We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyriakos & Salim, simple the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Kyriakos is the perfect person to help you and give you all the informations, Salim provides the best service with simpathy, kindness and good humor too. The terraces provide us privilage views of the sunset, the pool, 2 min distance, its perfect to stay and watch also the sunset. I only think that the breakfast coold be better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tifilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 247 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at the Golden Sunset Villa from 23rd May to 26th May having booked directly with the hotel. We selected the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and I can tell you that we were not disappointed. We had booked the studio apartment for the two of us but when we checked in we were allotted the traditional windmill to stay in. The windmill consists of the kitchen and sitting room on the ground floor, bedroom and bathroom on the 1st Floor and another bedroom on the loft(which we did not use). The access to the bedroom is via a steep flight of 10 stone stairs which may not be suitable for persons with mobility problems since you have to go up and down several times during your stay. However, for us it was not a problem and we did in fact enjoy the extra space. The rooms are clean and equipped with basic essential requirements and comfortable but nothing fancy. The kitchen is well equipped with hot plate, utensils, crockery, glasses, coffee percolator and cleaning solutions etc. In other words everything you require is available. We did not use the percolator but had taken satchets of tea, coffee, sugar etc. which we used for our cuppa.Breakfast is adequate with cereals,fruits,bread,jam, ham and cheese, coffee/tea and the most amazing thick yoghurt with honey which we had everyday. There is no hot food and no eggs so if you are the type who cannot do without your daily eggs you have to cook them yourself in the kitchen.There is some kind of portable aircon in the bedroom which was not working and in any case we did not require because the rooms were cool. The bathroom was small with a hand shower and the trick to use the hand shower is to stand with your back to the wall and use the shower inwards so that you do not spill water all over the small bathroom. Hot water and shower pressure was adequate and we did not have any problems. The location is a little away from the centre towards the north end of the village but Oia is such a small village that you can literally walk from one end of the village to the other leisurely in 30/35 minutes so that was not an issue and we really enjoyed the quiet of the accomodation and the walk.There is a mini mart nearby where you can get supplies of water and other things but it is slightly cheaper to get it from the main supermarket at the other end of the village. Also there are a number of bakeries/pastry shops from where you can pick up cheese pies, chicken and ham croissants,pastries etc.There are also 2 restaurants one of them is Polaski Lokal ( I cant remember the name of the other one)whose menus are available at the hotel and who can home deliver the food at your villa if you dont feel like going out for dinner. You can also cook a couple of meals in your kitchen if you like but I suggest you try the local cuisine at the wide variety of restaurants in Oia and what the heck you are on a Holiday anyway. We tried a few and the average cost for two of us with a half bottle of wine was less than 30 euros per meal. All the villas have caldera and sea view and also GSV is one of the few hotels which have a direct view of the sunset. It is amazing. The other villas in GSV have a small sit out with a single direction view but the windmill has its own 360 degrees view exclusively and from 8.15 pm to 8.30p.m. we were there at our own exclusive terrace watching the sun go down while all around us and also at the old castle people would start assembling from 6.00pm onwards to get a vantage point to watch the sunset. We had the most amazing and breathtaking view from the terrace and we watched it everyday and if I were to tell you in one word it was AWESOME. Everyday it was different depending on the clouds but it is something you have to experience once in a lifetime.If you want a little quiet ,comfortable and clean accomodation with a view of the caldera and the sunset from your terrace and fantastic service then look no further - go for GSV. The ownner Mr Kyriakos and his man friday Mr Salim were fantastic and would arrange anything for you including the tours. Also complimentary coffee and juices are available at the reception office (though we did not try it)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank subchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The owner Kyriakos, and his fun-loving and capable assistant, Salim, were what my husband and I found to be the best memories we took home of Santorini. They made our four days stay absolutely wonderful. Yes, the view is absolutely to die for, but we count the friendships we have made the most valuable.
We stayed in a cave house; it's kinda small but very cosy and more than adequate for us. The view from our terrace made us speechless all the time; the sunset was something we didn't have to fight with others for a spot for, the breakfast, we found absolutely wonderful and adequate.
Ask Salim for advice on restaurants, shopping, whatever, he always has an answer for you or he'll get you one. We saw alot of the less travelled path thanks to him and Kyriakos.
One thing about Golden Sunset, though it's at one end of Oia, we didn't have to climb hundreds of steps just getting to the place, or our room for that matter.
Really try out Roka restaurant in Oia and Katina's down at Ammoudi Bay - they were the best in Greek(Roka) and seafood(Katina's) and not too costly at that. And take time to sit in a winery, like Sigalas in Oia, and drive down the coastal road to see how wonderful Santorini really is.
Santorini is not always cheap if you want a taste of the better and best, but it was all worth it when it comes down to it; every single cent. And we would love to go back there again. Thanks again to the two great gentlemen we had the luxury of meeting for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manngo-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Everybody raves about the place, and you can quite see why.
We stayed in the Cave House, the best feature of which was its terrace, which we reckoned was the best of the lot with its size, views and (relative) seclusion. There was talk of a jacuzzi being built on this terrace, which would spoil it, but nothing certain.
About 100m away is their private pool - bit windy, but there are precious few of these in Oia, so enjoy.
OK, so the breakfasts do get a bit monotonous towards the end, but it's a minor point.
The owner, Kyriakos, is friendly & helpful (even when you get your departure time wrong!)
Don't even think of driving on Santorini unless you've got a death wish! Regular buses run into Fira from the square at the far end of the (original) village, but be prepared for the inevitable scrum to get on. Bonus is the supermarket on the square & the superb bakery just across the road from it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed for five nights from 15 - 20 October in the Cave house. The stay was wonderful. The rate included daily breakfast (Juice, Coffee, Tea, bread, jam, ham, cheese, cereals, yogurt and honey) and a wonderful view. The rooms were clean and comfortable with spring mattresses. It had a well equipped kitchen, with coffee maker, pots, utensils, dishwashing liquid and sponge etc. The room came with a folder which suggested places to eat, explore and things to do. The room was cleaned everyday with change of towels, which is a real pleasure to see everyday when we are back from our excursions. The owner was ever ready with advise whenever needed.

The view is amazing. Many travel to Oia to get a spectacular view of the sunset, while we had access to the view every evening on our private balcony, sipping tea =)

Oia has a number of shops and restaurant, thus it rather self sufficient and you won't have to travel elsewehere. The trip was even more enjoyable as it was off peak and there weren't many tourists around. Thus getting on the bus, cable and ferry rides wasn't a problem at all.

For the accommodation, service and view, the price was well-worth it. An unique feature of the place is the windmills, which are featured on souvenirs and pictures of Santorini.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chipper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

On our first trip to Greece we stayed at Golden Sunset for 2 nights. We stayed in Room #1, the traditional cave house, pictured on the website. Room was spacious with separate sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Single beds in sitting area could accommodate more than two persons, however, it would be tight. Our terrace was immediately adjacent to those of the rooms next door, but that is the case with all Oia hotels. The room was quiet and comfortable, however, the bar above us played music that competed with the restaurant below us and it was a little frustrating. One soundtrack would have been enough! But none of this is the hotel's fault. Kyriakos was a great host and set us up with a caldera tour. The hotel shares a beautiful pool with another hotel and the pool is sort of on the backside of the island with a beautiful and different view. Because Golden Sunset is almost at the very end of the crescent, this is just a short walk down a little path.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottagoME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We LOVED our stay here. We did not book it, but were given the windmill to stay in - how wonderful!! We had our own little house...it was three floors - kitchen on first floor, bed and bath on second and another bed on the third floor. We had our own rather large balcony area with two chaises. There was a store that was steps from the windmill and we certainly took advantage of that - so nice for water since we drink quite a bit of that on a regular basis (and it was very cheap!). The hotel is a bit out of the way, not right in and among the restaurants and shops, but the walk is so amazingly beautiful, that I actually preferred the stroll to dinner and shopping each night! (And it's not far...maybe 10 minutes if you're walking very slowly.) All in all, we loved the location. And about the owner...he was SO helpful and kind. Couldn't have asked for a better host. He let us keep his laptop for a few days for internet use (there was fantasy football to be researched by my husband...) he always had an answer for all of our questions. On the last day he was particularly helpful... Our ferry to Crete was cancelled...he helped us make all of our phone calls (to Crete...the hotel, the taxi we had lined up, etc.) We were able to stay on another night - but at the last moment - after badgering the people at Pelican Travel in Fira, we found out there was an "emergency" ferry to Crete. The owner helped us communicate to the taxi driver that he needed to wait while we got our luggage out of our room and take us back to Fira (fast!!!!) to catch this "emergency" ferry. It was a wild goose chase, but somehow we made it. He was so helpful!
Anything we asked for, he was able to supply.
The view is amazing....clear, unobstructed view of the sunset. The walk down to Ammoudi was great as well...I did that several times to work off a little bit of our delicious dinners! One tip on the island though...We had 4 nights and we could have easily been satisfied with 3. The island is small...you can cover it quickly.
We had a wonderful stay here and would most definitely stay again if we ever get back to Greece!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JustWannaGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.8 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $194 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing