We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, brand new place just outside Oia”
Review of Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Pelagos just opened this year. Great service from the manager, Antonios. He really makes you feel at home. Beach is nearby, great pool at the hotel, quiet, away from the crazy crowded places.

You will need a vehicle to move around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chan_ty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Pelagos Hotel-Oia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 293 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

It's the worst experience in my Greece trip. I won't go to this island because of the hotel. Bad enviorment, dirty room, and angry owner.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank v681130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We were mortified when we read the reviews! We had booked 5 nights in Santorini at the Pelagos Traditional Studios 8months in advance back in December because of the inexpensive room rates and the reviews seemed okay. So imagine our horror on the reading about unsanitary conditions and unhappy guests. But do not despair, read on...

We pitched with relatively low expectations, and as we had only paid for one night (as a deposit) we were quite prepared to start looking for another hotel after our first night. But you know what? Pelagos provided a nice basic place to explore the island

The acommodation is best described as basic - but certainly satisfactory and definitely not unclean. The cleaning was done thouroughly and on a daily basis (indeed we tipped the cleaner due to the thorough job she did). The hired help (Leonard) was also very helpful and the pool area immaculate.

The only criticism I would level is perhaps that the studios were a little tired - suffering from a gentle neglect. A creaking cupboard door (like the gates of Hades opening), mis-matched glasses and the odd bit of gaffer tape holding things together, and that the facilities for self catering were not brilliant (ie no cooking facilities - but adequate for preparing fruit and salads). Having said this - many of these petty irritations were remedied during our stay - and with just a little effort on the owners part the apartments would be lovely.

Baxedes is a lovely peaceful place (I would say village - but is more a lose collection of studios and tavernas) consequently a hire car is a MUST!

The studios are set in a tranquil, pleasant location - with beautiful dark skies, and a sun terrace to watch the famed Thiran sunset. The nearby beaches of Baxedes and Paradisos are black sand/shingle beaches but gloriously long and quite. I would recommend a sunset walk followed by dinner at one of the road side traditional Greek Tavernas like Paradisos Taverna(where the food is inexpensive and you don't order from the menu - you go to the kitchen and point to it).

So would I recommend Pelagos traditional studios? Well it depends what you want. There are certainly places to stay in Santorini that afford more stunning views - with a concommitently large price tag. However if you are looking for something inexpensive but basic, clean and peaceful Pelagos Tradiitonal Studios would certainly do the trick.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dillish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Holland, MI
15
Reviewed June 19, 2004

It is true every where that you get what you pay for.. and since the Pelagos is resonably priced in Santorini that is extremely true. The hotel is not within walking distance of Oia so a rental car is necessary. The accomadations are sparse but well mantained. Monika, the owner, is very gracious but the same can not be said of her partner..very gruff and downright rude at times. All in all a good bargain.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank AntoninoMaggio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.3 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#45 of 56 in Oia
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#37 of 56 in Oia
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Hotel-Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Address: Pelagos hotel, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Oia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $106 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelagos Hotel-Oia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelagos is located at “Baxedes” of Oia in Santorini island, just 3km from the center of Oia village and 200m from the most beautiful beach of Oia, among vineyards and gardens where you will find all the beauty and calmness for your relaxation. You can choose to swim in the beautiful and nearby beach of the hotel (300m), or in one of the nearby beaches (Columbo, Paradisos, Pori), or to take a dive in our amazing pool (10m x 20m). For our little guests there is a smaller swimming pool. Relax drinking your coffee or cocktail at the fully equipped bar and try traditional Greek cuisine in the renovated restaurant next to the pool and in the shade of the vineyard surrounded by friendly and cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelagos Hotel-Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Traditional Studios Hotel Oia
Pelagos Traditional Studios Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing