We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strogili Traditional Houses
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose Strogili's after viewing another property in Oia because the exterior has higher end finishes, the interior was spotless, the unit we had an extra bedroom and bathroom, and for less money! Though it is a few minutes walking distance from the center of Oia, it offers the same exceptional views as other properties on the cliff. The kitchenette and fridge together with the plentiful complimentary breakfast definitely made our meal expense more manageable. And the pool, my 3 kids would have gone crazy without it!

Our wonderful hosts, Popi, Mike and their Mom really made our stay memorable. The staff were very accommodating and prompt in responding to our needs. Million thanks to Popi for helping arrange our 25th year wedding vow renewal. At Strogili's, we felt we are in our own home in Santorini!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FjLabayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    57
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
95
156
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

After viewing lots of Oia accommodation via Trip Advisor we settled on Strogili Traditional Houses which is situated a short walk outside the village of Oia. Our superior studio apartment was simply furnished with ensuite shower and well equipped kitchenette. The apartment had a simply lovely balcony with a stunning view of the Caldera. Breakfast was served on our balcony each morning and was excellent: orange juice, coffee, joghurt and honey, croissants and pastries and hardboiled egg and three different types of delicious, fresh bread. Strogili also has a swimming pool situated just a short walk from the complex - beautifully maintained with lots of pool loungers. Oia is a fascinating little village to explore, full of wonderful shops and of course ... always the views .... Lots and lots of excellent restaurants - we had only one less than great experience. We spent a fabulous 10 days and cant wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalwayssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at Stroligi & have come away with the most amazing experience. Starting with Michael picking us up at the wharf (what a gentleman he is & very patient, even took us back to the airport very early when we sadly left) through to the beautiful quaint 1 bedroom cavehouse, breathtaking location & splendid breakfast each morning. Location is fantastic being probably an easy 500 metre walk to the centre of Oia, Minimarket next door, reasonably priced Taverna across the road with great views of the opposite side of the Caldera, bus stop just outside & the pool a very short distance away with again unbelieveable views. Poppi was very helpful in arranging side trips as well. I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation to anyone & it made our entire 4 week holiday the best ever & we can't wait to get back there. Yes there are about 23 steps to where we stayed so those not that young Michael helps with the luggage. No dramas with the hot water as we simply soaped ourselves us up between turning the water on each time (after heating the water for 20 min) & we had more than enough water to last us. It was summer so is was warm anyway.

Room Tip: If the dehumidifier is too loud at night (used to keep the cavehouse dry) Michael said it was OK to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Strogili Traditional Houses in Oia, Santorini for 4 nights to finish out our girls' trip (we went to Florence and Rome first). First of all, the hosts Mikey and Popi were great and helped make our stay very enjoyable. Mikey greeted us at the airport and showed us around the room--we stayed in a standard studio apartment, of which there are 3 I beieve: a double bed, cute little sofa, coffee table with complimentary white wine from Santorini, mini kitchenette (electric burners, mini fridge, plates/utensils), small but adequate bathroom. The hotel is amazing...right off the main road coming into the village, but easy walking distance to shops, restaurants. It is just steps from a good market, where we stocked up on fresh fruit and drinks, bought a calling card, etc. The little terrace is gorgeous, with potted flowers and an unbelievable view of the volcano caldera and blue water. The pool is just a little walk up the road past the market and is to die for- hotel provides pool & beach towels, nice umbrellas, chaise lounges, a small kitchen, bathrooms with showers (public and private), a shady area with tables and chairs, and the same incredible view. The breakfast was definitely a highlight- brought to your terrace each morning when requested: Greek yogurt with honey and fruit jams, croissants, an assortment of breads, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and orange juice. You get 1 hour of complimentary WiFi, but the signal never worked for us. My only negative comment is the cost of the private hotel transfers (very expensive!)- take the bus to town or beaches for much less (buses are 1.60-2.00 E each leg of the trip). All in all, a very memorable place to stay in Santorini (appeared to be one of the best in Oia, which I would definitely recommend staying in over Fira). Go to Strogili and have the time of your life!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlrefro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My stay at Strogoli was perfect! Greece is my new favorite destination. The location of the hotel was just a very short walk into town, yet far enough to enjoy the quiet views over the water at night under the stars. It couldn't have been more romantic! The verandas were nice and large, good breakfast served every morning, and the rooms were romantic. We liked having the kitchenette and the market was just at the top of the stairs. Popy was kind and attentive, but never in our way. Price seemed reasonable for the area. Our room had a queen bed in the cave bedroom, and in the living area there were also two day beds that doubled at sofas. If you were taking a family it would have worked great with kids. The rooms were always refreshingly cool too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our studio room was tiny but complete with a small kitchen, shower bathroom, and a private patio with deck furniture. The blue ocean with views of cruise ships, fishboats and the quaint excursion boats was about 1000 feet below. Oia is an artist's and photographer's dream, with white or pastel buildings with iconic blue roofs. The proprietors of this hotel were very helpful in arranging a boat excursion and providing car rental information. An excellent continenal breakfast was provided every day, and the location was within easy walking distance of some delightful taverns and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vertigo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a great one night stay at the Strogili Traditional Houses. We booked one of the studio rooms which wer were at first a bit disappointed with as the view, while spectacular was not unobstructed like most of of the other rooms. The price was less so our bad as we should have expected that. Saying that, we could only stay one night and did not get back to our room until late so really did not matter.

The room was spacious and well appointed and in very good shape, albeit a touch dated. I loved the huge sink in the bathroom and shower was very good. There was hotplate, sink, utensils if you wanted to prepare your own food however a wonderful light breakfast is served. We also had a patio with chairs and table to enjoy drink before dinner and breakfast in the morning.

The bed was very firm (I think memory foam bed) but fine for us...depends on your preference.

They have parking across the street which is convenient if you rent a car.

The pool is about 100m up the path but has fabulous views of the Caldera.

There is a very good restaurant across the street for lunch although no Caldera view. Also a convenience store right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambition Suites
Ambition Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strogili Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strogili Traditional Houses

Property: Strogili Traditional Houses
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Oia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strogili Traditional Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strogili Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strogili Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Strogili Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing