We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and charming with a stunning view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Oslo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy and charming with a stunning view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were completely blown away by our house. This was certainly like no bed and breakfast we ever stayed in by far exceeding our expectations. Disbelief at our amazing find quickly gave way to a child-in-a-candy-store excitement… "You can see the sea from the bed! Look at the view!!"
Old Oia Houses truly is a hidden gem that was the perfect place for our last 4 days on Santorini. For €90 per night in August (2009) it was also great value especially considering hotels all around offering similar if maybe more luxurious accommodation for much much more.
Our house had a small living room with a sofa, a cosy bedroom with a window above the bed facing onto the beautiful blue sea, a bathroom and a balcony with a gorgeous view of the caldera. The balcony also had a sun umbrella perfect for the hot August days. Every morning we got a basket with fresh bread and a selection of jams and teas.
An absolutely perfect 3 nights in an authentic Santorini house that felt like the best place to stay in Oia and made us wish we could stay much longer. Preferably forever.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    48
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
130
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

My daughter and I were lucky to have stayed here. There is nothing like the Old Oia Houses-you are staying in a cave-so cozy and warm. The room has a separate bedroom plus cute kitchen area and the bathroom is nothing like I have ever seen. The view off the bacony is to die for- each morning fresh bake bread is delivered to your door. The owners are very helpful. Beds are very comfortable too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy22_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

We were in Greece on our honeymoon and Old Oia houses is one of our favorite memory of Santorini.

It is a cluster of old greek cave houses nestled in the side of a cliff. The views are simply exceptional - you have to see it to believe it. We had a charming sea / Caldera view house... painted in bright white, with a dining + kitchen area, a small bed room , a bathroom and our own private balcony which opened up to a spectacular view of the sea. Waking up to the awesome view of the sunrise against the backdrop of the brilliantly blue sea and the Caldera was a treat in itself!

On our arrival, we were picked up from the airport by the owner Vasilis himself. I definitely have to put in a word of appreciation for Vasilis - He was a lovely host and made sure our stay was very comfortable and helped us out in everything - from getting an adapter to arranging for rented bikes.

The village itself is a maze and you can spend a few hours just exploring it and admiring it's beauty. The famous sunset point is just a few minutes from the OOH. The local shops, taverns and bus stand is also close by.

We spent the first two days just taking in the beauty of Oia, and then set out on exploring the island of Santorini on a bike. Since Oia is on one corner of the island, it was a slightly long bike ride to explore other cities, however well worth it!

I would definitely recommend the Old Oia Houses to anyone who wants to have an authentic greek experience - you can stay in 5 star hotels anywhere, but this experience is one of a kind.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiranjyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Old Oia Houses was one of the highlights of our stay in Europe and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Santorini.

The room itself is lovely, with pristine white double bed opening up to a private balcony. The view out to sea and to the island from the balcony is spectacular. The balcony has a small table and chairs so you can eat all your meals looking out to the view.

The room has lots of windows and wood panelling and flooring, making it light and bright. It is spacious and clean and fully equipped with everything you will need during your stay. It has air con for those hotter island days.

There is a kitchenette, equipped with a hotplate, fridge and a sink. Perfect for preparing a few little treats to eat on the balcony! The bathroom is located on the floor above, up quite a steep staircase. It is spacious and clean. There is another balcony, at the very top shared between the other rooms. We didn’t see anyone else the entire time we were there. Again, the view was amazing.

Each morning, the house maid, Anna, leaves fresh bread at your door. Butter, spreads, water, honey and juice are all supplied for you. Anna was lovely and very helpful. The house was spotless.

Vasilis kindly provided some advice about renting cars on the island and Gill was equally helpful. You do need to go to their restaurant, near the top of the hill, to get the key and check in. The hotel itself is not far from there, just a bit of a hike if you have heavy luggage. But there are steps and hills everywhere - that is what is expected in Santorini. The food at the restaurant is also good, one of the better places we ate at.

Given the beautiful room and the view, the price was more than reasonable. We would stay here again without hesitation. In fact, some of our relatives saw photos of the room and the view, and now want to visit Santorini and stay at Old Oia Houses!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We actually found this organization of classic old Greek homes on Trip Advisor and were stoked to deal directly with the owners versus a large corporation. After emailing to inquire about availability of houses, we heard back very rapidly and were offered a length-of-stay discount. The owners (Gille & Vasillis) were extremely pleasant to deal with!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to be picked up the airport by a shuttle, and though we had to pay for it, we were exhausted and happy to comply at that point. We met Gille at the restaurant she and her husband own; she took us on to the house stayed at and we were absolutely blown away by the view- our little house was directly on the cliff-side and had a patio overlooking the caldera (in fact, the view from our patio was so good that confused tourist, thinking it was a shop, kept trying to come through the gate to take photos from the patio- thankfully there was a gate and we were able to block it with the potted plant).

It was an extremely cute and quaint one bedroom + bathroom, and we were surprised to see it had been recently painted. There was a decent set of dishes, enough that we were able to eat our breakfast there every morning, and equipment for making coffee. Fresh bread is also brought by every morning by the "bread girl" as we affectionately called her.

We were delighted with our stay here and wish we would have spent our second week here instead of moving on to Mykonos, but we'll know for next time! We did not pay for than 90 Euro per night, which we still feel was an incredible deal (though the Greek economy was kind of in the pits at the time). The food in Oia is amazing, though pricey, however, we found if you wander down to the end of the village (opposite end of the place to view the sunset) you can buy fruit, yogurt, honey, etc. for a reasonable cost.

The sunsets will definitely take your breath away, and are well worth watching. There is a restaurant that makes amazing Greek desserts (truly incredible!) directly off the stairs where everyone will be sitting watching the sunset. If you get here early, you can actually sit at the restaurant to watch the sunset, and enjoy the delightful cinnamon chocolate lava cakes- it was truly heavenly!

Also, we went on a great boat tour- most of the little travel agent offices on the edge of town will offer you a decent deal (~20-25 Euros per person). They take you out on what appears to be a giant pirate ship and you'll visit the island with the volcano on it, swim in the hot spring heated portion of the ocean directly off the island, and visit a tiny Greek island which has a great view from the top (if you dare to hike the stairs to the top- it wasn't actually that far, and well worth it!). This was a really fun day, and well worth it!

We climbed the stairs from the waterfront (where we ate and went swimming often) back up to our place in Oia quite a few times, but we indulged in the donkey ride (about 5-7 Euro) once and it was a blast! We were laughing so hard, we were in tears by the time we reached the top....

Wish we could go back today...I don't think we could have imagined a better honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steamworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Oia (pronounced "ear") is located at the northern tip of Santorini and Old Oia Houses are within a few hundred metres of the island's end. The accommodation is provided by Gill, an English lady living the dream. Communication with her was easy and immediate. The bus dropped us off close to Gill's restaurant, where we met her and were taken to our accommodation. Our unit was perched about halfway down the side of the hill overlooking the caldera. It was on the main pathway to the sunset viewing spot and right next to one of the famous blue-domed churches, so the path was very crowded at sunset, and photographers opening our gate and walking on to our patio to take a better shot were a bit obnoxious. Those minor issues aside, the room was spacious and clean, although very light in the morning. The bed was hard but not lumpy. The bathroom was not too thrilling, but we managed. Hated the local practice of putting used toilet paper in the small bin in the bathroom! Breakfast was missable - a long bread roll with butter and honey or jam, plus tea and coffee making facilities placed on our patio each morning. Our room opened on to a spacious patio with table/umbrella and chairs and spectacular view of the caldera. We spent a lot of time just sitting and watching the activity below, with cruise ships coming and going and boats of all types moving about the water. The cleaner comes in every day. The day after our arrival she spent more than an hour in our room. We asked her not to come on the following days (except to remove the toilet paper!) and she seemed pleased about that. There are plenty of restaurants close by, but the cafes about 800 metres south towards Fira are cheaper. Between Old Oia Houses and Delfini Villas, where our friends stayed, is a wide paved path lined with cafes and shops. Don't miss this walk, and check out some of the most upmarket souvenir shops in Greece. They were better than anything we saw in Athens. We thought Oia was crowded, but an American lady assured us she had never seen the place so quiet! Three nights was definitely enough. Santorini is not cheap, so we though 95 euros was reasonable. Our friends at Delfini paid 125 euros for better accommodation with shared pool (which we used) so it's clear you get what you pay for. For the traveller who is happy with no-frills accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crowsnestGnarabup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at Old oia house for 6 nights in October. Being the end of tourist season it was great. Not so many people walking around, very quiet and comfortable stay. We spent many nights on the terrace sipping wine and enjoying the fabulous view. We would recomend this place to anyone seeking total relaxation and experience Santorini at it's best....again think of going in low season if possible you will not regret it.
Tammy and John from Canada
Many thanks to Jill and Vassil

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Villas
Amoudi Villas
#49 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.0 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#21 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Property: Old Oia Houses
Address: Oia, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing