We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best sunset ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset in Oia

Sunset in Oia
Book In Advance
$1,148*
and up
Private Day or Sunset Tour - Lagoon 420
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best sunset ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sunset in Oia is probably the best in the world, and Oia is one of the most amazing and well preserved towns i have been to. Capri feels like a cheap industrial area compared to it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaioX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,170
    950
    559
    136
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Oia is a fantastic place with so many little tucked away places down twisty steps and alleyways. There are brilliant views and buildings, along with the iconic blue domed churches. However it's so crowded for the sunset that it takes all the pleasure away. We had the best gyros pitta at a small cafe near the bus terminus, as all we wanted was a snack. We watched the sunset which was pretty, but not the best I've ever seen, from another vantage point.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank guardianangel1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but too crowded....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The sunset from anywhere on the cliffs in santorini is breathtaking, the sunset at Oia is overrated. It is too crowded to enjoy the views....I had to tiptoe to catch the sunset which was pretty annoying. We also caught the sunset from a view point a few meters ahead of santo winery in pyrgos, and the colors blew us away.Its not too crowded and u can see the caldera , along with the villages glittering in the distance. I would recommend sunset from pyrgos or even fira rather than Oia.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljunkie0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pretty but not 'the best' sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Oia is reknowned as 'the' place to be to see the sunset whilst on Santorini.
Yes it is the place 1000's go to each evening but that doesn't make it the best. You can see equally as good sunsets from Thira or most anywhere on the west side of Santorini.
That said Oia is a very charming place. We revisited in a morning (having hired an ATV for the day) after we had seen sunset as part of day long island trip. And Oia was all the better for it with much more room to breathe, enjoy and move around.

There is some nice shopping - and more 'accessible (price) than Thira.
If anything it is 'nicer' than Thira.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PipPaul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome, didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We rented a car for the day off the ship to cover the island and went straight to Oia. After two hours and many pics, we didn't want to leave. I could see spending a week here. From the other comments, I need to be here for the sunsets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_Tebowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset in Oia also viewed

 
 

Been to Sunset in Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing