We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sunset view in Oia - Room 18”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this hotel from an article on the 15 best, afford spas in the world http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/02/worlds-best-destination-spas_n_2768360.html

We knew we wanted a rooftop balcony and we were put in room 18. OMG....most amazing view. The rooftop terrace was our own for room 18. Room 19 has a rooftop terrace as well but the view isn't nearly as amazing and we never saw the people from that room on their balcony. We had a completely unobstructed sunset view. Actually, it is a 360 degree view and probably the highest rooftop in Oia. We spend each night drinking wine from Sigalas Winery and watching the sunset. We also watched the hordes of people flocking to try and get a spot to watch the sunset at the castle while we relaxed and drink wine.

The room is average, clean, great breeze, AC. We hardly spent any time in the room because if we were at the hotel we were on the rooftop terrace. We never used the pool but it looked nice.

The girl at reception was so, so sweet and plays great music at breakfast (which starts at 9 or 9:30am). Breakfast is average but a descent spread.

Room has a blow dryer and we called for a iron which they brought up to us.

The location of this hotel is great! It is right on the walking only street in Oia. It has a beautiful, pink flower tree right in font which everyone takes pictures of.

Room Tip: Room 18 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hden6287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 225 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We had an upstairs room with a balcony, and the room was wonderful. The receptionist was so helpful with beach and lunch suggestions. No, this place does not have a caldera view, but I could walk 10 steps and see it without paying outrageous prices for a room when this place was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30090Laura_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. The hotel is right on Oia's main pedestrianised street, opposite the very good Pelekanos restaurant, which has fabulous sunset terrace. The hotel was very attractive from the outside with the plants in flower. I arrived at night and was met by the bell hop at the bus station who carried my bag to the hotel. Reception was closed by then and then was a bit of waiting around while he found someone to give him the key to my room. Brilliant room - it had a large kitchen/living area with table & chairs, two sofas (presumably used as beds when more people staying) and one had a pull out bed under it. The bedroom itself was spacious. I guess the room slept 5 overall but the only toilet was off the main bedroom which might be a nuisance if a group were sharing. There were two small tables and chairs on the communal balcony outside overlooking the main street. You couldn't really see the sea from here though. Reception & the breakfast room are downstairs and the pool and several more rooms are at the back, away from the street. Never really did get to see where the spa aspects were - I think they are tucked away around the back behind the trees. When looking at hotel from Pelekanos terrace I discovered that some rooms upstairs must have their own roof top balconies from which you could watch the sunset (and be watched by the crowds at the restaurant so not very private!). I got this hotel for a good price on Expedia which made it a reasonable place to stay but if money is no object then try one of the cave house hotels set into the cliffs for the true Oia experience.

Room Tip: If you want a room opening directly onto its own terrace ask for one by the pool, or with a roof top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It would be hard to have a bad time in Oia, Santorini even if you were just camping. This hotel is several steps above that. Pluses: good location, bedroom with high ceilings, some views, good price. Minor inconveniences: room smells moldy, breakfast begins at 9 a.m. (so go out early and come back for breakfast) and a humorously narrow bathroom with 30 inch by 30 inch shower and adjacent toilet in a five foot wide space. Controls so low (butt high) you turn the shower off and on if you move within it; the shower curtain is so short the small bathroom slick floor gets wet. The advertisement I saw for this hotel boasted of a knowledgeable staff and cable television. I mark down a place for not living up to its claims. For all practical purposes there is no television since one only gets a few fuzzy Greek channels. Staff did try to fix it, with one saying that "the wind blows the antenna around." I was hoping to watch some of the French Open. If you don't plan to watch television, this won't matter. Also, in one of the reception staff I met the first hotel staffer in Greece who spoke no English. I asked if she had any lunch recommendations. She looked at me quizzically. I asked about restaurants. She sounded out the word back to me. Another hotel patron rescued me with a good recommendation. Neither of these last two items or the bathroom size may matter to you. If price and location are the key for you, this place will be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up, away from pedestrian traffic are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 196John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseum, Manager at The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Museum Spa Welness Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some features of our hotel. As for the size of the bathrooms, we need to specify that the compact layout of the village, crowded along and on the sides of the cliff formation, does not allow for larger space in the building design.
We are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered. Therefore we would like to apologize for the problem we had with the TV cable. Unfortunately, on the day of your arrival we had a power failure that blacked out the entire village between 7 and 11 a.m. The entire cable network was damaged by this failure and despite our continued effort, it took two days to restore it, much longer than we expected.
As for the qualifications of our personnel, we can assure you that all our front-desk employees have a good command of English. Yet, since the hotel receptionist was missing for a short while, which coincided exactly with the interval in which you needed some recommendations, the massage therapist replaced here and unfortunately she could not answer your request. Please accept our apologies for this incident as well.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very special. Even with my high expectations i was impressed. It is a beautiful hotel with less than 15 rooms which means the attention to detail and quality of customer service is extremely high.We couldn't have selected a better hotel to stay. Booking an excellent bus service from the airport, on arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful driver.It was the PERFECT location, walking distance to everything. Beautiful on the outside, clean - comfortable rooms. We loved the stylish garden and enjoyed every time at the pool. Staff overall were exceptional, great attention to detail. They had a wonderful buffet breakfast. A unique pool filled daily with fresh water, and great spa service completed the ultimate experience. Without doubt we would stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maganda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week in Santorini.We stayed 6 nights in this hotel and would definitely stay there again.The room was light and airy, beautifully clean and nicely decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting at the garden near the pool having our delicious breakfast.The staff was helpful and courteous. Overall and from check-in to check-out the hotel lived up to our expectations.I would suggest experiencing their spa treatments.You will not go wrong with this hotel.It's a perfect, relaxing place to stay, well located for the sights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a great small hotel in the heart of it all. I was amazed. We stayed 3 nights, and of course like most people I'm sure, wished it was more. The staff was very sweet and really made you feel at home. The spa onsite is to die for; the ultimate pampering experience. They know how to take care of you! Definitely worth the very long travel time we took to get there. Many thanks to all that made our holidays so special.

Room Tip: Recommended: honeymoon suite with caldera view on the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castilo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.3 mi away
Santorini Secret Premium
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#40 of 58 in Oia
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel

Address: Oia, Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece (Formerly BEST WESTERN Museum Spa Wellness Hotel)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Price Range: $178 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the village of Oia on Santorini, a charming and compelling place filled with its own special history. The Museum Spa Wellness Hotel was the most beautiful mansion of the village and belonged to a consul who very often offered his hospitality to the Greek King and Queen(Othonas and Amalia) ,since this was their favorite summer house. Before becoming a hotel, it was a museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oia
Oia Best Western
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel Oia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing