We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but not very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Oia is a spectacular spot, so when we booked the Windmill at Alexander's Boutique Hotel we were expecting it to be windy - of course its a converted windmill! - and to have great views, which it did - but what was missing was the 'boutique' level of comfort. To be fair we were warned that the ensuite was 'just outside' the door, however in reality it is across a roof, immediately adjacent to the main road (the bus passengers would have been amused by my dash in the dressing gown) and down some rather steep stairs.

Inside the windmill is cramped, the bed uncomfortably hard, our request for extra pillows forgotten, the stairs frighteningly steep and without handrail. Don't attempt this unless you are agile (a requirement for Oia in any case) and don't need to get up in the night....

Fun, but didn't meet expectations.

Room Tip: Stay in a room near the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sajehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 573 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

In advance of our arrival, Iveta of Alexander's Boutique, had already arranged our very early morning airport transfer. Upon our arrival at the hotel Alexi was waiting with coffee service and his fantastic smile of welcome. Iveta made sure, as soon as the first available room was ready , that we could go straight to our room - a private suite looking out across the beautiful blue waters of the caldera. Iveta recommended activities on the island and arranged the ones in which we wanted to participate. All her recommendations were excellent and we enjoyed our boating and restaurant experiences she recommended. I am from the southern part to the US and southern hospitality is known for making guests feel welcomed throughout their stay. Alexander's Boutique staff exceeded our southern standards by far. We would like to take our entire family back in four years and stay in the lovely suites of Alexander's Boutique and have them too experience the Greek hospitality of Iveta, Alexi and all the staff at this exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyday2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights in one of the nice cave suites. Great hospitality, Couldn't ask for a better view! We enjoyed the frest fruit for breakfast. The hostess, Ivita was wonderful with suggestions fo things to do and see. Not overbearing: just right. We could not have picked a better place for a romantic getaway. The pool is shared across the street and there is no resteraunt. However, there are tons of options in town and a lovely stroll to and from the bustle of the village.- Doug and Marie from Seattle

Room Tip: Do not ask for a room at the top level as there is a little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and had a brilliant time. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was meticulously clean and the views were amazing. The photos don't do it justice. Although the pool was over the road, this actually worked well as there was more breeze on that side. It was also part of a tavern where many locals ate. The breakfasts were more than adequate. Fruit, toast eggs, cheese and ham with tea coffee orange juice and jams and honey which are served on the terrace with that stunning view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivareo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Can't recommend Alexander's enough. From our first moment, when Iveta welcomed us like visiting family, to our last delicious breakfast with the view of the sapphire blue waters, this has been a stellar experience. We will miss the graciousness of Iveta and Anali, as well as the helpfulness of Alexis -- and even Mini-me! They made great recommendations of where to go, places to eat, things to see & do. As Iveta explained, this is not her job, it is what she loves to do -- and we are so grateful! The cave room is charming and roomy enough for three. The showers were hot and the AC cool -- perfect! We had a great view of the caldera right outside our room without having to suffer hundreds of stairs like the adjacent properties. Last night, we got to watch the sun set in the west and the full moon rise in the east -- all from the rooftop view point. Thank you all for making our days in Santorini so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockymtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was traveling with two friends for our 30th birthdays, and we were so lucky to stay at Alexanders! We had no recommendations for Oia hotels, and chose the hotel based on online reviews, and could not have been happier. We were upgraded to the Diamond Suite, which was one of the most breathtaking rooms I have ever stayed in. Plus, to make the stay even better, the staff were lovely. Anali, Alexander's daughter, was a great host - showing us the "real" Santorini. And Iveta was lovely and made sure every aspect of our stay was taken care of. I would certainly recommend Alexander's to anyone traveling to Oia, and can't wait to return myself!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am beyond words trying to express my gratitude and enjoyment at Alexander's Boutique. Santorini in general is heavenly but our stay here made the experience much more fulfilling. The staff went above and beyond to be sure we were comfortable and satisfied. They also made great suggestions on restaurants and beaches, clearly very educated on the area. Their kindness and generosity makes the hotel welcoming and homey. An absolutely incredible breakfast is served in the morning with a priceless view of the Caldera. I felt like royalty. Alex himself is a sincere, wonderful host and I have absolutely nothing but spectacular things to say!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $119 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing