We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic!”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have meant to provide a review of this property for some time now...my husband and I visited this hotel back in 2013 and loved it! It was extremely clean, service was nice, food was amazing (especially the dips/ bread) and you couldn't ask for a more stunning view of the sunset, the pool was a little on the small side but still great. You can easily walk into town to explore all that it has to offer (Ambrosia is not to be missed!) which is plenty! The shops, caffes, restaurants, and views are amazing.
Take a stroll down (skip the donkeys) to Amoudi Bay and have fresh seafood right on the water.
I would say the room was a the only minor thing and would advise visitors is to stay away from the loft style bedroom rooms...it started to make both my husband and I feel a little claustrophobic and perhaps way too cave-like.
This was a wonderful hotel...I totally recommend checking it out...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Every review helps even the belated ones! So, thank you for your kind words and your positive review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 815 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been meaning to write a review for the past few months. Stayed at Esperas in August and had an incredible time! The location is the best in Oia and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. They put balloons and a birthday card in our room on my boyfriends birthday. So friendly! LOVED LOVED THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jphill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for all your kind words and your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated by everyone at Esperas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my baby-moon. We stay for 4 nights in October 2012 which was perfect for the lower level of crowds and a much mild temperature.
The hotel is easy access, a five minutes walk from the parking lot. Don't worry they will carry your bags from you. Food is good and the salads with the local capers are delish, Service is excellent and professional.
My favorite things are the privacy and the view, both are priceless when is time for the famous sunsets. while everybody gather in the late afternoon around the little open public space to watch the beautiful sunset you are totally relax on your balcony or by the pool having a glass of wine and hanging out with your friends.
Excellent choice.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivifashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments and descriptions of Esperas. We were all happy to hear we provided a great backdrop to a relaxing vacation and that you enjoyed the peace and privacy of Esperas. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent the first week of our honeymoon in Santorini in August. It was perfect from start to finish, and we could not have chosen a better place to stay than Esperas.

- Rustic apartment rooms built into the rockface are each unique and most are very private (especially the honeymoon suite with its excellent private hot tub)
- The bar/restaurant surrounding the beautiful swimming pool is the setting for the best views of the sunset to be found anywhere on the island. Incredible
- Food excellent. Menu is small but every dish is extremely nice. Excellent moussaka, for example
- Treated like royalty by staff at times, particularly by Hassna (truly superb front-of-house manager - thank you Hassna)
- Maid service very good
- Note that this hotel is very much designed for able-bodied adults, as their are some steep steps and rails that would not be suited for young children or infirm adults. The crowd is generally young-ish couples (30s/40s)
- The only area that we would identify as "room for improvement" is the breakfast. Despite the best fresh orange juice we have ever tasted, the rest is quite limited. It's the one thing we didn't particularly look forward to, and in the end we started going into town for more varied options.

Would we come back here? 100% yes. We are already planning to do so for our 5th anniversary.

Well done, and thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

From all of us at the Esperas, thank you for the endorsement of our hotel. We were very happy to hear you are already planning to come back to Esperas and Santorini. This is the greatest vote of confidence we could ask for. We have taken into consideration your comments and will make additions and alterations to our menu for the upcoming year. Till we see you again, a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Espera House for our honeymoon. We made a request to the hotel for a room with more privacy and they definitely delivered and provided us a room off stairway path to other rooms. We had 2 balconies to choose from to watch the sunset at our room. One on the upper floor and another on the main floor. Absolutely stunning view! It was truly an unobstructed sunset view.

The room was clean and they came to housekeep twice a day! Not that we needed it but that's their standard. The staff were extremely helpful with all our inquiries. The pool was awesome (though not heated, we didn't need it as it was warm by daytime heating). The breakfast spread was great, we got food and brought it back to our room to eat. We even had dinner at the hotel one night and the food was comparable to the restaurants on the island.

We were one of those that were crazy and just walked from the Oia bus station to the hotel. We had backpack suitcases, so it was okay going through the uneven roads. The walk wasn't far from the station, 10 minutes.

We had a spectacular time and definitely didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Room 114 has a lot of privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

On behalf of everyone at Esperas, thank you for sharing with the world what a wonderful time you had at our hotel. Your detailed descriptions will no doubt make it easier for all future guests to make the right choice! From all of us, a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

With more time and more money, my wife and I would have never left. A truly unique lodging experience in the nicest part of the incredible island of Santorini. The hotel staff is welcoming and somehow gets your bags up and down to your room. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch by the pool almost every day we spent at Esperas. The sunsets are amazing and you can watch them from your terrace while looking up at the hundreds of people jammed onto the narrow streets above to see the same view. If you cannot handle steep steps this place is not for you. It was 150 steps up from our room to the top of the hill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bellc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Everyone at the Esperas wishes to thank you for your kind words and descriptions of our hotel and island. We hope you have a happy New Year and we wish we will see you back at Esperas soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

When I sat on the bed in our house and looked out over our private balcony to the beautiful blues of sea and sky and white washed walls of the houses set into the cliffs I thought I had died and gone to heaven! Santorini has long been on my list of places to see and it exceeded my expectations. The Esperas is well located at the northern Oia end and every evening was spent relaxing wine in hand watching the stunning sunset. Once you get over the many paved steps you have to negotiate, it is full of suprises. Esperas is only about a 10 minute walk up to the village which has some great shops and we quickly learnt to be up there in the morning as it becomes packed with cruise ship folk from Thira just after lunch. George and his staff were so accomodating and nothing was ever a bother. A simple breakfast was included and you can buy food from the bar during the day and evening. An irridescent cave pool was a welcome respite from the heat and you could spend all day sitting on your own terrace taking in the beautiful views. Fabulous seafood restaurants in the Bay directly below the Esperas and can donkey ride back up the steps or a taxi will drop you back up top, then a short walk back down to hotel. I would return there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: All have great views and own balconies overlooking the sea. If not very fit maybe ask for a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

On behalf of the entire Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind words, accurate descriptions and for sharing your great memories at Esperas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#25 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: $235 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing