la hôtesse) a me souvenu. Si vous aller a Saturnin, vous devez aller a Oia et si vous aller a Oia, vous devrez rester Chez Delfini.

Room Tip: As for a cave house with a Caldera view, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERAM919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a such a great place to stay! My partner had a private traditional cave studio which was lovely. The view from our personal balcony over the caldera was amazing! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

In 2009 we stayed for a week in one of Delfini's charming "cave house" suites (complex C - 130eu a night), with a balcony, modest kitchen, large living/dining room, and separate large bedroom. We cooked at 'home' a couple of nights, and ate breakfast on the balcony most mornings. The view over the caldera during the day (especially at breakfast) was astonishing, and at night the swallows chirped and soared around us, catching their dinner. We were there in April, so the famed sunsets were better seen from nearby Fira (a quick bus ride away), but we had NO complaints about our fantastic lcoation. Oia is charming, quiet, and, although it of course caters to tourists, it's FAR less hideously commercial than Fira, with actual families living in homes alongside the hotels and going about their business. A local bakery and many other nearby 'neighborhood' stores and restaurants allow you to get a little bit of a feel for the local community. Delfini is located in a great spot just outside the main street, and steps from the bus stop that services the rest of Santorini - but it's perched on the cliffside, down a charming winding path, so once you're 'home' it's nothing but peace and quiet and the Aegean. Rena and the staff took excellent care of us - sent a pre-paid cab to collect us from the port when we arrived, carried our luggage down to the house (and back, when we left), and personally walked us around the main area to acquaint us with the town and get our bearings. During our stay, we frequently went to the main offices to ask for advice or assistance in scheduling activites, and Rena was always more than helpful. When we go back to Santorini (and we definitely will!) we will be back at Delfini as well!

Room Tip: Upper rooms don't have hot tubs... but who cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Delfini Villas in May 2011. Booked it after the numerous lovely reviews it had from Tripadvisors (thankyou!). We werent sorry at all. Rina and Sima are indeed as wonderful as everyone makes them out to be. The rooms are gorgeous and we got upgraded for 2 nights! The views of teh caldera are to die for. The bakery almost at Delfii's doorsteps is amzing. I lived on their apple croissants all the 5 days that we were there. At the roms, the hotplates and crockery are quite adequate for cooking a meal at home on the nights that you dont wan to eat out.
OIa is indeed all that is written about and more. It has to be seen to be experienced. We saw the sunset every evening and soon kew all the tiny lanes well. We went by the local bus to Fira and on one day rented a car and did all the other pats of the island. However in our opinion, Oia is the only place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sujlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini

Property: Delfini
Address: Lower main traffic street | opposite Piraeus Bank, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delfini 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfini Hotel Oia
Delfini Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing