We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful view of the Caldera morning, noon and night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strogili Traditional Houses
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This hotel is located a few minutes away from the centre of Oia, but just far enough away to be quiet and not overrun by the coach trip tourists.
It has one of the best swimming pools that I saw in Oia. It is shared between at least 2 hotels, but it was never crowded when I was there. There is also water and coffee making facilities at the pool. One of the guests showed me how to make frappes which was a perfect drink in the heat.
Hotel guests are a mix - I met english, greek, american, canadian, french, australian and kiwi guests during my stay. Families, couples and single travellers like myself.
Breakfast is served on your terrasse, overlooking the Caldera - what a great way to start the day.
There are cooking facilities in the units, and a mini market just up the road, so it is good if you want to be self catered, but also close to all the restaurants of Oia and Ammoudi.
Popi and the team are lovely, friendly and helpful, and give Strogili a family atmosphere. A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of wine.
Oia is simply beautiful, so take your camera. It really is just like all those photos you see of the Greek Islands.
Next time I go to Santorini I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceejayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

If you're looking for a great (and quiet, private) place to stay in Oia to enjoy the caldera views, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I agree with the other reviewers that the pool, breakfast, and host are all great. We had apartment #5 which had a totally separate bedroom, two twin beds in the living room, a ktichenette, bathrroom, and full patio with amazing views. For a little nightlife, we took the bus into Fira and a taxi back late night was only 15 Euro. We also walked the 10 minutes up the road into the busy part of Oia for restaurants, shops, etc. We appreciated the cab pickup that they arranged for us to and from the airport for 25 Euro. They had wireless internet for purchase.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This is the most amazing place to stay!!
We were recommended to stay here by friends who loved it here. Popi her mother and the other ladies all made us feel so welcome.
The rooms are spotless,and decorated like a favourite relations home, with quaint touches everywhere, a bottle of wine on arrival,hand crocheted bedspread and a little library in the room.Every morning breakfast was
brought to our balcony but a smiling lady and we would soak up the view while enjoying eggs,toast & yoghurt (yum)The pool is up some stairs and looks out over the caldera it is almost surreal lying on a daybed looking at the view.Hotel is situated 500m from Oia village which is great to explore.We loved the cleanliness and had a small kitchen so was able to prepare food. We purchased some food at the supermarket in the village( found things a bit fresher) but there is one outside the hotel if you want to cook.All the modern facilities are here and there is a bus stop just outside.
A really remarkable place to stay with wonderful service and attention to detail.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank DivaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This hotel is perfectly located, the rooms are spacious and with a great view, The complimentary breakfast is delicious.
Popi helped is to book a car, a tour and get a doctor, thanks to her, our stay here was the highlight of our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corisAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Strogili and only wished we could have stayed longer. Strogili has all the amenities of the other much more expensive hotels at a much lower price. We were in apt #1 with living room, full kitchen, and private balcony. The view was phenomenal--we couldn't believe we had it all to ourselves. Breakfast is delivered to your patio every morning until 11am--quite a treat. The pool is gorgeous (a short walk up the road) and great for those hot days or just for a change of scenery. Other hotels might have boasted more luxurious accommodations, spa services, locations closer to the town center, but Strogili was absolutely perfect for us. Caldera views, lovely tavern across the street away from the hubbub of the main Oia pedestria street, clean rooms, and friendly owners. The rooms are basic, but we had a full kitchen and a bottle of wine waiting for us--nice touch! Highly recommended, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 days just last week. It was GREAT!!!!

Popi, who runs the place with her mother, was gracious and very helpful. She actually drove us to and picked us up from the beach when we wanted to go one day. She also made all arrangements for taxis to pick us up and take us back to the pier and airport.
Our rooms were spacious - we had a bedroom and another room with a twin bed in it. There were 2 full bathrooms too. The patio overlooked the cauldera and was very private and gorgeous.
I made a couple of calls to the USA while I was there. For some reason, the phone card I thought I was using didn't register and it ended up costing me 40 Euro for those 2 calls. Popi offered to and made a call to the phone company to help me figure out what was going on with that and the actually split the charge with me. Something that she totally did not need to do.
It was supremely clean and beautiful. Breakfast was served on our balcony every day when we called for it. They actually put a tablecloth on our patio table!
There is a swimming pool there but you need to go up the stairs to get there. Unfortunately, the pools in Santorini are not heated and we were there when the weather was warm but the pool wasn't warm enough to swim in yet.
We loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Strogili Hotel and nearly cried when we had to leave. The location of the hotel is over-the-top beautiful and the studio we stayed in matched the beauty of the setting. We loved the owners of the hotel, who were friendly, helpful and gracious. But most of all we loved our balcony overlooking the caldera, where we ate our luscious breakfast each morning and pinched ourselves for finding such a gem hotel. By the way, this hotel was recommended to us by family friends who grew up in Greece. They wisely advised us to spend our time while in Santorini in Oia, and said this hotel was the place to stay. We are delighted that we followed their advice and plan to return to Oia and the Strogili as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccafromMinneapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.7 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.2 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#29 of 58 in Oia
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strogili Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strogili Traditional Houses

Address: oia, Oia, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $217 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strogili Traditional Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strogili Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strogili Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Strogili Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing