We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View, Perfect Hotel”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Firstly I am incline to highlight that you will need to climb a modest numbers of steps to access the hotel and your room.
Other than that there's no way you could go wrong with this hotel...if you could call it hotel, it's more of a traditional house with friendly and extremely helpful family of staff. I would like to give the bellboy a special thanks, for carrying our luggage up and down the steps. Pre-ordered breakfast only add to the homely feeling. The Superior House for Two that we booked is spacious and lovely. Sunset is best viewed in Oia and Esperas give you a private view when others are hustling around for a view on the terraces above you.
Perfect hotel for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rezz_shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you very much for the vote of confidence and the great review. Although it is true that in Oia and Santorini one has to tackle steps every day, I would like to point out the fact that Esperas is indeed a full service hotel with 20 rooms and suites and certainly not a house. We have a swimming pool, a pool deck with a bar, a restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, twice-daily maid service, a reception and concierge desk and many more amenities you can expect to find in a modern hotel. What you are most likely referring to in your review, is the character and decor of Esperas which is traditional Greek and only accentuates the uniqueness of Santorini. Thank you once again for the praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 821 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

I probably do more research than one can fathom when planning trips. Endless nights going through reviews on TA and Booking.com and others, hoping to find the perfect place with no regrets. With my wife and I heading to Santorini for 4 days to celebrate our anniversary, and there being 200 options to pick from, Esperas came out on top and was the perfect pick.

I'll admit that as we were driving to the parking lot above the hotel, I was getting worried. The view was weird and I had no idea where the hotel actually was. But then the bellboy straps your bags to a cart and you start walking...the views get better...you are getting lower...you keep walking...the views are amazing...and you're getting lower...you pass people and they are jealous that you're still walking...and then you get there, and holy crap, the views are breathtaking, the decor stunning, and the ambiance is everything you wanted it to be.

We had room 111 and it was perfect. It was around halfway down, had unobstructed views of the caldera and the sunset from our balcony, and just made you feel relaxed in every way. There are a few rooms lower that might have had a slightly better view, but we had no regrets at all.

Also, the breakfast is unreal! Served on your balcony, in your room, or in the main area, it's incredibly fresh and you get so much food (you fill out an order form when you arrive and can make changes as you want). It was honestly the perfect start to every day for us. I have no idea how they make their OJ, but it's delicious.

The hotel is located about a 5-7 minute walk from the main town area of Oia. The first time you make the walk you'll probably hate yourself for not doing more squats at home, but from then on it's a piece of cake. Also note that Esperas isn't a really big social scene. It's built for relaxing and unwinding. We met some other guests and they were all friendly, but people aren't raging until the wee hours or anything. If you want that, head to Fira.

The staff is also great. They are SO friendly, great with recommendations, and can help organize and book anything you'd ever need.

In terms of the views, they simple can't be beat. When you look up and see hundreds of people at the top of the cliff trying to get the same view you have from your balcony, you know you chose wisely.

Room Tip: Room 111 was spectacular. It's a 1 bedroom place and has one of the best views in the whole plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtishDoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful words of praise for Esperas. It is truly an honor for me and the whole staff to read such reviews and know that we fulfilled your expectations. Thank you for sharing with the world the fact that your research paid off and that everything that you read online before choosing Esperas, was indeed true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

i had a very good time for one more year!!!thank you hassna that you made my days in santorini so beautiful!!
and generally very nice service ,view and very good people!!!hope to see you soon guys
my next trip in greece wiil be again in santorini and i will come back to esperas for sure....

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank georgia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for the vote of confidence and the recommendation. We are all happy to hear we will see you back in Esperas in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I are experienced travelers, now enjoying the "empty nest" circuit and we look for comfortable, well located accommodations with minimal hassle. Esperas, where we stayed for 4 nights, was extraordinary, beginning with the perfect location in Oia -- below the bustle of the main street, yet perfectly located for viewing the famed sunsets from the property. Our room was on two levels, in the traditional house design with two outdoor private spaces. Very comfortable with all modern conveniences. We enjoyed the morning breakfasts, served at our convenience and location preference, with a vast menu choice.

Best part of this property was the staff. All very cordial. They also helped to tailor our daily activities, from easy car rental with a variety of destinations suggested (archeological, local flavor, wine tasting, etc.), to evening restaurant recommendations matched to our tastes and preferences.

Couldn't have chosen a better base for Santorini and property and staff added immense value and nuance to our experience on this well traveled island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

From all of us at the Esperas, a great big thank you for all your wonderful words and positive review. It inspires us all to know we are valued and our service helps create beautiful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent a week during the Easter holiday at Esperas-Santorini, a full of charme little paradise among tha sea, the sky and the volcanic land. we will never forget your kindness and your courteouse hospitality, ear friends from Esperas, e made us fill at home.
Efkaristo
Silvia and Laura (Italy)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Grazie per le vostre gentile parole! Everyone at Esperas remembers fondly the two lovely Italian sisters who spent Easter with us and became a part of the extended Esperas family. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Reception very welcoming. Our room was suitable but steep steps down to lower bedroom and bathroom area, although we didn't find that a problem some might.
Great location, fabulous views, close to shopping and restaurants.
Breakfast out by the pool very enjoyable.
Overall a great experience and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and review. We were all happy to hear that you would gladly recommend and return to Esperas since you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The manager Hassna help us with many tips about excellent restaurants. Fabulous views and wonderful breakfast! I was just a little disappointed with the room accommodations, dark and slightly damp.

Room Tip: Make sure that the bedroom window is for the external area to receive light and ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ThaisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry that the weather was damp and rainy during your stay but it was something we could not fix unfortunately. Esperas is a member of the Historic Hotels of Europe and in order to achieve this honor, we had to respect the traditional architecture of the island. This fact is demonstrated clearly in any photos of our hotel that were either taken by us or by any of our guests. Most of our rooms are therefore cave houses and some of the original caves date back even hundreds of years. People from all over the world come to Santorini in order to experience this and spend a few days cocooned inside a cave house along with the breathtaking views. All of our rooms (from our most affordable to our most upscale) offer an authentic taste of Greece along with the unique view of the Caldera. Our truly private verandas in each room enable our guests to watch the beautiful sunset for which Santorini is famous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.4 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.9 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#18 of 58 in Oia
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $374 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing