We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, beautiful view with a few draw backs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, beautiful view with a few draw backs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Caldera Villas are in the most beautiful part of Santorini, Oia (think every picture you've seen of Santorini... it's taken in Oia). The rooms are 'caves', meaning built into the rock. This was exactly what we were looking for, simple white traditional Greek rooms. However this does have some draw backs. As stated by others, there are lots of stairs (make sure you are greeted to take your bags down or up) and they can be rather slippery as they are traditional (meaning older).
We struggled to think if we would recommend these villas, first and foremost the view is stunning, the pool is lovely and Elena and Sam, our hosts were wonderful and very accommodating.
However there are a few things that you need to consider, one plumbing is not to western standards. We could handle tissues in a bin rather than the toilet itself however there was a very strong smell coming from the drains. We found this in two places in Oia so I couldn't tell if it was the location of the fact the same company ran both.
The other issue was the 'honeymoon' villa. There are actually several on the property with two of the being down the very bottom. These rooms are dark and gloomy and other guests have to walk through your 'private' balcony to get to their rooms. There is only one room that looks like the pictures of the honeymoon suit. If you like it, confirm it's the room you'll end up in.... we didn't. We asked to be moved and ended up above the reception in a two bedroom or more likely one bedroom with a lounge (with a double bed in it). I really liked this room, it's view, it's private balcony and it's layout was better than others. I think it was room #3.
So in summary, if something could be done about the drains and the pictures online weren't so misleading (each room is different... take pictures of them all!) I would give this 5/5.

Room Tip: Confirm the picture online is of the room you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
27
225
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Ok. So here is the deal. There are stairs. I booked this a few months ago and thought well the people who have written these reviews are probably not in the best of shape, and can't handle a few stairs. I was wrong, my apologies. There are about 65 steps to get to the hotel. However, they are big (so you have like two steps in between them) and they are not in good condition. Meaning, they are slippery (really have worn down from so much wear) they are jagged, there is nothing to hold on to when going down. At night I found myself wearing my most safe shoes, rather than my fashionable ones just so I wouldn't fall in the dark. However, once you get past the stairs, it is worth it. The view, the most incredible view I have ever seen, and that is saying a lot from the places I've been. The cave houses are not the best for people who are 6ft and over (myself and my boyf), however, we made do for our three nights. You should stay in Oia, I think better than Fira. And cmon, you won't be in the room too much, most time will be spent out and about, or just staring at the view for hours and hours (with wine, of course).

Room Tip: You might need to hunch over to get your hair wet in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiNYC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have recently got back from these villas after staying here for 3 nights to celebrate the first part of our honeymoon before before moving nearer to the beach in Kamari for the rest of our stay.
We have an excellent time here, the villa we stayed in was located looking right over the Caldera- magnificent views. Our villa was very clean when we arrived and cleaned/towels changed every day. The owner was always on hand to help with any queries we may have.
There is a small pool which is ideal for cooling of in as it was very hot when we stayed,d. In Oia there are lots of restaurants, few bars and little boutiques. Expect to pay on average 50 euros for 2 course meal with local wine here. Cocktails about 10 euros each. V pretty town and well worth visiting if coming to Santorini.
We went to the view the sunset one evening, which is recommended. It gets very busy here but if you get there early can get a good spot, stunning views!
The only downside to these villas are they are located down about 100 plus steps which are very steep, especially when trying to carry luggage, but Sam who works is very helpful and will carry them for you!! We found these a struggle and we are both in late 20's, so bear this in mind if wanting to stay here as you need to active/fit especially when dealing with a 30 degree temperature in July time!! Due to the steps we only really ventured out of the villas for lunch and then again for the evening meal. If we were going to Oia again we would try and find some villa's with not as many steps!! But due to the location not sure if this is easy to be found! Overall would recommend staying here for a couples holiday, but only for a few nights!! Not really suitable for kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyhardisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel is situated low down on the mountain as many are in Santorini. The stairs ( if you can actually call them that ) are in the worse condition of any other we saw on Santorini. I saw 3 people slip and fall, somehow I managed not to, but it was a HUGE concern. The hotel management need to attend to this, as well as the stink of sour in the bathroom. The room was full of air freshener devices. I notified the cleaning staff after the second day that they were not longer working. The staff, particularly Helena and Sam , were wonderful and are the hotels finest assets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived the energy&enthusiasm of Helena was contagious&never altered during our week stay. All staff ready to help at anytime with friendly smiles&generousity. We had the honeymoon suite&were constantly in awe of the scenery from our room/balcony..completely breathtaking, but you must be ok with steps by the dozen & very steep! Pool area rather small&no immediate beach, but Katheros is accessible by foot(30mins) or scooter/quad bike/car...and path from Oia to Fira is now closed indefinitely due to rockfall&tourist falling to his death on donkey!!!!
Plenty of choices for restaurants&of course the sunsets are a highlight(but beware of all the cruise passengers&find a quiet spot)
Experience of a lifetime..dong miss it!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

All the reviews are true except what is not said. We were in a Honeymoon Suit and you MUST share the balcony. The other guests have there own but will use the main one as it has sun lounges and they stay there all day. You can be trapped inside if you are shy sharing with others. Elena and Sam are legends and would not surprise me if someone else tries to pick them up. Select the right Honeymoon Suit is the key.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank niccihutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the honeymoon suite that was gorgeous :) white n beautiful ... Overlooking the gorgeous blue sea.. Alena was friendly n sweet. One drawback is the long flight of stairs but the view makes up for it . I'll attach photos of the room n view ! :) recommend this place.. Loads of nice restaurants n shops nearby once you conquer the stairs up :) samy was amazing n took care of our luggage for us.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#38 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing