We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced substandard studio with spectacular views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Oia
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced substandard studio with spectacular views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have recently returned from a six night stay at caldera villas. Although the stunning location and natural beauty of the area can not be denied, the actual studio at Caldera Villas was not good value for money at 210 euros a night.
First, the good ; The staff at caldera villas were very friendly and really helpful. They always had a smile for the guests. The views from the balcony were truely spectacular. The small pool was clean and refreshing, and the breakfast was adaquate, although they did not provide fresh juice, instead we got the same mix of water and orange concentrate every morning. The location of the hotel is about 70/80 steps up the cliff to the village but this did not bother us as it really is a tremendous view from there.
Now, the bad ; The "double" bed in the studio was so small that we found it hard to share, and we are two quite little people! The mattress was uncomfortable, as was the linen supplied with the bed. The pillows were so lumpy it was like trying to sleep on a bag of stones. On the first night my boyfriend, in his frustration got up in the middle of the night to sleep on the couch by the pool area! We asked for new pillows and an extra blanket which we put on top of the mattress to make it a bit more comfortable.
The bathroom was a bit grotty. The shower curtain was about a foot short of the floor which meant water poured out onto the bathroom floor during each use. We had to mop up the water in order not to slip. There appeared to be water marks on the paint on the bathroom ceiling, maybe a leak from above that was never painted over.
The studio came with a kitchette including a fridge. Unfortunately this fridge must have been a very old model, as by way of regulating the temperature it gave out a terrible deep and loud noise intermittently throughout the night. It actually woke me up on one occasion!
The peace tranquility and beautiful views from the balcony and pool area would be enough to allow you to over look all these faults if it were not for the huge cost of the room. We felt we had been riped off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
27
225
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We were booked in a different hotel when we decided to cancel that one and booked with Caldera Villas instead. It was a bit pricey considering that the room wasn't really anything special. Beware! the steps going down to the hotel are very steep and are not for people with disabilities. Make sure to pack light or just carry a backpack instead of a wheeled luggage. One of us was carrying a huge luggage. Good thing Sam (the very nice porter) was there to help! As for our room, we were given the traditional cave-style bedroom with a little kitchen and some utensils if you want to fix your own breakfast. But we never really felt like cooking so we just had breakfast served at the lounge area near the pool. Small and very cramped bathroom. It had a small pool for quick dips. I wish it could have been bigger. But hey, it's better than nothing! Although I can't deny the fact that the view from the hotel is grand & breath-taking! It's facing the sea and the volcanoes which was awesome! Overall, our stay was fine. Clean rooms and friendly staff. My only main complaint is that it's too much for a simple hotel. There are better accommodations nearby that had the same rooms and view for less!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SassyCatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Hi guys , just wanted to offer a word of advise . Don't spend your hard earned cash at this Hotel.It's terrible....
And now some details....
1.The hotel is hiding the poor rooms quality and poor cleaning services behind the "Authenticity" of Greek traditions. I am a seasoned traveler and therefore I can tell you that you can't hide conning people behind any tradition
2.Rooms are cramped , with plaster coming down in some areas , the bed is highly unconfortable , the linens cheap (tradition as well) , the TV set is 12 years old , 20 Euro , 25 cm wide , the Bathrooms......!!!!!!!!.....TERRIBLE.....you have never seen cramped toilets like that , it was almost impossible to sit down , there is no bathtub , instead you get a shower without a cabin , with water pouring down on everything when you are taking a shower (traditions again!!! , or so they say)
3.Swimming pool , small but understandable on the steep hills of Santorini
4.View.Great
5.Service.Bad.
6.Location.Good
7.Price.Let's take a minute and discuss it.......170 Euro/night for a room with no windows , with the only light and air source being the Door.If you wanted air and light you had to keep the door open.The better room were 260 Euro/night and were just slightly better.So....what do we have here.......let's see.....prices up to Marriott,Sofitel,Hilton hotels in prime downtown locations.......services down to a 2 star hotel.....
And now, a small explanation for the above......it's not their fault....these type of problems are present everywhere there isn't eough competition.You will say that there are houndred of hotels in Santorini and you will be right....but there are no major players....and you know why?......cause the current hotels are affraid they will go under as soon as a Sheraton,or Westin,or a Marriott will arrive.....so they did their best in "convincing" the local authorities that the "big guys" will spoil "traditions".....and if you have red all of the above you already know what these are..........

P.S....All of the above apply to all of Greece and all of Turkey.....but Greece is more expensive

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex1234Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our cave apartment had a private balcony overlooking the Caldera(not all are so blessed) as well as sun loungers on the more communal terrace.
The pool may not be olympic but its postion is beautiful: you can soak and gaze down at the Caldera.
The service was very good and Sam, who carried our bags to and from the hotel, is a real star. The other staff are friendly too and , for Oia, this is very reasonably priced. I've stayed in two other places in Oia and this one is definitely the best yet.
I wish I was there now having a cold glass of wine while gazing down at the Caldera below !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhCrikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

For what we paid for our room, around 200 Euro compared to similarly located hotels, we got a deal. Things to know (so at least you're not surprised).

- The pool, which looks large and clean in the photos was about the size of a large area rug. More like a very large non-hot, hot tub. It was also didn't seem very clean (very cloudy).

- We stayed in one of the rooms at the level of the reception desk (in fact right next to it). There were NO windows, unless you count the window in the door. Which was about 2 foot by 2 foot. I literally felt locked into a cave.

- Because our room was right next to the reception desk (feet away) I was afraid to leave it unlocked, in case someone may accidentally mistake it for the reception area (same color door).

- The bathroom was so small, you almost had to hike your shorts down in one area, and then shimmy over to toilet in another area:) And the door did not close properly. And there was no separate shower stall. We had to move the garbage can into the sink before taking a shower so we'd have a place to stand (and to keep the garbage can from getting wet).

- We had difficulty getting an internet connection.

That said ... the view WAS very, very nice.

We spent one night at this hotel (to have one night with a caldera view). And the rest at the Anemo Milos, which has views to the oceans (though not the caldera) - and was almost a third of the price (with much larger rooms, large very clean pool, and run by a very nice family with an attached restaurant and where the owner himself made the baclava one night - and it was excellent).

Caldera Villa was much less personal than Anemo Milos, more "commercial" ...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Althera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

The views from the rooms and swimming are wounderful.
Getting there and away is a mission , a lot of steep steps which take out the air .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Hotel has spectacular views of the Caldera and islands. In fact its location is perfect. You get a great view along the coastline of Santorini. Hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly. Free WiFi is available in the reception area. Lots of steps to walk, however Santorini is not the place to go to if you don't do steps! The hotel & views are well worth it. It's also close to supermarket where you can get supplies & shops. Would stay again here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing