We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in room no. 5, not so fantastic..”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We are budget traveller but opt to stayed here for 2 nights despite given the choice of staying in hostel somewhere else because of all the nice reviews from travellers.
Stayed in room no. 5, do not feel like a traditional crave house which pull us here... The only part shows it is a crave house is its washroom... small tiles were dropping from wall when taking shower..The window next to our bed is very dusty.. seems like no one taking care of it for months.

It was a very warm June, glad that it does furnished with air-cond. The 1st night we sat at the balcony and leave the air-cond on to cooling down the room but recklessly did not close the balcony door tightly. Someone called from outside, urge us to close the door to minimise the air-cond usage. Since then, we have been very sensitive and afraid of being watch..

Undeniable, the view is stunning & amazing, but trust that all other accomdations in Oia do have fantastic view on Aegean sea. Do pay a little bit more to get another traditional old house or, if you are lucky enaugh, get other room. We were just unlucky to get this room. Seems like they have better room form the picturesposted by other travellers

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonfish80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed in the smaller of the 2 houses. It is difficult to imagine a better location: breath-taking views and privacy at the same time - the terrace cannot be seen from above thanks to a bend in the slope and it is protected from the street by a screen. The house has plenty of space for 2, a kitchenette, a pantry that is restocked for breakfast every day, a bathroom with a view (Sic!)...
Regardless of its central location, it is actually a quiet place. The crowds pass on the street above in a daily ritual of sunset-watching, then they pass back right after sundown, and the area becomes quiet again... and the mornings... pure joy and amazement as you meet the sun on the edge of the Earth...
The owners and the hired help always respected our privacy, but made it easy to find them whenever it was necessary. Gill went out of her way once to help me when I had a banking machine incident while having mobile phone problems at the same time...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kloobok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our house had 4 rooms including a small kitchen and could sleep 6. View of the caldera from private deck was one of the most amazing things I have seen. Yet the cost is far less than comparable rooms in Oia. A bit rustic and the single a/c unit did not reach the entire unit, but it was adequate. Access to sun roof and a courtyard. Very near the center of Oia. Fresh bread provided each morning with juice and condiments. Very accomodating hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed in a traditional cave house for 4 nights in May 2009 and loved it. The price was such a great deal - and we had the same view as all the more pricey options. It was a bit of a walk down from the street but that made it fun. Pros: the view, location, the view, price, coziness, the view, charm, amenities like huge bathroom, stocked kitchen, balcony. Cons: staff was only available sporadically, unless you contacted them at their busy restaurant up the road (which was kind of hectic and confusing at first), but again kind of added to the charm. We also had an ant invasion the last day, but it didn't ruin it for us. I would definitely return to Old Oia Houses.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Charming, no frills room in a real cave house. Amazing, breathtaking views everytime you opened the wooden shutters in the morning to take in the immense beauty of the caldera. Such a lovely and unique experience and the perfect way to really get the full Santorini experience. Unbeatable value. If you're taoller than 5'7", watch your head in the doorways... I learned the hard way! ;-) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelrc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

First of all, the owners Gil and Vasilis weree such gracious hosts. Not only did they personally show us the rooms, they made sure we had fresh bread daily and a clean room that was well maintained. These were probably the cutest places that I have ever stayed in. My parents also were staying in another room that was just as amazing. Every room had a mini fridge, kitchenette, full bathroom, two bedrooms, dining table, tv, aircon, and was furnished in a cute Greek style. The views were amazing here and I am glad that I could stay here instead of being one of the millions of tourists who step off of a cruise ship and run through Oia in an hour so that they can see the sunset. This place was a dream come true.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amerisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Old Oia houses is simply magnificent. Our stay in Santorini wouldnt be the same if we hadnt discovered this place. In my opinion in a place like Santorini its very important to choose the right hotel with the best possible views and Oia houses is just brilliant in every way possible.

We reached the bus station at Oia and according the directions provided by the owners set off to find the place. We were carrying very heavy luggage so it was quite a task manoeuvring through Oia village with the winding streets and stairs in the blazing sun. I almost died! After say about 15 minutes we found LOTZA, the restaurant we were supposed to check in at. I walked in and was blown awayyyyy by the amazing views! wow! all my strength just came back looking out into the ocean. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned so we sat and had a little meal and it was just perfect! After a while our room was ready and little anna came to escort us to our house. Again I dragged my luggage through the streets of oia and after about 5 minutes reached a red door. The red staircase lead us down to the front of our house on a cliff and we were stunned by the absolutely amazing view of the Caldera. It was just perfect!!! All this right from our front porch! Unbelievable. The porch/balcony had an umbrella, 2 chairs and a table and 2 deck chairs. Lovely!
We entered the room and again I was speechless. It was a big cave like room so tastefully decorated with a little kitchenette. Anna the house maid was so nice and helpful. She stocked up the kitchen with bread, butter, coffee, tea, juice, a huge bottle of water! She explained us everything about the room and told us fresh bread would be brought everyday (which she did) she was the best!

We paid next to nothing for all this and couldnt have asked for more. Hats off to the owners Vasilis and Gill. I wish we could have met them but they were away.

Dont look any further. This is the place to stay in Oia, Santorini. Highly reccomended to one and all! Thanks for reading and do see my pictures of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
2.1 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 58 in Oia
49 reviews
0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White House Villa
White House Villa
#53 of 58 in Oia
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $47 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing