We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a wonderful place for laying back and forget about the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed at a studio room (room 1) for three nights. it has basic facilities of a studio - bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom with a shower, nothing fancy. it can sleep four people with two bunker beds in the living room. however, i don't know if this is true with all studio rooms.

the good:
- great view. to be fair, most of the hotels in oia have great views
- great spot for watch the sunset in guests' own balcony vs fighting with crowds on the public terrance
- easy walk to town center and more affordable eateries

the bad:
- a bit far from oia bus station if you have luggages - dragging them on the narrow and rough cobble stone roads with steps up and down is a major pain on the behind
- the remedy to the point above is to call the hotel for a ride through the back road as i found out when i checked out

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a great place to stay in Santorini and they made us feel extra special on our honeymoon. We had a large room, private balcony (although occasionally eager tourists wander onto it, but the staff is quick to shoo them away-very nicely), ample breakfast and the assistance of one of the friendliest people we met in Greece (can't recall his name but he was the guy who checked us in and was SO nice and helpful). This location was quiet, had excellent sunset views, you can easily walk through all of Oia from here and it is near the stairs leading down to the "beach" (although it is a lonnngg and steep walk to the shoreline- you can always ride a donkey instead of walking). We loved our stay here and if we were to go back to Santorini, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

In my opinion, The Golden Sunset Villas is a very romantic place and we really enjoyed during our stay. The view from the hotel was excellent. We were staying in the room # 7 and we could see the sea view and the famous windmill just right in front of our bed room. We just lied on the bed and we could see the perfect view. It was very private and quiet. We had private balcony and we just had breakfast there. It's very romantic place. Also breakfast was lovely.
In the evening, we stepped up to our roof and we watched the beautiful sunset from there or we can have a cup of tea during watching the sunset from our private balcony.
Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anndarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good location,big roon & balcony,you can see the perfect sunset view in your private balcony.Parking lot is near the villa.
Some of the facilities is old,and the wash room is small,the bath towel is too old and coarse.The WIFI is very very weak ,you can't use it in the room.

Room Tip: room 1 has a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed at Golden Sunset in mid August. It was our first time in Greece and when we saw the view from our patio, we knew we made the right choice. The owners were very nice, helpful and fun to talk to. They made our stay pleasant and gave us recommendations for our next stop in Naxos. Our room was comfortable, it was a two bedroom and a living room set-up. The only downside was the bathroom was very small with a mini stand-in shower. The weather was hot so AC unit was a life saver. Mini refrigerator was great to store our drinks and fruits.It was next to a pool bar, if we had time we would have enjoyed that as well.We never go to the same place again, but if we end up in Santorini definitely we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindoslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I can find no fault with this beautiful spot. We were a party of 7 so we had 3 villas in a group and we had a ball. Our own viewing platform away from the thousands of people who come to Oia every night to view the sunset.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and fit. They have to drag your bags over difficult areas to get to the rooms.
Breakfast was a good mixture, and the croissants and home made jam was a match made in Oia.
The town of Oia is really nice but make sure you have good walking shoes. The cobble stone streets are no good for dress shoes. Flats only.
Swimming at Ammoudi was the highlight of our stay. Just amazingly clear ,beautiful water,the like of which I have never seen before. Getting there was a challenge and you need the special shoes to wear in water that divers sometimes use. The rocks are killers on our soft soles.
Also careful if you hire quad bikes because there are loads of petrol thieves around so all our 4 vehicles were completely drained after we had filled them for return. It was the only bad thing at this extraordinary place.
Also did a fantastic sunset cruise on an awesome red catarmaran. Great value with free wine and ouzo and a very nice BBQ. Cheap beer and free soft drinks. Lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins which was the perfect end to a beautiful afternoon. Don't swim in the hot springs with anything other than older black swimsuits. It's brown and a bit yucky.
Food was spectacular. Cheap or reasonably priced, it was all terrific. It lived up to all my dreams.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but if you hire the windmill No alcohol because the stairs are killers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just spent 7 nights at Golden Sunset Villas and loved it. The location was great: right on the top of the hill for fantastic sunset views. Certainly one of the best locations for sunset viewing on the island. Also, it is right next to Lioyerma pool bar so easy to cool down on hot days. The staff were very friendly and helpful with information. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. We were in a two room apartment and it was spacious and clean. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 56 in Oia
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#25 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $171 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing