We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caldera villas -honeymoon dream!”
Review of Caldera Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caldera Villas
Ranked #37 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Caldera villas -honeymoon dream!”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the honeymoon suite that was gorgeous :) white n beautiful ... Overlooking the gorgeous blue sea.. Alena was friendly n sweet. One drawback is the long flight of stairs but the view makes up for it . I'll attach photos of the room n view ! :) recommend this place.. Loads of nice restaurants n shops nearby once you conquer the stairs up :) samy was amazing n took care of our luggage for us.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    101
    59
    26
    18
See reviews for
30
240
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

You can't help but love Caldera Villa. It's location is perfect. Nestled into the cliff side and has a natural windblock. The decking is multi level and just stunning. You are just below all the shops and restaurants. Sami will cheerfully carry your luggage up and down numerous steps which add to the ombience of the Villa. While Alena will spoil you to death trying to accomodate all your wishes. The breakfast she puts together is just as great. I can't say enough positive about our experience. It's a slice of heaven!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Romance is in the air staying in a Cave-Like Honeymoon Suite with a private balcony. What made it even more memorable is the view of the Caldera and the Mediterrean Sea. The tranquility and peace overwhelmed us just by looking at the view. Be it the clear sunny day or 'moonbathing' in the moonlight will soothe any urbanite soul like the way it had weaved its magic on us.
Sincere thanks to Elena, Sam and crew for their warm hospitality. Love your smile Beautiful Elena! We miss the breakfast you've prepared too. Big Thanks to Sam for carrying our luggages up and down the numerous flight of steps!!! The flight of steps up was a good exercise after breakfast but it is worth the effort since it was our dream to stay on the cliffs of the Caldera =) We miss you guys, all the way from Singapore =)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I visited here for our tenth anniversary. The views of the caldera were amazing and we would sit for hours on our terrace taking it in. We did venture out eventually, however, and found that we had great advice and help from staff members Elena and Sam, who helped us pick restaurants and get a rental car in addition to making sure all our lodging needs were met. They even kept breakfast waiting for us as we are very late risers. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

For my third trip to Oia, I really wanted to stay in a hotel with view over the Caldera. The Caldera Villas made this dream come true. I will never forget the moments spent on our terrace, overlooking what must be one of the most breathtaking sights on this planet. If you book a honeymoon suite, make sure you ask for #12, as this is the one in the online pictures. Granted, this hotel is not cheap, but that is the deal if you want the Caldera view. Lena, the hotel manager, is super friendly, makes amazing breakfast omelettes and the place generally feels like home - a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monicakatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We booked our room on the internet relying on the reviews. We weren't disappointed. Sam and Helena were fabulous. Sam offerred to get up at 5 a.m to carry our luggage out to our vehicle (there are alot of stairs) and Helena cooked whatever you requested for breakfast. Beautiful views. If you have knee or respitory problems there are alot of stairs so request a villa near the boardwalk to limit the climb. Rent a car and see the island. Wonderful vacation. Fira had great shopping and rooftop taverna's.

Julie & Shelley from Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Caldera Villas was a great place to stay for our honeymoon. It is one of those cool hotels that is partly a cave. Our room had a semi-private patio, which was wonderful for hanging out. We did meet our neighbors, but it felt like we had our own special area.

This hotel is not on the sunset side of the island. It is the caldera view. You will not be able to see the sunset from your room. It is about a 10 minute walk down a pedestrian walkway to see the sunset (you will know which way to go – when it is approaching sunset there are tons of people walking in that direction). However, the caldera view is breathtaking as well. At first, we were disappointed that we weren’t able to see the sunset but after staying at the Caldera Villas, we were so happy that we had this view instead It is breathtaking all day and night - it looks beautiful for more than the 15 minutes (ie length of sunset). You can see cliffs and in a distance is Fira, which looks beautiful lit up at night.

The staff working at this hotel is very nice. Elena was so sweet. The breakfast is the basic yogurt and breads but the staff was also making made-to-order omelets. The pool is small but perfect for a lazy afternoon and quick dip while admiring the view.

The location of this hotel is great. It is walking distance to plenty of shopping and restaurants and from the top of the stairs it is a 5-10 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you to Fira and elsewhere on the island. One limit to this hotel is the stairs. They are ridiculous for even a young fit couple. Thank gosh they carried our luggage because we would not have made it. The stairs are not just numerous but kinda of cobblestone-y and uneven. They are sloping and range in steepness. Also, the donkeys go up and down these steps so sometimes you need to watch where you put your foot down.

One final comment, this is not related to the hotel per se, but we liked Oia and are happy we stayed here instead of Fira. It was cleaner and more relaxing.

Room Tip: Take the precautions about the stairs seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#44 of 56 in Oia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#40 of 56 in Oia
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera Villas

Property: Caldera Villas
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caldera Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Oia, Caldera Villas overlook the volcano and feature a swimming pool and accommodation with Cycladic decor. Room balconies offer caldera and Aegean Sea views. Rooms, studios and suites combine local architectural style with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Some room types provide well-equipped kitchenettes and seating area. Some units include a hot tub. Caldera Villas features a sun terrace and a swimming pool. Guests can enjoy a buffet continental breakfast daily. Staff can arrange bicycle and car rental and offer traveling advice. Armeni beach is a 10-minute walk from Caldera Villas. The bus station, bank, restaurants and shops are a 2-minute walk. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby Villas Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera Villas Hotel Oia
Caldera Villas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing