We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised - Simply Beautiful”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As advertised - Simply Beautiful”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We went looking for a dream vacation spot and found it at Esperas at the northern-most village of Oia. Besides incredible views and unique rooms, besides accommodating staff and a lovely pool area, besides charming owners and great restaurant recommendations, there is the peace and quiet that comes at the end of a beautiful sunset.

Bonus - Take the 5 hour catamaran boat ride round the islands. Yep - Esperas can take care of that too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YesWeDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    95
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
130
519
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for about 5 days during our honeymoon. Esperas has an idyllic setting, adorable rooms and excellent staff. We loved spending the day out and about in Oia or sailing around the island. Then coming back to Esperas and hanging out in the pool to cool down, watching the sunset from our terrace with an amazing view and heading back out later for dinner. We didn't want to leave and we'd go back any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a more private terrace, some are alongside the stairways that all guests use to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent a week here in one of the Traditional houses. The location is excellent, with good views over the Caldera and at a peaceful end of Oia village, to which very few of the tour groups or sunset watchers penetrate (and the management is very good at challenging any interlopers!). Oia is far, far nicer than Fira, which suffers badly from an excess of cruise boats on many days. Hotel is not far from some good restaurants.

Our room was charming. Masses of space, quiet and well equipped. Kept well cleaned, though the dust in the area makes this a tough job! Pool a good size for the village.

All the hotel staff - without exception - are equally charming, cheerful and enormously helpful, be it those at Reception, at the bar or the cleaners. Nothing is too much trouble and their recommendations of places to eat and things to do were much valued. Breakfast is ample and the supper we had one night very good too.Transfers worked like clockwork.

The only downside from our point of view was the sad fact that some of the American guests did not seem to appreciate the unique atmosphere of this hotel and made far too much noise, shouting at each other around the pool area, to the detriment of others' enjoyment (even though the management ask all guests to respect the peace of the situation). This is not a Hyatt!

If you are going to Santorini, this must be one of the very best places to stay. It represents first rate value too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstclassSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you want to stay in Oia, we aware that the lodging is on the steep hillside and the hotels are not the same as staying in a 3 or 4 star US hotel. The views are beautiful, the staff is very helpful, the pool is nice and breakfast is very good. Be prepared for lots of steep steps and a bathroom that is not the same as in the US. Lighting in the bathroom ls almost non-existent and hair dryers are best left alone. Its about a 10 minute walk into town so the location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtripperTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperas, Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
I would like to begin by thanking you for your kind and honest comments which will indeed help us provide better service, but also help fellow tripadvisor users.
We feel your comparison of our property to 3 or 4 star hotels in the US is a bit biased. A true comparison would have to include the geography of the location of the hotels being compared as well. Oia and Santorini is unique around the world partly because of the extreme landscape and steepness of the hills and the fact that settlements exist in this unique environment for centuries now. This fact characterizes all of Santorini and is not specific to Esperas Traditional Houses. I wonder if you are aware of many other destinations that offer this truly once in a lifetime setting, coupled with modern ammenities?
You should also take into account the fact that Esperas Traditional Houses is a member of the Historic Hotels of Europe. This means that the original architecture of the pre-existing cave houses was maintained. This creates, in some cases, smaller bathrooms than what you might be accustomed in the US, but preservation of the centuries old culture took precedence.
In closing, thank you once more for your review and your honest appraisal of our indeed excellent location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajmer, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, the property is located on the western side of Oia so best for sunset, all tourists flock in that area around sunset which you can witness from your own terrace. All rooms have stunning views of the sea and mountain...their pool area is lovely, we spent a lot of time there. Now the best part of the hotel, their staff...I cannot praise them enough, courteous, smiling, helpful just perfect. Our ferry to Athens got cancelled, so we had to make alternative arrangements and everyone was so helpful, they let us stay in the room till the time we left, (5pm) and then George (the owner) even refunded us the ferry money which would have been impossible for us to recover as we were catching an international flight the next day. No one does that...they were just wonderful and were ready to go that extra mile for their guests. Should be your first choice in Oia..Thanks to all the staff..well done!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you want bigger room, go for higher categories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWanderlust00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

After belaboring where to stay in Santorini for my honeymoon (the honeymoon destination was a surprise to my wife) and viewing reviews for almost every hotel on the island, I chose Esperas because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor, its' location, quiet atmosphere and some of the pictures I was able to dig up on the internet. Upon arriving in Santorini, George (the general manager) was promptly awaiting at the airport to take us back to Esperas. During the ride George informatively answered any questions we had and also did a good job of setting the expectations for our stay - relaxation, beautiful scenery, good food, what the different parts of the island had to offer, how to navigate around and the fact that there would be some exercise involved in transit from the hotel to the local shops and restaurants of Oia. We stayed in a junior suite and really loved it. It was the perfect amount of space if not more than enough with two separate bathrooms, bedrooms, kitchen area, personal patio with incredible views of the caldera and sunset. It's hard to get an idea of how unique our space was from pictures on the internet. Having never been to the Greek islands, this resort captured the unique, picturesque, cliff side, white building, blue domes idea I had in my head before arriving. For comparison, I have stayed at the Ritz before and like to stay at W Hotels when possible in the US. While Esperas is a traditional accommodation and wouldn't be considered swanky like the W, it definitely holds true to the character of the island and everything about its accomodations reinforce what a stay in Santorini should be - relaxing, tranquil and beautiful. I give Esperas its highest marks for its service. Over the course of our 6 day stay - I feel like my wife and I became a part of the 'Esperas family' and we were actually sad we were leaving. We interacted with the same staff members almost every day. They continually did all of the little things perfectly with a personal touch and smile. Shortly into our stay they knew my favorite drink, they were always there to lend a helpful hand and made good recommendations for food/activities. Having not made plans for our two night stay in Athens, George made a reservation for us at the 'New Hotel' which turned out to be another great experience. It's hard to imagine having stayed anywhere else during our stay in Santorini and enjoying our honeymoon as much as we did! Thanks to George and his staff for making our honeymoon a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasso2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Magnificent view and excellent service, a highly recommended place to stay in Oia. It is located at the very end of the island, away from the busy areas.

Nice breakfast and pool area and the rooms were clean with a cleaning service twice per day. Previous bad reviews on the rooms being dirty did not seem justified.

Prices were very competitive compared to other hotels in Oia offering the same experience. Actually the management were kind enough to allow us to check out late on the last day of our staying.

This hotel is totally recommended for a romantic staying!

Room Tip: If you prefer absolute balcony privacy (but quite a few steps to get there), prefer room 118.Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing