We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Folks, forget all the rest. This is THE place to be !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Sunset Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Listen, hundred of daily Oia-sunset visitors cannot have it wrong : this is the BEST place on the whole island especially when it comes to relaxation ! Kyriakos (hotel owner) is around since '90s. He is very kind and helpful person. I've been to this island many times and stayed in this hotel few. Each one of my experiencies was excellent. And remember: the mill (former bar and currently room to rent) you see there is one of the most famous mill on earth !

Room Tip: The mill itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alien_zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

The couple who own and manage the hotel really love their job.
A small hotel which you can be treated like you were in a family house. Take advantage of the tips from them to explore the island, some hidden restaurants are specular!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the windmill (one of only 2 in the area) which was amazing. The lady at reception spoke perfect english and was very experienced, friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful sunset every night in our own private balcony where tourists were trying to lean on fences and crowded around doorways for at least an hour beforehand to get a good photo. The cleaning lady came every day and left everything very clean and spotless, and she was very polite as well. Overall we had an amazing and so far the best Greek experience in Oia and at this hotel.
If you have difficulty with steep steps and stairs, this may not be for you. There are steep stone steps inside the windmill to get to the first leve, and then a small ladder to get to the top leve. However the rooms do not feel cramped and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The magnificent view is the hotel's only real asset and the owners exploit it to the full. We spent 4 nights in the hotel in July 2010 - it was our third trip to this island. We were quite disappointed to find our "cave" room damp, cheaply furnished and cold at night. Rotten smell was present throughout our stay. Our kids' beds did not have any blankets at all, and thin sheets were laid straight onto the slippery mattresses. The was an extra blanket on the shelf but it looked too dirty to use. The Spartan and dated decor of the room reminded us of a youth hostel, not a resort hotel that charges over 200 euros a night. The bathoom was in need for redecoration and so tiny that taking a shower was not only an unpleasant experience but also a technically challenging one, especially as the shower head could not even be fixed onto the wall and water kept spilling all over the place. The washing basin was smaller than a shoe box, hence brushing teeth or rinsing a swimming suit required some skills in order to avoid a mess. Breakfast was basic and unappetising - one kind of bread rolls, one type of cereal, cheap sandwich sliced cheese, hard boiled eggs.... greek yogurt saved us every morning! Others already mentioned that the hotel does not have a pool. However, at the reception they will happily give you an old washed towel of undetectable colour to use at the pool near by, if you ask for one. In conclusion, unless you are an unpretentious traveller, this place is not great value for money, even for an expensive island like Santorini.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Svet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

If staying in windmill, there is complimentary car hire with a different car company. It was fabulous to be picked up at airport with car. We used our gps to find Oia and got lost getting to carpark. Park is all around the side of the island. Once you reach palm frond umbrellas you know you've reached the carpark. If you go and check in, staff will come and help with baggage. Stairs are quite steep inside windmill but vast mini bar is included, full kitchen facilities, 2 bedrooms spread over two separate levels, many views to choose from, private courtyards, powerpoint plugs on each level near each bed, bathroom has walk in shower, room on 2nd floor is airconditioned but it filters up to the upper level if you leave the hatch open leading to top floor. Staff friendly and kind, market close by on the way to the sunset lookout that other people go to. Views from the windmill are awesome from each window and I took many photographs. You can also sit or lie down quite comfortably in your private courtyard to view the sunsets. Stunning. Worth the money. We stopped at a market on the way to Oia and bought bread, tomatoes, cheese and proscuitto and it fed us for 2 lunches. Breakfast is included and is continental. Kitchen space is tiny so we spent our time in the rooms or in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Kyriakos at Golden Sunset Villas for 6 nights in early May, and throughly enjoyed ourselves. We were given room 6, which is described as an "apartment" but which is really a very large studio with a kitchen nook and separate areas for living and sleeping. The room was pleasant and comfortable and there was a small outdoor area adjacent with a table, chairs and umbrella from which the amazing views of the caldera and sunsets were available. The location is good - right at the northern extremity of the island, but within a few minutes delightful walk aolong the pathways to the "touristy" areas in which the restaurants and shops are located. It was quiet and just beyond the parts of Oia most frequented by the visitors brought ashore from the cruise liners which moor off Fira.
Kyriakos was always happy to assist with anything we needed, and the free wi-fi availability in the hotel enabled us to stay in touch. I agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast was repetitive and could have been more imaginative, but it was more than adequate.
Oia is a little out of the way, but is accessible to and from Fira by public bus, although services are not terribly frequent and sometimes overcrowded. Car-hire is available in Oia, and is recommended if you want to explore the island, visit Ancient Thera, etc.
Prices for accommodation are high in Santorini - more so than in other Cycladean islands, and GSV is no exception, but the experience of staying in a beautiful location perched high above the blue Aegean makes the cost a secondary consideration - and in any event, GSV's rates are quite reasonable when compared with its competitors.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at the Golden Sunset Villas in a 2 BR Apartment for 2 nights in mid-May. From our first impression through our departure, everything was perfect!
We used Santorini Transfers & Tours to bring us to Oia from the ferry dock (highly recommended) and they called ahead to GSV to let them know we were approaching. Two young men were waiting for us at the drop-off spot (you can't drive directly to the hotel, so there was a short walk to the hotel reception) to carry our luggage. We received a very warm reception and were quickly shown to our apartment with more help with our luggage. We were traveling with friends who stayed in a studio, so we were able to see their room, as well.
The accommodations were spacious and beautiful in a rustic way. Our apartment contained a small kitchenette which included a portable stove-top, small sink and small refrigerator to keep our things cold, as needed. The beds were what we call "full size" in America, which is smaller than we prefer, but they are positioned on a permanent built-in foundation, so this is the standard here. The mattresses were also quite firm but this seems to be the norm in Greece. Otherwise, everything was most comfortable and spacious. Our apartment also included a small patio in front which was shaded by the windmill suite patio above us.
We had the most amazing view and the sunset view from the property is not to be missed! We felt privileged to be viewing the sunset from our own private space while we could see hoards of other tourists crowded around outside the privacy gates jockeying for position for their views.
Breakfast was basic but very good. Our friend was most impressed by the personal service offered to prepare her coffee to her liking each morning.
While I would stay here again just for the amazing views and beauty of the property, we were blown away by the hospitality of the owner and staff at Golden Sunset. They seemed most eager to ensure our comfort and happiness during our stay. We had a couple of situations arise during our stay that we would not have been able to handle without the local knowledge and concern of the owner at GSV, who went out of his way to assist with, including meeting us at 5:30 a.m. to meet us for our departure and speak with the driver of Santorini Transfers and Tours to discuss (in Greek) the status of air travel on a day that strikes were scheduled.
Can't recommend them highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventuritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#33 of 56 in Oia
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#25 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sunset Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sunset Villas

Address: Karavokyridon | Oia, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $171 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sunset Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holidays at Golden Sunset Villas in one of the most picturesque Santorini hotels in Oia overlooking the marvellous Caldera and the sunset! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Sunset Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunset Villas Hotel Oia
Golden Sunset Hotel
Golden Sunset Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing