We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good location!Hotel Alexander made our Santorini trip extra special, it got excellent facilities as we've stayed in a suite with balcony overlooking the caldera with a private jacuzzi! How great can it be?!!! The lady receptionist is the friendliest person in the island, very helpful and she's always there to lend a hand. She's amazing!!! I would definitely stay here again, and again and again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    66
    41
    41
    37
See reviews for
111
232
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Alexander's and we already want to plan a return trip! This hotel is family run and everyone genuinely cares about your experience. It was great to get to know Alexander's family (including "mini me", his daughters dog) while we stayed at this wonderful hotel. It is important to note that Oia is a very nice area of the island and this hotel provides a great view of the caldera, wonderful food, a high level of customer service, and an authentic Santorini experience. Everything you need. All of the staff are extremely happy, friendly, and they speak very highly of Alexander. We stayed in one of the cave rooms and everything we needed was provided for us. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJC62511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

First a disclaimer, after 5 years of staying at Alexander’s Boutique Hotel I have become great friends with Mr. Alexander and many of his staff. But then again how often in life to you make livelong friends who own or work at a hotel?

Now for a brief review: New this year is the food: Some of the best dining in Santorini right at the hotel. Our first night we were wined and dined until 5 AM. Everything was perfect and we wanted to smuggle Aris the chef (sorry if I got your name spelled wrong) home with us. What is the same: The best views, most convenient location and friendliest hotel in Santorini. I missed my flight out of Santorini and Mr. Alexander personally drove me to the port at 1:30 AM to catch a boat back to Athens.

Important Advice: Book well in advance as this hotel, while very accommodating, rarely has any last minute availabilities, due to the high-level of return business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevoVillaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vufflens-le-Chateau, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Six of us friends stayed at the hotel Alexander's Boutique in Oia and we had a great experience. They gave us two large rooms joined by a common living area, each room could sleep 3-4 people. The staff was friendly and most accommodating in every way. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viegas-Haws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I travel extensively around the world (and I travel frequently to Africa). The Windmill House was the worst room I've ever received in all of my travels. We asked to be relocated to a different room, but were told none were available. We immediately left the hotel and rebooked at a Starwood property for our stay on Santorini. The front desk was exceptionally chilly after learning of our departure (and they couldn't even find our booking to officially check us out... their systems are rudimentary at best... handwriting information on stacks of random papers cluttering the "reception", if you can call it that. Even though the Windmill House (located across the main road) wasn't accurately explained on the hotel's website or in person, Alex has refused to refund out money citing that the nightly rate is so good for the area, that we basically have nothing to complain to about. He has been utterly unhelpful. The bathroom was outside the room, for heaven's sake (imagine navigating a set of dark stairs and fumbling with a key just to relieve yourself in the middle of the night).

Here are some comments I sent to Booking.com about our experience:

The information certainly wasn't accurate about the bathroom being outside the Windmill Room down a dark flight of stairs. Nor was the dirty mattress sitting outside the front door. Nor were the random curtain rods next to the stairs. Nor the non-functioning lighting. Nor the "mattress" serving as a "sofa" in the "living room". We did not know we were booked in a Windmill House prior to arrival. In fact, the Windmill House isn't even listed on their website (which is deceitful of the the property). It's horrible business to show photos of the most beautiful rooms on their website (which we never saw in person) and then put guests in an ugly, cramped, featureless, dirty and uninhabitable unit.

We most certainly won't be returning to Alexanders for a room upgrade or free meal. Are you kidding me!? The whole experience was a total waste of time and money. It's unfortunate that Alex won't work to repair our arrangement. I have many friends who travel internationally and I will be sure to tell them to avoid his establishment at all costs. I recommend that you remove
Alexanders from your listing of hotels for Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Alexander's Boutique Hotel sits right at the beginning of the main street in Oia. The views of the caldera are stunning, right out of a movie. The hospitality of the hotel staff is amazing. Yvetta was our contact most of the days of our stay. She was helpful and kind booking tours for us, suggesting where to eat, swim, as well as helping us arrange transportation.
I am honestly surprised to read any negative reviews. Yes, the houses are literally caves and carved right into the side of the rock so wifi reception is better toward the front of the house. We used wifi daily and received it well all over the property. The houses were very spacious and the views were without compare.
The morning after we returned from our catamaran cruise I realized that I had left my baby sling with the driver. Yvetta arranged for them to bring it back to the hotel for me. Her genuine kindness was appreciated. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheymami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Alexander's Boutique Hotel is located towards the beginning of Oia.
The two bedroom apartment style Diamond Suite suited our family of 4 very well. Quaint and beautifully decorated with potted plants and artifacts. Lovely balcony with a hot tub and a great view of the Caldera. There is also a spiral staircase which leads to the terrace on top of the room, which has deck chairs, umbrellas etc. We enjoyed dinner and sunset here one night. Great views and a lovely breeze!
The walk from the hotel to the end of Oia is lovely! There is also a store nearby, with food and wine. Car rental is 150m up the road.
Breakfast is served on your terrace. Staff is friendly and helpful.
The four poster bed was nice to look at but would have got better sleep in a conventional full size king bed. One bathroom for four persons was a little short of need, but manageable.
Our price was reasonable relative to expensive Oia full season rates at other hotels further into Oia.

Room Tip: Some other rooms seemed newer. Also, check out the balcony and view. Rooms near the top mean fewer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SumainMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#42 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#40 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing