We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon as part of a TruGreece itinerary. Perfectly located above the small fishing village of Amoudi. Esperas Hotel had beautiful views with amazing sunsets. From the airport pick up to the baggage handler that met us at the front gates of the hotel, to the front desk staff, wait staff, room service and maid service - all were top notch and made you feel like royalty. The town of Oia has some amazing local shops with fantastic local art. Some standard touristy stuff, but great restaurants in Oia and especially the Esperas hotel itself! The wines produced on Santorini are amazing, we brought home 18 bottles of wine!

Simply the best place to visit!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiml131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our porters will wonder no more what made your suitcases a bit heavier to carry! Of course I am kidding. It was with great pleasure that I read your kind review and I can assure you that your wonderful words have been received by all of us at the Esperas with equal gratitude. We can't wait to see you back in Santorini in a few years time when you will need to replenish your wine cellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    94
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
127
509
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is magical. Gorgeous little white villas on a cliffside with insane sunset views. The rooms are well sized and the patios are the perfect place to view the sunset and enjoy some wine. The location is perfect for Oia, as long as you are fit enough to hike some staircases. The breakfast was fresh and delicious every morning and the pool deck was serene. Staff gave us excellent advice and made reservations for us.

Stay here if you are staying in Oia!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Esperas and for writing all those wonderful (and quite true!) comments. We are always happy to hear we helped make your stay in Santorini a bit more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The ratings for this hotel speak for themselves. If you are after a relaxing holiday then this is the place to be. The sunset from the hotel rooms and pool area are special. It's well known that Santorini has one of the most beautiful sunsets, if not the best. The hotel staff are lovely, the views are a one in a lifetime must and the rooms are large enough for couples. Santorini itself is a peaceful and quiet place. Perfect for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevvie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire Esperas staff, for a extremely accurate and positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Esperas for 5 nights in early September for our 25th anniversary. It is hard to add anything new to the positive comments which have been written by others. I would just emphasize a few points. First, like some others, I also debated the question of the Sunset view at Esperas versus the full Caldera view at other Oia and Fira hotels. In reality, the Esperas view is also stunning and we had plenty of opportunities to see the full caldera view when walking about OIa or hiking to Fira (yes - we did the 9 kilometer walk). On the other hand, being able to sit on our deck and see the sunset, without having to fight the crowds, was a very special treat. As some others have said, if you like privacy or quiet, your room selection can matter quite a bit, as some rooms near the entrance or the pool have more people walking right past you (and you can hear the poolside conversations). We had a suite which was perfect for us because it was further down the hillside and thus quite private. Finally, a hotel can be in a lovely location, but if the staff is not friendly, the overall experience can still suffer. I am happy to say that we found everyone at Esperas to be wonderfully friendly and helpful, which really was the icing on the cake. In the end, we really felt that we made the perfect choice on Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincetonTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you first for choosing Esperas and secondly for sharing with the world your experience. We take great pride in creating wonderful memories for our guests and it was exceptionally satisfying to read your choice in us payed off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Esperas for 4 nights in room 105 . We loved our stay here , the staff were all extremely helpful , room was nice and had an amazing view ( as do all the rooms )
, breakfast delicious , views amazing . The pool was a welcome respite a on a hot day .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and review. I was very glad to hear you had a great time at Esperas. I would caution future guests though that we do not have a room 105! Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

There are places that one cannot express the feeling. Oia is one of them and Esperas is the best place to be there. Rooms are fantastic and view is beyond imagination. Staff is super friendly and helpful. What a wonderful breakfast. Each room has a private balcony and terrace with chairs and umbrella. You will find very good restaurants for lunch and dinner close by. Everything is in walking distance. Where ever you go, make sure you are back at your room for the sunset show. You see hundreds of people on top of hill while you enjoy the magic show from your balcony with wine and cheese. Hotel pool is also wonderful and overlooks the sea. This Hotel is the best we have ever been anywhere. It is a different but pleasing and relaxing experience. Just make sure you ask the hotel to send a taxi to pick you up from airport and also to take you there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank omidvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your truly wonderful descriptions and accurate portrayal of Esperas. It is with great pride that I read all your kind words about our property and your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend Annie and I spent 5 nights at his wonderful resort in Oia in Santorini.
The resort has the most friendly and helpful staff for all services. The pool is just the right temperature and the views are out of this world. It is what you would think of a typical Greek Island hotel with the rooms carved into the side of the cliff. We had some fabulous meals around the pool, many glasses of wine, and everything was delivered with a smile. Our room had two terraces overlooking the Caldera and the views of the setting sun were spectacular. From booking to check in and check out everthing was handled perfectly....couldn't be more happy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The whole Esperas would like to thank you both of you lovely ladies for your wonderful review and kind words. Your accurate descriptions (pool temperature, meals, service with a smile etc.) help us and future visitors immensely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#10 of 56 in Oia
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing