We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got Esperas-homesick at the end of our stay :(”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We got Esperas-homesick at the end of our stay :(”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

"This turned me from a Santorini-sceptic to a Santorini-lover! We had a great time, not only because of the wonderful location, but also thanks to the great, laid-back, genuine staff working there. In fact, they were always available, if it was just for a chat. One of our most fun days was, when exhausted after days of touring, we just lounged about in our studio watching movies from their great DVD library and staring out at the view from our balcony.

Thanks Hassna,
Ich bin Oliver Pocher in mein gesecht"
- J, Rachel's husband


"Esperas truly made us feel like we had a home in Santorini. The staff were very friendly, the atmosphere laid-back, and the amenities perfect for a young married couple like us. We were able to cook meals in the studio (after a trip to the supermarket) and enjoy dinner while watching the sunset from our private balcony. After long days of walking under the Santorini sun, we looked forward to 'coming home' to Esperas and having a refreshing dip in the pool, resting in our studio, admiring the view from our balcony or just watching a movie from their DVD collection. Words cannot express our sadness on our last day in Santorini - we already miss Esperas dearly!"
- Rachel

Room Tip: We had a studio, room 110 which was close to the laundry, reception and lounge/breakfast area. We co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of a greatly appreciative and laid-back (somewhat) staff, we wish to thank you for your genuine and kind comments. You truly experienced the best Santorini has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    95
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
130
519
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week here. It has the most beautiful location, perfect views overlooking sea and has a very calm, quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
I enjoyed the hotels location it was at the quieter end of Oia which meant it felt more secluded. It was a pleasant 5 minute walk into the main section of oia.
The team at the hotel were great. All so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We opted for a studio room 107 which we were really pleased with as it had two floors and a great t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We are very happy to hear that we have provided excellent service and pledge to continue doing so for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What an incredible place to stay! I almost don't know what to say as it was just so wonderful. Fantastic staff, thank you Artan for your wonderful conversations and friendliness, fabulous breakfasts, great on site meals available. The best ever views of the sunset, the rooms were so lovely, everything was perfect. This is a place that everyone should experience, luxuriously, wonderfully indulgent and perfect.
Thank you so much Esperas!
Dennis and Beth

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your words bring us joy and inspiration to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

On a trip with my lovely spouse and 4 adult children. We all fit easily into 2 suites. Rooms were spacious enough, with comfy beds and 2 bathrooms per suite. Also a mini-fridge. Other furniture was so-so for comfort, but if you are spending a lot of time in your room, you are missing out. Our balcony had a table, umbrella, chairs, and lounges and and awesome view. Hassna, whom we met at check-in, was very helpful and friendly, another staff member steered us to our favorite restaurant during our stay. Breakfast is basic but served at merely another balcony location with tremendous views. Lots and lots of stairs, but are only an issue if you cannot handle a minimum amount of exercise. Easy access to Oia Village. Enjoy the view of the donkeys heading down the trail to the harbor, but use the auto road if you are going to walk down. (Not much cleanup being done to the path - village problem, not a hotel issue.). Also, and evidently this is common for hotels and restaurants on the Greek Islands; they don't want you to put toilet paper in the toilet. Yuck.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyRicardo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Esperas Traditional houses cling to the 1000 ft cliff of Santorini at Oia. The view is breathtaking and the rooms are quaint and comfortable. The staff is excellent. The food was good and very reasonable. This hotel is not for people with walking difficulties or who are easily confused. Getting to your room is a climb and not a straight path. You do see gorgeous sunsets from your porch. The shopping area is nearby. If you have seen "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants", the scenes on the pier were filmed just below this resort. It is very romantic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRTomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. Your descriptions will undoubtedly help future guests in making the right choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely place, gorgeous setting, cute swimming pool (space for sunloungers could be a little scarce if lots of guests wanted to sit around pool at same time - but we had spacious patio area that could use if this had been a problem), good facilities (including CDs and free DVD library, lots of novels and travel guides), helpful & friendly staff and food a reasonable price for the nature of the property. The room furnishings are not luxurious but have character.

Room Tip: Some rooms are set back with cave bedrooms that do not have windows to outside, others have external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow - what a fabulous place. From the initial welcome from Hassna to the outstanding service of Artan and Eva, nothing was ever too much trouble. Whether staying 1 night or 10 nights, you are made to feel like a member of the unique Esperas family. We enjoyed hospitality and friendliness from all the staff including the two amazing porters who spend their days carrying luggage up and down the stairs - i am in awe of your stamina! We tasted fabulous home-made food, exchanged life stories with Artan and met some lovely people whilst soaking up the sun around the beautiful pool. We enjoyed the luxury of the awesome sunset views from our balcony whilst sipping some local Santorini wine. This will be one of our 'never to be forgotten' holidays' for many reasons but none more so than the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Thank you Esperas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we are very happy to receive such high praise and vow to continue to make each and every one of our guests feel like Esperas is like a home-away-from-home. Your words inspired us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing