We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strogili Traditional Houses
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Island haven”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in room 5, which is the superior studio on the middle level, so all our comments pertain to that room. I will try to make comments not made elsewhere. The rating is a rounding up of 4.5 stars.

Terrace: AMAZING view. Breathtaking. The same as in more expensive places in Oia. The cliff that the hotel is built on, being about 5 minutes from the main pedestrian action of Oia is less-developed, so the terrace is actually more private, less of that fishbowl effect, at least from the view of other hotels. But the terraces of the other hotel rooms are just a two foot tall wall away, and so actual privacy/quietness may depend on your neighbors. Our room in the middle level was well-insulated from road noise. Unlike another reviewer noted, our terrace was actually quite protected from the winds that seemed to be much stronger on the crest of the hill and on the non-caldera side of the island.

Room: We came in October during a cold snap. The room stayed quite warm and cozy. Shower was hot and on-demand, once the hotel manager came by and turned on the switch. Housekeeping even did the dishes after we cooked up some foods purchased at the nearby grocery. Loved the cave like rooms. Beds are hard (great for me, not my husband).

Service: We received excellent service, though I want to point out a few things. We never met Mike nor Popi, but encountered Andreas many times. He produced a rental car in less than 30 minutes, booked us on a very enjoyable sailing excursion, had great recommendations, and booked us on a shuttle out of town at 5:30am to catch a 7am flight. I believe he upgraded our friends as well. Everything was great, but, to be honest, I don't know if he was joking or not (he likes to joke in a very deadpan manner) but there were times when I thought he had short-term memory loss and had forgotten our requests. We would make a request, there would be silence, we would repeat our request, and he would seem kind of startled and then fulfill the request. Or we would come back and ask the status of the request, and he would seem really surprised and then write it down and then do something like ask us to pay for whatever the request was for...which made us wonder why he didn't do that when we initially made the request. This happened multiple times, and it was humorous, but there was always a part of us that worried whether the shuttle would show up, etc. Maybe it was a language issue. If so, then take that into account.

Pool: A lovely pool with amazing views. Not heated and no hot tub (not necessary, but FYI for people who might want to know). Not a lot of privacy, being right off the main footpath, but just a beautiful space. There was a cute associated cabana with bathrooms and changing rooms and extra towels.

Location: As noted by others, the touristic part of Oia is about 5 minutes away, but that's the start of the touristic part. To really get to the heart of it, near the tip of the island, is about a 15+ minute walk. So, if you want to be in the center of things, a bit of a walk. The tradeoff is that it's quiet. Also, it is on a less developed cliff so the view is a bit more "natural" with a ruined building nearby and more plants and geologic features to appreciate.

Highly recommended, and I would go back in a heartbeat. A great haven from the touristy part of Oia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altairj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    57
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
92
148
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
176 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Strogili traditional houses is just outside the 'crush zone' of Oia, but within a 2 minute stroll of the main area of the town. For me this is advantage, being quieter and more sensibly priced (nowhere in Oia is going to be cheap). We had a superior studio, which I would recommend for a couple, as it provides more privacy when you are on your patio; the standard studios are above, on the same level as the office, while the 6-person studios are below. The patio outside the room provides a perfect view of the caldera, I enjoyed this view for hours on end, and it is the main reason to stay here. A rather nice breakfast is served on the patio, with a linen tablecloth, at a time of your choosing. It can get hot on the patio even at breakfast time, and shade can be hard to find when the sun is low. We had some nice picnics out there in the evenings.

The superior studios come with a double bed (which would seem small to those from the USA), with good quality white linens. All beds in Greece are hard it seems. There is a small kitchen area (sink, hotplates, fridge, crockery, utensils), a safe, air-conditioning and a sofa. The (electric!) shower provides plenty of hot water. The fridge was noisier than I would have liked (I normally unplug them, but could not reach the socket here; actually to be fair we did use the fridge anyway).

The property's swimming pool is about 100 metres away along a public footpath (no problem), it is modestly sized, but very clean. There are (usually) enough loungers free; there are pool towels in the rooms.

There is a small supermarket right next door, this was great for picnic provisions.

Andreas, the manager, and Mike, the driver, are very friendly and helpful, be sure to get their advice on where to go and how to do things. We stayed for a week.

We were very happy here, and sad to have to leave. You will not regret staying at Strogili.

Room Tip: A superior studio will give you more privacy on your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Strogili for 2 nights at the end of our stay in Santorini. We loved the location (set about 200m from the "touristy" heart of Oia) and view of the caldera. We stayed in a traditional house i.e. cave! Quiet, dark to sleep in. All the amenities - kitchen, good bathroom, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Great place, would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 292dereks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Oia has stunning views, but is also a tourist trap and most accommodation options with a caldera view will drain your budget faster than a fat kid sucking on a slurpee. This is the sensible option. You will get great warm service, decent breakfasts, excellent location, sunsets, views of the caldera and a complementary bottle of red wine on arrival! Mike and Andreas are real characters. The pool was spotlessly clean. On the downside, the room that we were in (room 1) was not very private, and nor was the pool area. Ps. Andeas is a great photographer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Expert_adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Loved our stay here and couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful and well maintained property with amazing view of the caldera. The location is perfect, just a short 5 minute walk to the main busy tourist area but just far enough to enjoy quiet mornings and nights on our balcony. Loved our little cave house, we stayed in room 3. The house was immaculate and cozy, complete with a small living area and kitchen. Michael and the other hotel staff were very helpful and had great tips and recommendations for our stay. A small market and bus stop were conveniently located next to the hotel. The property also has a pool, which we took full advantage of to cool off from the heat during the day. Only slight negative was the several steps down to our room so we had to plan well to avoid making several trips going up and down if we forgot something. We were rewarded with the perfect view though. So peaceful to be able to hear the waves crashing against the rocks down below from our balcony. Would not hesitate to stay here again if we get another chance to visit this stunning island.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3. For more privacy and quiet, request a room not on reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First, the good things. The location is perfect--right on the main road to walk into Oia, which is wonderful, and with a gorgeous view of the caldera from your balcony. There are many hotels/villas right nearby that charge many times more than Strogili for this view/location. Breakfast brought to your balcony every morning is also a fabulous feature, and the greek yogurt and pastries are delicious. Room was very clean, and while simple, very charming (we stayed in a studio, which was fine for 2 nights but might be a little small if you are staying longer). Mr. Michael picked us up at 1:30 am from the ferry, which was much appreciated (price was 30 euros). Having the store right there was also great--we got some local wine for evening drinks on the balcony. Now the not-as-good things. We had a little bit of difficulty when it came to our ride to the airport to leave; we had asked them to book Michael for us when we arrived, but when it came about time to go it became clear that they had overbooked him and there was no way he could have taken us at the time we requested. Fortunately, we were able to get a ride to the airport with the wonderful driver who had taken us on our island tour, so it wasn't a problem, but it could have been (and there was a very frustrated family that was waiting for their ride around this time as well--we would have taken them along but there wasn't room in the car). The pool area is nice, but the afternoon we tried to go there were not enough lounge chairs, so we just jumped in the pool and went back to our rooms. We were there in August, however, so this might not be a problem in other months. Finally, if you are looking for a romantic stay, please note that, at least while we were at Strogili, there were many families at the hotel, which made sitting on our balcony a little less tranquil because there were some noisy children and babies on the neighboring balconies (obviously this isn't the hotel's fault--just something good to note if you are looking for a family-friendly place, or not-so-good if you are looking for a quieter, more romantic spot). Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably yes, if I were watching my budget, probably not if I were willing to splurge on some of the more romantic higher-end places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebwbikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We traveled Greece for one month and I have to say that the Strogili was by far the highlight of our entire trip! We traveled as a family of 5 with my husband and I and our 3 children. We stayed in a beautiful cave room and that alone surpassed all of our hopes and wishes. I can't say enough positive things about the staff! When we left, we felt like we were leaving family behind! From picking us up at the ferry port, to taking us on a guided tour of the island, to restaurant recommendations, to a wonderful breakfast each morning, we couldn't have been more pleased. Santorini is a beautiful island and I am sure a majority of places in Oia have nice views, but the above and beyond approach that the staff at Strogili take to make their guests welcome and happy is what will bring us back next time!

When we were in Santorini, the power went out on the entire island for the last 2 days of our stay. This made things very difficult for everyone on the island and I will say that even with all of the chaos they did an excellent job at keeping us informed and trying to make us as comfortable as possible with candles, extended pool hours and whatever else they could help us with. For this, we are truly grateful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 360mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#38 of 56 in Oia
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#44 of 56 in Oia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strogili Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strogili Traditional Houses

Property: Strogili Traditional Houses
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Oia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strogili Traditional Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strogili Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strogili Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Strogili Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing