We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave house”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at one of the Old Oia houses for seven nights June, 2014, we had a self catering unit with the best view ever, with a private terrace which was amazing. Basic furnishings, but the room was serviced daily and with clean bed linen and towels supplied every other day. Fresh warm bread delivered each morning at 9am for your breakfast. We made two requests to the owner and these were dealt with immediately and without any fuss. Location was perfect and would recommend and return in the future. Gill arranged our airport transfers and these worked perfectly, overall good holiday experience.

Room Tip: the owner has various properties, to suit all but one the properties has a spiral staircase, avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaonholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently spent 3 nites at Old Oia Houses unit Casa Vecchia II, just down the road (a pedestrian walkway) from the owner's restaurant, LOTZA Restaurant........We couldn't believe our good fortune when we arrived at this spot to see we had like a full house with a front courtyard, a back deck overlooking the caldera, and a rooftop deck as well. Inside was a kitchen (they brought by fresh bread about 9am daily, gave juice and water at first of stay) , an upstairs bedroom with 2 single beds in cave style, a double bedroom, a sitting room........Wow, this place was an amazing deal at 140 Euros a nite.......It is just by the clock tower in the centre of town and you can walk anywhere in Oia in a matter of minutes, about 5 minutes walk to the bus station if you wish to tour the island.........The view was incredible, I can't begin to describe it.......I would definitely love to visit Oia again (this was my second time), and if I do, for sure I will be staying at Old Oia Houses........they are truly amazing! The reception for the office is under the basement of the house so if you need anything, just go downstairs and you'll all set. They also arranged transpo for us (25 Euros for 3) from the ferry arrival terminal so that was also very convenient..........

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed 1 night at Old Oia Houses in October 2013.
It is located in the heart of beautiful village Oia within walking distance from any important place in Oia. The owner runs a restaurant just above the houses which doesn't leave them much time to take care of the guests... We didn't mind really :)
The room was beautiful and had big tarrace with stunning view on the Caldera.
The houses have this special something which brings all the people to Santorini: unique Santorini atmosfear & design. This is the kind of accomodation which you should be looking for while staying on Santorini. Here you can really feel the heartbeat of the village :)
It is a good value as well. This type of accomodation can be much more expensive on Santorini.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

had the most incredible trip in santorini. the old oia houses are perfect and give you a real taste of what it is like to live there. very clean, perfect view, and amazing owners. Gill went out of her way to make us dinner when we arrived late and her services continued all week long right until the end when she booked us our transportation to the port. it is perfect for the price and i will certainly be going back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is not a 5 star property. It's very simple. However, the feel of the old house, the incredible view from the balcony, and the location make it an amazing place to stay.
We went in winter, so there were 6 tourists in Oia - so quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the big Venetian house on the main lane just across from the clock tower. The house was basic - a little courtyard when you enter, a small kitchen with a spiral staircase that leads up to the bathroom on the 2nd floor and the roof terrace (3rd floor?). The bedroom furniture was simple, but adequate. From the balcony we could see multiple blue domes, and we had a view of the entire Caldera - we could even see the white buildings of the other towns perched on the cliff tops.
The owners always replied to my emails, so booking my stay was easy. They even arranged for someone to pick us up from the airport - although I don't think they usually provide that service. On arrival in Oia we went to Lotza restaurant and met Nikos (great guy). He cooked us up some delicious fresh fish for lunch and then took us to the house (maybe 50 meters from Lotza). He also gave us bread, jam, honey, and juice for breakfast.
Even during winter the supermarket is open (near the bus stop), so we were able to get wine, cheese, cold cuts, and olives for snacks on the balcony.
Once again, this is not a luxurious hotel, there is no pool, there is no room service. Nonetheless, staying in the Venetian house and looking out over Oia from the balcony is something I'll never forget.

Room Tip: Stay in the big Venetian House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Next_Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We three friends stayed in the larger house and loved its "funkiness". We each had a separate area to sleep. There was a small kitchenette with bread, juice, milk and water included in small refrigerator. (We walked to a market and got yogurt and more milk.) SMALL bathroom, separate shower room.. We opened all the windows and doors to let the breeze blow through - perfect during the daytime. Both nights it poured and the ferocious winds rattled doors and windows. Next mornings - clear,crisp weather. Missed the famous sunsets because of clouds moving in at night, but the village was charming. We had village all to ourselves one day, but the next two days, buses filled with cruise ship tourists poured into town. We got on the local bus and went to Fira and the ruins. By the time we got back, the town was ours (and the ubiquious dogs) again..

BTW if you are afraid of big dogs, they took over the sidewalks, lying in the sun. The first day they ignored us, the next they followed us around. Friendly to most people but one decided he didn't like a group of tourists and barked at them. Also be aware of the custom of NOT flushing toilket paper in the toilet, instead using a trash basket for it. Since our room wasn't cleaned, it was smelly. This non-flushing is common all over Greece - guess the plumbing is ancient too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights and this place was absolutely amazing! The view from the balcony and shared rooftop terrace was fantastic. Everyone working there Gill, her son and Anna were lovely. The restaurant Lotza had delicious food, which you can also take away back to your room instead of eating out. (Sometimes it was easier with having a little one with us) Cant recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
2.1 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 56 in Oia
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
1.9 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#21 of 56 in Oia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $47 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing