We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We searched long and hard for the perfect hotel with the perfect setting in Oia. Folks, this is it. The windmill on this property is THE windmill which one sees and associates in all the postcards of Santorini. If you stay at GSV, you will get an authentic taste of staying in a cave house, quintessential Greek breakfast (wonderful greek yoghurt, cheese, ham, bread fruit and fresh coffee/tea as you like it) served to you on your very own private terrace overlooking the Caldera, the very same terrace from which you will be enjoying a totally unobstructed view of the sunset. The hotel is located at the tip of Oia so consider GSV the Royal Box for Oia sunset viewing. Since the hotel grounds is private, you will find most Oia visitors crowding just at the property gate/fence trying to get that view for which you will have the very best seats. The daily sunsets experienced from GSV were truly beautiful and mesmerising and made all the more special when it is just at the very doorstep of your hotel accommodation. There were other hotels with other luxuries on offer, but none that could beat the almost secluded sunset experience offered by GSV. This was truly a dream come true for me, thank you team at GSV for your wonderful hospitality and hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma_ps_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 245 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Being able to enjoy the Oia sunset from the private balcony of our room made it the best experience we had while staying on the island. We had a great time while staying at the hotel and everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. Our only "complaints" would be that the bathroom towels and the shower curtain seriously need to be updated, and the toilet seat cover that kept falling down on you was also a real pain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snowyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Golden Sunset Villas and it was wonderful. The owner and all the staff were incredibly nice and service oriented. The rooms were very clean and air conditioned. It is truly the best place to view the amazing sunsets! It is walking distance to everything in Oai, but just far enough to be away from the middle of town where it can get more crowded and noisy. There is access to a nearby pool that also has amazing views of the water. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilynmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in the windmill and could not believe our eyes when we saw the view from there. It was amazing to put it mildly. The windmill itself was not luxourious but when you stepped outside on to the patio that completely surrounds it - WOW! We had a perfect view of the sunset and this huge patio all to ourselves. We had 2 children, ages 7 & 9 with us, and I wished the stairs in the windmill had railing on both sides but the kids were thrilled to be there. The location could not be beat - right next to all the restaurants. The staff was incredibly nice - I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The windmill has a HUGE patio with sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Delraylocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Listen, hundred of daily Oia-sunset visitors cannot have it wrong : this is the BEST place on the whole island especially when it comes to relaxation ! Kyriakos (hotel owner) is around since '90s. He is very kind and helpful person. I've been to this island many times and stayed in this hotel few. Each one of my experiencies was excellent. And remember: the mill (former bar and currently room to rent) you see there is one of the most famous mill on earth !

Room Tip: The mill itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alien_zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The couple who own and manage the hotel really love their job.
A small hotel which you can be treated like you were in a family house. Take advantage of the tips from them to explore the island, some hidden restaurants are specular!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the windmill (one of only 2 in the area) which was amazing. The lady at reception spoke perfect english and was very experienced, friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful sunset every night in our own private balcony where tourists were trying to lean on fences and crowded around doorways for at least an hour beforehand to get a good photo. The cleaning lady came every day and left everything very clean and spotless, and she was very polite as well. Overall we had an amazing and so far the best Greek experience in Oia and at this hotel.
If you have difficulty with steep steps and stairs, this may not be for you. There are steep stone steps inside the windmill to get to the first leve, and then a small ladder to get to the top leve. However the rooms do not feel cramped and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 56 in Oia
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#25 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $171 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing