We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”
Review of Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at Pelagos was wonderful! Nice hotel, friendly staff and good food! We would return anytime if we go back to Santorini. Nicely located with a lot of parking! Thank you very much! You can walk to the beach from this hotel, about 200 m on the right of the main road but you need a car or another mean of transportation to get to the hotel

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Zolo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 299 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Antonis, Pericles and all at Pelagos for four nights in September.

Great rooms, all separate. Our room with a mezzanine bed. Pool was lovely. The whole place very relaxing. It is more remote than staying in one of the towns. We rented a quad bike for 30 euros a day and could easily get around the island, thanks to the hotel for arranging.

Excellent food for all meals.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyWorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay. My girlfriend and I had been recommended to stay here and we weren't disappointed. It was peaceful and relaxing and we were happy not to move very far for the first two days. The hotel had a barbecue evening with live entertainment and this proved a bonus as was so enjoyable with lovely food. We didn't bother hiring a car and took taxis into Oia which cost about 10 euros and Antonis kindly drove us in on one occasion. We both adored Oia. The shops are so individual and if you enjoy fashion and artwork you'll be spoilt. Oia is breathtakingly beautiful and is so romantic. We ran into a Japanese bride and groom, then on our last evening chatted to a couple who'd just got engaged. Our room was kept very clean with fresh towels every day. The swimming pool is large with a smaller one for children. There were always daily "specials" on the menu and was lovely to see the ingredients being picked in the morning. Antonis and Pericles were both so friendly and will help you plan your stay. We had sunset trip on the catamaran which can recommend. Have already recommended to our friends and didn't want to come home!

Room Tip: Room 1 is near pool and bar/eating area (sleeps up to 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Well we have just returned from 2 glorious weeks in Santorini. The Pelagos Hotel is made up of Beautifully designed Apartments, tucked away amid palm trees, grapevines and fig trees.Giving you the impression that you are in the middle of paradise, Yet Oia town is a 40min walk away,(10 mins by car)and thats walking at a slow pace with 2 children aged 7 and 10 , through wine vineyards watching the sun go down.The atmosphere and facilities are all superb and we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing 'pool and beach' holiday.
The hotel is immaculately kept and everywhere was kept very clean. We have stayed at good hotels in various countries from Cuba to Italy but never go back, certainly back here next year.
You can let your children run free knowing that they are safe, the food is all prepared by the mother who cooks food as its meant to be cooked and with tastes out of this world. The father you will find looking after the vegetable gardens and will show the children all the different kinds of fruit and veg that they grow. Antonis the Hotel Manager and Perikles, cannot do enough for you , which is also the same for the rest of the staff.
Package all this up and you have the Pelagos a perfect place to have a holiday with no regrets and to travel around the island from.

Thank you all for such a great time

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just to reiterate what has already been said...beautiful clean rooms, amazing swimming pool and most surprisingly, some of the best food we had in Santorini. You do need a car but stunning place to relax and great value. Wished we'd booked for longer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Naftalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Pelagos Hotel is a gem! Beautiful location and traditional Hellenic architecture,very friendly staff and management, clean rooms, splendid and convivial swimming pool area, delicious food.We had an amazing experience! the beach is a few minutes away. The village Oia is a 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes drive. Most of th vegetables come from their organic vegetable garden.
I organized a Yoga retreat group there for 1 week in the summer. We all felt at home. The staff (Antonis, Peri and everyone) is so attentive to all of our needs. Yoga outdoor was inspiring.
As an organizer, I really enjoyed the professionalism, kindness and attention to details of Antonis, the hotel manager.
It was such a success that we are returning in September 2013 for another week for my Energetic Vinyasa Flow™Yoga retreat.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience warm Greek hospitality and a lovely vacation!

Room Tip: Ground floor room are more spacious. Second floor room have a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isabelleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Pelagos Hotel – 12 to 19 June 2012

I joined a local group of ladies, and some partners, for a yoga/Pilates week away. This hotel was specifically chosen because of its blue painted area behind the restaurant had enough space for 30 yoga mats.

The nearby seated area is where you have buffet continental breakfast each morning, lunch and dinner. If sea bream is on the dinner menu it’s truly worth ordering; best I’ve ever tasted.

The accomodation is clean and some rooms had three beds for groups sharing. I had an apartment to myself with a double bed and stayed in room 10. It had cooking facilities – two rings, coffee maker, sink and fridge, the best part about the room was the private patio. There is a table with two chairs and sun umbrella, but if you move all of that into one corner and open both doors you can lie on the patio and sunbathe. This was my escape at 3pm being able to listen to my own music and sunbathe for an all over tan!

Beware that the double bed is located up a ship-style staircase, fine going up but a bit nerve racking coming down. The bed is in the eves of the building so you can’t stand up in the area and go from sitting on the bed to coming down the staircase backwards. Quirky if you’re young enough, another consideration to ask when making your booking.

Location – the hotel is not really walking distance to anywhere. Oia (pron ee-ya) is its nearest town. Most taxi journeys cost 10 Euros to Oia and 15 Euros to Fira. There is a beach ten minutes walk away, black sand, no amenities or shelter, so travel well prepared.

TIPS:
Ladies do not pack heels! The only place you can wear them is around the pool. The walk paths in Oia and Fira are cobbles. Very similar to The Lanes in Brighton with shops down many winding streets.

Five points:

1. Before you book – check there are no other large groups staying at the hotel. I was on a yoga trip with 35 people with a wedding party from Manchester booked in on the day I was leaving. I truly felt sorry for the couple expecting a romantic holiday with the noise that groups make around the pool.

2. Before you leave the UK – Buy factor 30 as the sun gets truly strong with very little wind. Also it will cost you an additional 20 Euros (return taxi fare) into town if you forget to buy some.

3. When you arrive – Visit Oia. Ask the locals in the hotel whether they think it’ll be a good sunset early afternoon and book a taxi for pick up 6.30pm. The journey is approx ten minutes, get dropped off in the square and take a meandering stroll along the cliff past the shops, towards the sun. When you arrive you’ve two options; find a bar to have a drink and watch the sunset, or go straight into an early dinner and leisurely watch the sun go down. In June 8.30pm was sunset.

4. Shopping – In Oia and Fira, lots of boutique type shops (with prices to match!) really worth shopping around as most of them have the same stock of turquoise designed jewellery and wrap cardigans. Up to 20 euros difference so worth negotiating!

5. Walks – Breathtaking views along the cliff top. Take a taxi ride to Imerovigli and walk to Oia takes about two hours. So if you’re planning a sunset at the end of the walk, start off early as with every turn around a corner you’ll want to stop and take a photo. And yes the views are picture postcard perfect walking into Fira from the same start.

OCHRE, SANTORINI. If you fancy an upmarket restaurant reasonably priced then book into Ochre and if you’re eating before 8pm then ask for an outside table to watch the sunset. You’ll want to dress smart as this is one of the most sophisticated restaurants in Oia and booking is essential. Excellent food and good service.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask to be further away from the pool, as the late night revellers continue past midnight, you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulesMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oia hotels
2 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
1.5 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#35 of 58 in Oia
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Hotel-Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Address: Pelagos hotel, Oia 847 02, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#5 Family Hotel in Oia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: $97 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelagos Hotel-Oia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelagos is located at “Baxedes” of Oia in Santorini island, just 3km from the center of Oia village and 200m from the most beautiful beach of Oia, among vineyards and gardens where you will find all the beauty and calmness for your relaxation. You can choose to swim in the beautiful and nearby beach of the hotel (300m), or in one of the nearby beaches (Columbo, Paradisos, Pori), or to take a dive in our amazing pool (10m x 20m). For our little guests there is a smaller swimming pool. Relax drinking your coffee or cocktail at the fully equipped bar and try traditional Greek cuisine in the renovated restaurant next to the pool and in the shade of the vineyard surrounded by friendly and cozy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelagos Hotel-Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Traditional Studios Hotel Oia
Pelagos Traditional Studios Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing