We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable view!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cave apartment which has their own jacuzzi outside your door where you can have the most amazing view of the sunset in the caldera. We didint have to go to town to see the sunset. We did it from our jacuzzi while drinking a cup of wine. It was a very quiet place so we could enjoy the nature and beauty of the scenary. The apartments are beautifuly decorated, more like a vintage style. At the apartments you have a kitchenet, fridge and everything you need to cook your own meals. But we prefered to have our breakfast at Alexanders and it was delicious and the view once again was amazing. Cons: At he cave, the room is not too spacious. but then you have a little dinning/living room where you can put your luggage. Its not too spacious but is not tiny either. The other con was that "the lobby" is at Alexanders but the cave is a bit further. However, the staff was very helpful and carried our luggage. We rented a car the day after so that little distance was no problem afterwards, And near the Alexanders there is a parking Lot and near the caves there is a lot of space to park as well. Everywhere you go in Oia you will have to walk a little but it is definetly worthy. But in General, I think

Room Tip: cave rooms are really quiet and you have to pick front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    72
    43
    42
    41
See reviews for
115
242
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in a Cave Apartment complete with a jacuzzi tub. The terrace, where we enjoyed breakfast every morning, overlooked the caldera. If you're going to multiple destinations in Greece, save your money for Alexander's Boutique. The Cave environment add so much to your stay.

Room Tip: The apartments offer a small kitchenette and there is a grocery store less than 100 meters away. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sounded appealing, a holiday in a cave. It was actually better, not just any old cave, it was all mod con, with air conditioning (A bit rattly at night) hot water and shower. We had the Opal cave which was great for 2. Could have taken more people, there was a double bed and a single and I am sure oe could bed down on the sofa. Mornings were great, just call reception on the in-house 'phone, order tea or cofee and go out onto the large shared patio area with wonderful views of the sea, nearby islands and the cruise ship arrivals area in the distance. Brealkfast appeared quickly, served by a young man in immaculate white line. Same each day, although you could choose what you ate. There was croisants, savoury one day and plain the next. Toast, jams, ham and cheese, Greek Yoghurt and honey (Mmmmmm) and a dish of red and green melon, orange juice and tea or coffee. No rush, one or two resident cats came along to see what we might give them, but didn't bother us. Nearby little supermarket where we bought eggs, bread and wine and cooked ommelettes on the little electric hob provided, and ate on the patio some nights, now decked out with candles. The "Swimming Pool" was in fact at another property a short walk down the road and we were given a ticket when we wanted to use it.

Lots of nearby eating places nearby, mostly spotless and good value. The little town is very clean, lots of art shops, and all built in the recent past after a devastating earthquake some years back. A photographer's dream, beautiful Churches with blue domes and lots of other cave house built into the sides of the edge of what was once a volcano. Some, including Alexanders going underground and under the road.

Oia is famed for wonderful sunsets and travellers come from all over the world to see the spectacle, apparently best seen from Oia. Not so in our case, we went out for seven nights in July and not once did we see a sunset that was in any way impressive. I think it would be better with some clouds, but as there weren't any so there was nothing for the rays to break through.

Would we go again? Not for a while, it was a wonderful holiday in beautiful surroundings and sometimes with a second visit, the memories and romance of the previous visit disapear. Would we recommend it? Yes, ideal for couples, romance and a quiet holiday. Warning! The cave houses all have quite steep steps which vary in width and height, Not good for the less mobile.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is my third time to this Hotel & Spa since 2008. I am not sure what keeps drawing me back to Oia and this hotel but every time I go back I feel as if I am returning home. As I get aboard the aircraft to leave I am already planning my next visit back. The views from this hotel are nothing but spectacular and the staff are always very pleasant and helpful. Anyone, anywhere in the world, that thinks that the Greeks and people who live in Greece do not work enough need to visit this Island. The people that work here work long days and every day from early in the morning to late in the evening. They work in the extreme heat delivering trays, luggage and laundry. I would like to see anyone who sits at a desk all day try and carry luggage up and down these steps; all work is done by men and women a like. I would like to take this opportunity to say “Thank You” to all of you who leave your homes to come to this Island to work every season.

Room Tip: They do have one suite that is wheelchair accessible. All other rooms are cave rooms. All nice with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designerUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Alexander's Boutique Hotel for 4 nights. I was literally speechless when we first got there and saw the view of the hotel. We could not have asked for a more beautiful view. The staff is VERY nice, especially Evett and all the Afghan servers. They brought us wine while we waited to get our room. The location of the hotel is incredible in terms of the view. It is situated right at the beginning of Oia town. We stayed at the basic rooms with no view but it was a cute cave house and the moment we stepped out we were faced with an amazing view so we didnt care that we did not have the view from the room itself. I would suggest that they change the decor of the rooms a bit. They don't have to do much. If they simply change the bed covers, couch covers and pillows to white, simple covers, it would make the room look so much better and so much more Santorinish!
The breakfast was served in front of our room on a beautiful patio with that georgous view that I can't say enough about. The breakfast was great and it was served to you. It is the same everyday. However, if you want, you can request other things like scrambeled eggs etc and they will gladly make it for you.
The also recommend this 90Euro boat cruise of the volcano which we took after researching a bit to see what else was out there. This was the best value out of all of them and we ended up loving it. The best part was that it included lunch and we were expecting a very low quality lunch due to the fact that most exersions that include food do not serve very good food. But we were shocked to find out that they served us FRESH food that they were making right on the boat which included Greek salad, Kebabs, Grilled calamari and more. It was great!
But back to the hotel, the swimming pool is across the street, part of another hotel, but it's just average.
I think the best part about the hotel was that the owner, Alexander, was very friendly, kind, and social. He invited us to have wine with him one night and we ended up having wine and good conversation with him 2 nights until 1 in the morning. He really makes an effort to get to know his guests and to try to make his guests' stay more pleasant and comfortable. He asked us the first night what we thought about the breakfast. And we told him it was great but would have loved to have Feta cheese and tomatoes too. Sure enough, that's what we got the next day! So he made a huge difference and thus we would def go back to his hotel and will def recommend others to do so as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salmira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Alexander's Boutique Hotel in Oia is a place which I can recommend if you are looking for a relaxing vacation.
The view is breathtaking. The service excellent. The rooms are very clean and all the staff carry smiles all day. The location just perfect; only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants.
We stayed there for 6 nights and on the second day Mr Alexander upgraded us to a much bigger room. This cave rooms are truly an experience by itself. Breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the caldera. What more do you need to start the day? Thanks to everybody there, specially to Mohamed, who took great care of us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubai_and_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Alexander's wonderful hotel. I cannot say enough about our repeat experiences. We have stayed in, or visited, almost ½ the available rooms and have never been disappointed. Each one offers a unique and amazing experience.
Major assets to consider if this is your first time to Oia:
• Only steps from the main road into Oia – no dragging your luggage down the marble path while trying to find your hotel
• Yet you are minutes away from the beautiful village of Oia
• Convenient parking, sometimes right in front of the hotel, otherwise no more than a few kilometers away
• Within walking distance of Santorini Mou – a must do for a late night dinner. Even if you are in Oia for only one night you need to spend a few hours in the company of Mihalis Hionas at Santorini Mou for great music and camaraderie.
And the #1 reason to stay at Alexander’s is to spend at least an hour with Alexander over a glass of wine outside reception. His personal attention will last with you long after you have left the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevoVillaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing